Topic Title: Eyefinity API Not Being Recognized?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/24/2012 06:16 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/24/2012 06:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xerokai
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/10/2011

I recently upgraded to Windows 8 Pro 64bit.  After doing the install I reinstalled some games.  Two of these games (Deus Ex: HR and DA) used to detect eyefinity using the API to scale and center the UI.  You could tell they detected eyefinity because their resolution would say 5992x1080 (Eyefinity). Now on Windows 8 they just say 5992x1080.  The UI on both of these games is totally unusable now.  I have uninstalled and re installed my amd drivers (12.10, 12.11 Beta4&8) and I have been using the same hardware since before the upgrade.  I have also fully disabled Crossfire to no avail.

Specs:

AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.4, 8gig ddr3 1333, XFX 6990 4gig, Windows 8 Pro 64bit, AMD Driver 12.10 curreently installed.

Any help would be appreciated.

 

 

 11/30/2012 08:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xerokai
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/10/2011

Bumpimg.  I still have not found a solution for this, anyone else?

 12/01/2012 09:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4021
Joined: 01/27/2008

Originally posted by: Xerokai  You could tell they detected eyefinity because their resolution would say 5992x1080 (Eyefinity). Now on Windows 8 they just say 5992x1080.

Lost you there. :/

Anyhow, there's something wonky about eyefinity here too. At the moment I'm struggling to get L4D2 going in eyefinity mode, keeps dropping to desktop just before the main menu. Validating cache right now.

Call me crazy but window's own display setup isn't jiving with VECC all the time. I've found the best results by setting windows to single screen and then using VECC to make all other changes and profile saves.

Yesterday I was having a heck of a time bringing up the start menu from a R click in bottom L corner as the mouse would go past that point even though the display was off. Turns out windows was set to extended Left even though the display wasn't active. Pretty sad really.



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

Statistics
85386 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.