Topic Title: Use manual detection only not working.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/30/2012 04:28 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/30/2012 04:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wyckster
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/30/2012

I'm using 4 monitors on a FirePro V7900.

I have selected, under Display Detection Option in the Catalyst Pro Control Center, "Use manual detection only (I must click the Detect Displays button)"

However, when I turn off a monitor, it still detects that the display has been powered off and adjusts my desktop configuration on the remaining displays.  I don't want that to happen, I want it to just keep displaying out that port, even if the monitor is off.

 

Graphics Card
- FirePro V7900SDI

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History

- Catalyst Pro Control Center Version  2012.0902.813.12725


Operating System
- Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
- include details about additional operating systems also tested

Issue Details
- 4 Monitors, connected via Display Port connections.   Turn one off and the system detects it, even though I have selected Use manual detection only.


Motherboard or System Make & Model
- HP Z800

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
The monitor that causes the detection of the powered-down display is a Dell U2410.  Connected via DisplayPort.

 07/10/2013 01:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BRebey
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/10/2013

I'm desperately seeeking a solution to this problem, too! 

Specifically, my problem is from switching out a monitor via a KVM (as opposed to physically switching it off) but the problem is the same:  I just want ATI and Windows 7 to LEAVE MY DISPLAY CONFIGURATION ALONE until I tell it otherwise.

Does anyone have any more info on this problem?

 08/09/2013 08:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
avejoe8
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/09/2013

I am also experiencing the same issue. "Use manual detection only" is selected, however when I turn off the monitor Windows makes the "you have disconencted a device" sound. Then when I turn the monitor back on Windows makes the "you have connected a device" sound and all the windows have been resized and icons moved.

Running Windows 7 64bit SP1 and AMD Catalyst revision 13.4 with AMD Radeon HD7870 connected via DisplayPort to a Dell U2713H.

 

 

 

 

 08/10/2013 11:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4844
Joined: 12/27/2008

It's an old setting surviving the win95 era. It was used to detect VGA monitors, old CRT TVs and stuff like that. These new displays are plug-and-play, it's the OS detecting when you turn it off, not CCC.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
84100 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.