Topic Title: Uninstalling nforce for dotNet40
Topic Summary: need to get rid of it to install new AMD card
Created On: 12/30/2012 07:13 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/30/2012 07:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Segovax
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 12/30/2012

I recently bought a XFX 7750 and mulitple attmepts at installing drives has proved useless. I continue to get "please repair/reinstall display drivers" and high end games like Skyrim run terribly slow compared to the weaker card I had. Everytime I install the uninstall/install program always has an option for repair and I'm not able to fix it. I think the nforce is blocking me.

So AMD told me that I need to uninstall nvidia nforce NCI and replace it with dotNet40 for a proper install for the drivers. Everytime I do this the nforce blocks internet and eventually repairs itself if I delete it from the device manager. I've tried driver sweeper as well, but it doesn't help, nor get rid of it completely. nforce does not show up in install/uninstall either.

I have nothing in my startup menu as well.

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks!

 12/30/2012 08:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7426
Joined: 11/13/2009

This has helped me on occasions > http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=419

...also > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162109&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 12/30/2012 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Segovax
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 12/30/2012

Thanks for the reply,

first option was how to get it to show up in the device manager, which it already does. No problem there. It doesn't show up in the uninstall/install program.

Second option, installing .net 4.5 seemed promising, however if I disable nforce networking it disconnects me for the internet and it can't install. Normal installation of .net 4.5 does not overide nividia nforce networking controller. Some how I need to figure out a way to override neforce while still being able to connect to the internet to install .net 4.5

AMD diclaimer says: "The AMD Catalyst Control Center/ AMD Vision Engine Control Center requires that the Microsoft® .NET Framework 4.0 be installed for Windows Vista and Windows 7. Without .NET 4.0 installed, the AMD Catalyst Control Center/ AMD Vision Engine Control Center will not launch properly and the user will see an error message."

And this is what I'm trying to fix. I wish it told me how to install and get rid of the nvidia nforce networking controller. It keeps repairing itself on startup and even then, I'm not sure how to install .net 4.5 without the internet or how to get it to get rid of the nforce completely.

I have win7 64bit.

 12/30/2012 09:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7426
Joined: 11/13/2009

There is a third option....Google. Here is a post identical to yours from 2010 > http://www.sevenforums.com/drivers/83753-how-uninstall-nvidia-nforce-network-controller.html

This is a Nvidia issue...not one of AMD or netframework. I can't imagine putting a program like this on my computer.

Google results like this > http://www.google.com/search?q=cant+remove+nividia+nforce+networking+controller&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:en-us:IE-Address&ie=&oe= would indicate there would be some mention of it in the Nvidia forums or help section.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 12/30/2012 11:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Segovax
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 12/30/2012

the google option upgrades my drivers, but doesn't let me uninstall. The other options are about fixing the driver for internet connection. I don't mean to be obtuse about this, but I figured there would be others who experienced switching from a NVIDIA card to an AMD one and had similair problems and were able to fix it.

If I disable or uninstall the driver, even after upgrading it away from microsoft controls to nvidia (google option), it will still keep me off the internet where I am unable to install dotnet 4.5.

You're right that this is a NVIDIA problem, but I am also trying to install an AMD card. I am also willing to admit I am a complete nub and I may be overlooking something completelty obvious, but I have tried those threads you have mentioned, but to no avail. None that I have found are experiencing the same problem I am or give any insight on how to fix this problem.

Sorry for the frustration. I'm giving myself a migrane trying to figure this software out.

What I need to be able to do is have dotnet 4.5 install and override the NVIDIA driver for the networking control without losing access to the internet, because if I disable the nforce, I can't connect at all and dotnet 4.5 requires it as well as earlier versions (i tried 4.0).

Regardless I am going to give both NVIDIA and AMD a call tomorrow during service hours.

 12/30/2012 11:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7426
Joined: 11/13/2009

Have you stopped the service from starting in msconfig? Have you disabled it in Services? And everyone of those links in Google have to do with not being able to uninstall NCI. And you have searched nvidia support for a solution to this issue?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *



Edited: 12/30/2012 at 11:54 PM by stumped
 12/31/2012 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Segovax
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 12/30/2012

nforce is not in msconfig probably for the same reason it is not in install/uninstall program, I'm guessing (the only place where I can manipulate it is in device manager so far). The google links are about getting nforce working and no one is discussing how to uninstall (even the first one that says "uninstall nforce") and so far NVIDIA has said nothing to me yet.

Thanks for the help though.

