Topic Title: Catalyst driver problems, OpenGL & Linux
Topic Summary: Problems with Linux & Catalyst drivers & OpenGL, working across 6 LCD screen setup
Created On: 11/27/2012 05:33 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/27/2012 05:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpseguin
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/09/2012

HELP!!!!!

I purchased an Asus ATI Radeon HD 7970 Eyefinity with 6 outputs (2x DVI, 4x DisplayPort).

http://www.asus.com/Graphics_Cards/AMD_Series/HD7970DC23GD5/#specifications

Machine config:   2x Intel 6 core processors, 384GB RAM, SuperMicro motherboard, 1x Intel PCIe dual 10 gigabit ethernet card, Asus/ATI Radeon HD 7970 Eyefinity, 15TB RAID 5, (and yes, we use ALL of that RAM and disk and could easily use more...), qty=4 active DisplayPort -> HDMI adapters.

Displays:   qty=6   LG 55LM9600,  55" 3D 1080p (1920x1080) LCDs in a 3 rows x 2 columns config

OS:  CentOS 5.8, x86_64:   Linux viznode1 2.6.18-308.13.1.el5 #1 SMP Tue Aug 21 17:10:18 EDT 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Driver:  AMD Catalyst 12.10 x86_64

 

After installing the Catalyst 12.10 driver, I let it build a default xorg.conf and started up X.  It had the wrong resolution for the LCDs, driving them at a MUCH lower res than 1080p.

After a bunch of work, I managed to get all displays at 1080p and in the correct tiling/order.

 

Problem 1:   OpenGL is not rendering in the top row.  Both displays in the top row are hooked up to the DVI ports.  This seems to have something to do with Xinerama, as if I comment out xinerama on  in xorg.conf, OpenGL then works in each of the 6 displays.  With Xinerama on, however, the top two LCDs show no OpenGL rendering, although "regular" X windows stuff works fine.  I need to have a single large desktop capable of having all windows (OpenGL and otherwise) spanning all 6 displays...

It just isn't rendering OpenGL into the top 2 LCDs, because if I have the window span multiple displays or move it down to the lower displays, the lower displays are drawing just fine.

 

Problem 2:   glutFullScreen() only fills one LCD tile/panel instead of spanning across all 6...

 

Problem 3:   I made the mistake of trying to use the Gnome desktop GUI to change the resolution.  System -> Preferences -> Screen Resolution

I selected 1920x1080 and it promptly made a big black border around a couple of the screens...  I have been unable to find out where this config is stored and how it gets tweaked back to that setting.  I have figured out how to use aticonfig to get things to display correctly, but it should come up correctly by default:

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp18,sizeX:1920

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp18,sizeY:1080

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp18,positionX:0

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp18,positionY:0

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp17,sizeX:1920

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp17,sizeY:1080

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp17,positionX:0

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp17,positionY:0

 

How do I fix this?  Where is the underscanning for the top two displays being set?

This does not seem to be gnome specific, as I tried with KDE as well and the screens came up unzoomed as well.  It is not related to Xinerama either, as the top two screens also came up underscanned when Xinerama was off....

[cglx@viznode1 ~]$ xrandr
Xlib:  extension "RANDR" missing on display ":0.0".

 

Problem 4:   screen DPI shows up as 30x30, which is incorrect...

 

xdpyinfo:

name of display:    :0.0
version number:    11.0
vendor string:    The X.Org Foundation
vendor release number:    70101000
X.Org version: 7.1.1
maximum request size:  16777212 bytes
motion buffer size:  256
bitmap unit, bit order, padding:    32, LSBFirst, 32
image byte order:    LSBFirst
number of supported pixmap formats:    7
supported pixmap formats:
    depth 1, bits_per_pixel 1, scanline_pad 32
    depth 4, bits_per_pixel 8, scanline_pad 32
    depth 8, bits_per_pixel 8, scanline_pad 32
    depth 15, bits_per_pixel 16, scanline_pad 32
    depth 16, bits_per_pixel 16, scanline_pad 32
    depth 24, bits_per_pixel 32, scanline_pad 32
    depth 32, bits_per_pixel 32, scanline_pad 32
keycode range:    minimum 8, maximum 255
focus:  window 0x140001e, revert to Parent
number of extensions:    34
    AMDXVBA
    AMDXVOPL
    ATIFGLEXTENSION
    ATIFGLRXDRI
    BIG-REQUESTS
    DAMAGE
    DPMS
    Extended-Visual-Information
    GLX
    MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
    MIT-SHM
    MIT-SUNDRY-NONSTANDARD
    RECORD
    RENDER
    SECURITY
    SGI-GLX
    SHAPE
    SYNC
    TOG-CUP
    X-Resource
    XC-APPGROUP
    XC-MISC
    XFIXES
    XFree86-Bigfont
    XFree86-DGA
    XFree86-Misc
    XFree86-VidModeExtension
    XINERAMA
    XInputExtension
    XKEYBOARD
    XTEST
    XVideo
    XVideo-MotionCompensation
    glesx
default screen number:    0
number of screens:    1

