Topic Title: VSync (Vertical Refresh)
Topic Summary: When will force vsync finally work in Catalyst?
Created On: 12/05/2012 04:58 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/05/2012 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
inferKNOX
Peon

Hi,

I'm a long time user of AMD (and ATi, when it was called that) products. I've purchased generally high-end gear & am in IT by profession so know my way around installation, configuration, troubleshooting, etc.

Back when I started out in the high-end, I realised that it's more usefull to vsync my GPU in order to reduce heat, noise, tearing, power consumption, etc. I tried to implement this via CCC for consistency over all my gaming, regardless of whether there is the option in the game or not. However, enabling it had no effect on the games, so I was forced to look for alternatives and found one, D3DOverrider. It's been out of development for ages, but worked through XP, Vista x64 & Win7 x64 for me.

Now I'm on Win8 and D3DO's compatibility seems to have finally expired. I figured by now AMD's dealt with Catalyst, so let me just enable it in the drivers and move on. To my utter astonishment it STILL doesn't work (Witcher: Enhanced Edition v1.5, Witcher 2: Enhanced Edition, DotA 2 beta), even after all these years. To top it all off, Catalyst has had a long time reputation for this, while NVidia's drivers are said to just work.

Now I've been a long time supporter of AMD & am always recommending it to my clients, but this is just ridiculous. How on earth could this problem still not be resolved, when just a few months ago driver updates were monthly?!