screen #0:
  dimensions:    3840x3240 pixels (3252x2742 millimeters)
  resolution:    30x30 dots per inch
  depths (7):    24, 1, 4, 8, 15, 16, 32
  root window id:    0x2b0
  depth of root window:    24 planes

[... snip]

 

[cglx@viznode1 ~]$ aticonfig --query-dispattrib=dfp17
Query monitors dfp17 ,Cap:0x1ff
Supported adjustment type for dfp17 : brightness, contrast, saturation, hue, positionX, positionY, sizeX, sizeY, overscan

 brightness attribute information of monitor dfp17 :
 default:0, value:0, min:-100, max:100, step:1

 contrast attribute information of monitor dfp17 :
 default:100, value:100, min:0, max:200, step:1

 saturation attribute information of monitor dfp17 :
 default:100, value:100, min:0, max:200, step:1

 hue attribute information of monitor dfp17 :
 default:0, value:0, min:-30, max:30, step:1

 positionX attribute information of monitor dfp17 :
 default:76, value:0, min:0, max:1920, step:1

 positionY attribute information of monitor dfp17 :
 default:0, value:0, min:0, max:1080, step:1

 sizeX attribute information of monitor dfp17 :
 default:1767, value:1920, min:960, max:1920, step:1

 sizeY attribute information of monitor dfp17 :
 default:1080, value:1080, min:540, max:1080, step:1

[cglx@viznode1 ~]$ aticonfig --query-dispattrib=dfp18
Query monitors dfp18 ,Cap:0x1ff
Supported adjustment type for dfp18 : brightness, contrast, saturation, hue, positionX, positionY, sizeX, sizeY, overscan

 brightness attribute information of monitor dfp18 :
 default:0, value:0, min:-100, max:100, step:1

 contrast attribute information of monitor dfp18 :
 default:100, value:100, min:0, max:200, step:1

 saturation attribute information of monitor dfp18 :
 default:100, value:100, min:0, max:200, step:1

 hue attribute information of monitor dfp18 :
 default:0, value:0, min:-30, max:30, step:1

 positionX attribute information of monitor dfp18 :
 default:76, value:0, min:0, max:1920, step:1

 positionY attribute information of monitor dfp18 :
 default:0, value:0, min:0, max:1080, step:1

 sizeX attribute information of monitor dfp18 :
 default:1767, value:1920, min:960, max:1920, step:1

 sizeY attribute information of monitor dfp18 :
 default:1080, value:1080, min:540, max:1080, step:1

 

Problem 5:   I bought active DIsplayPort -> HDMI adapters, but the spacing of the DisplayPort ports on the back of the graphics card is too close...  I had to remove some of the plastic connector housings from the adapters to get them to fit.

 

 11/27/2012 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpseguin
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/09/2012

I forgot to include  the xorg.conf:

 

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
        Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-3" 0 0
        Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-3"
        Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[0]-1" Above "aticonfig-Screen[0]-3"
        Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[0]-2" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-1"
        Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[0]-4" Above "aticonfig-Screen[0]-1"
        Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[0]-5" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-4"
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
        Option      "Xinerama" "on"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
        Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option      "DPMS" "true"
        Option      "PreferredResolution" "1920x1080"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-1"
        Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option      "DPMS" "true"
        Option      "PreferredResolution" "1920x1080"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-2"
        Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option      "DPMS" "true"
        Option      "PreferredResolution" "1920x1080"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-3"
        Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option      "DPMS" "true"
        Option      "PreferredResolution" "1920x1080"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-4"
        Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option      "DPMS" "true"
        Option      "PreferredResolution" "1920x1080"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-5"
        Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option      "DPMS" "true"
        Option      "PreferredResolution" "1920x1080"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        BusID       "PCI:133:0:0"
        Screen      3
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-1"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        BusID       "PCI:133:0:0"
        Screen      1
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-2"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        BusID       "PCI:133:0:0"
        Screen      2
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-3"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        BusID       "PCI:133:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-4"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        BusID       "PCI:133:0:0"
        Screen      4
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-5"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        BusID       "PCI:133:0:0"
        Screen      5
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
        Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
        Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Modes    "1920x1080"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-1"
        Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-1"
        Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-1"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Modes    "1920x1080"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-2"
        Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-2"
        Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-2"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Modes    "1920x1080"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-3"
        Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-3"
        Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-3"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Modes    "1920x1080"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-4"
        Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-4"
        Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-4"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Modes    "1920x1080"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-5"
        Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-5"
        Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-5"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
                Modes    "1920x1080"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

 11/27/2012 08:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpseguin
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/09/2012

I took some pictures to show what I meant about OpenGL not rendering..  Keyboard and mouse input DO WORK, but just no rendering...

Google Earth (OpenGL), renders properly across bottom 2 rows of LCDs:

Top row of LCDs not rendering OpenGL content, but

 11/27/2012 08:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpseguin
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/09/2012

Black borders that got set (and I can't seem to get rid of) by  System -> Preferences -> Screen Resolution   (I tried this because initial X resolution wasn't correctly at 1080p).

(where does this get set/applied on X startup?)  Not specific to Gnome or KDE or whether running under Xinerama.

The only way that I have been able to get rid of it is forcibly via a bunch of aticonfig -set-dispattrib commands:

 

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp18,sizeX:1920

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp18,sizeY:1080

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp18,positionX:0

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp18,positionY:0

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp17,sizeX:1920

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp17,sizeY:1080

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp17,positionX:0

aticonfig --set-dispattrib=dfp17,positionY:0

 

Unwanted black border around top row of LCD screens.  The Terminal window shows the split best.

 11/27/2012 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpseguin
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/09/2012

After I apply all of the aticonfig --set-dispattrib commands (black borders gone):

 

Black borders gone.  Terminal shows up properly now.

 11/28/2012 05:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpseguin
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/09/2012

Just to be clear, if Xinerama is on (I need a single desktop spanning all displays), then OpenGL does not render in the top 2 displays.

If Xinerama is turned off, then OpenGL works in each of the 6 displays.

Is there another way to do a single X screen/desktop and single OpenGL context spanning all 6 displays?

 

 11/29/2012 07:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I wonder what this has to do with gaming. You are at the AMD Game Forums, which is a peer-to-peer forum for AMD Radeon card owners and is about gaming.

Your hardware seems more like a professional one. Why not be professional and contact AMD directly?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/29/2012 04:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpseguin
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/09/2012

Nothing to do with gaming, but the forum is about Catalyst drivers.

I already had calls in to ATI and Asus without any luck so far.  Looks like it is time to return the card and move to NVidia.

 

 12/05/2012 04:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpseguin
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/09/2012

So far, the response from ASUS has been that they don't know much about Linux and AMD's resposne has been very little, asking a couple of questions and having me run commands:

I provided the output from atigetsysteminfo.sh and

I ran:

  aticonfig --set-pcs-u32=DDX,MaximizeWindowMode,1

  aticonfig --set-pcs-u32=DDX,MaximizeWindowMode,2

Neither of the last 2 commands seemed to do anything.

 

The #1/biggest problem that I want to solve is that OpenGL doesn't render in the top 2 displays.  Rendering is happening, as a window spanning all 6 displays will have the bottom four (bottom 2 rows) displays updating and keyboard and mouse input do work on the top 2 displays.  And "regular" (non-OpenGL) rendering works fine on the top 2 displays.

The other thing that I've noiced is that the performance seems to be lower than when we were using NVidia cards.  I was hoping that a single card would make things faster with just one copy of each texture download and thus less bus contention, ..., a simpler X, ...

 

Statistics
85489 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.