By now I would have thought it was something else, but the above AMD disclaimer discribes my problem perfectly.



Edited: 12/31/2012 at 10:20 AM by Segovax
 01/02/2013 06:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Segovax
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 12/30/2012

/bump

 

I still have not been able to uninstall nforce networking from my computer. I'm aware this is also a Nvidia problem, however no other forums or support tickets have been very responsive or useful. I'm guessing some has to do with the holidays, so i'll try here again anyway.

Again, I am trying to uninstall nforce networking, so I can get it off my internet connection so that I can have dotnet 4.5 work so that my XFX 7750 will work correctly. I have tried uninstall from device manager. It does not show up in msconfig or install/uninstall program. I have uninstalled it and ran both driver sweeper and driver fusion to erase it, but windows will always reinstall the program. I have even updated the driver for nforce and tried uninstalling it that way with all the methods above, but it continues to install itself again after the restart. I have looked in both amd forums, NVIDIA forums, and google forums for an answer, but no one has reported this problem in the way it has affected me.

Everytime I install my video card after cleaning out all the drivers, nforce reinstalls itself and my computer will say "please reinstall/update display drivers." I have used NVIDIA 12.10 and 12.3 to see if an older version might work, but it hasn't.

Via AMD:

"The AMD Catalyst Control Center/ AMD Vision Engine Control Center requires that the Microsoft® .NET Framework 4.0 be installed for Windows Vista and Windows 7. Without .NET 4.0 installed, the AMD Catalyst Control Center/ AMD Vision Engine Control Center will not launch properly and the user will see an error message."

Thanks for any help.

 01/03/2013 04:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Cookie Monster

Posts: 435
Joined: 08/21/2011

**STICKY**Please read........(Please use the template).Then some one may have a solution.



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 

 01/03/2013 10:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Segovax
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 12/30/2012

Graphics Card
XFX HD 7750

No overclocking

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
12.10 currently used. Tried 12.3 didn’t work

Operating System
Win 7 64 bit

Issue Details
I am trying to uninstall nforce networking, so I can get it off my internet connection so that I can have dotnet 4.5 work so that my XFX 7750 will work correctly. I have tried uninstall from device manager. It does not show up in msconfig or install/uninstall program. I have uninstalled it and ran both driver sweeper and driver fusion to erase it, but windows will always reinstall the program. I have even updated the driver for nforce and tried uninstalling it that way with all the methods above, but it continues to install itself again after the restart. I have looked in both amd forums, NVIDIA forums, and google forums for an answer, but no one has reported this problem in the way it has affected me.

Everytime I install my video card after cleaning out all the drivers, nforce reinstalls itself and my computer will say "please reinstall/update display drivers." I have used NVIDIA 12.10 and 12.3 to see if an older version might work, but it hasn't.

Via AMD:

"The AMD Catalyst Control Center/ AMD Vision Engine Control Center requires that the Microsoft® .NET Framework 4.0 be installed for Windows Vista and Windows 7. Without .NET 4.0 installed, the AMD Catalyst Control Center/ AMD Vision Engine Control Center will not launch properly and the user will see an error message."

Thanks for any help.


Motherboard or System Make & Model
ASUS  MSQ-M4N68T-MV2(B)

Power Supply

Turbolink Switching Power Supply Model: ATX-TL450W-BK 12V 500w

Voltage: 115/230V Current: 10/5A Freq: 50-60Hz

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
HP w2007 ATGM24


Applications and Games

Skyrim, loads slow. Slow data processing. Have to run on specs used by older card to not have problems with load time and very clunky gameplay.

Told every time I start windows to update/reinstall display drivers.

CPU Details
AMD Atholon II X2 260 Processor 3.20 GHz

Motherboard BIOS Version
ASUS BIOS 8.00.14

System Memory Type & Amount
4.00 GB DDR3

Additional Hardware
HD Hitachi 1TB SATA 3GB RPM 7200-  2 Case fans - ATAPI iHAS124 B SCSI cdrom device,

 

 01/03/2013 10:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7426
Joined: 11/13/2009

Did you try disabling it in Windows services?

control panel/administrative tools/services



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 01/03/2013 10:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Segovax
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 12/30/2012

It doesn't show up in windows services. At least not under nforce or nvidia. The only place I can find it is in device manager and driver sweeper/fusion.

 01/04/2013 04:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4071
Joined: 01/27/2008

Why .net 4.5 I don't even have that on win8. :/

.net 4.0 should be good enough and it comes with the catalyst package.

do you have .net 3.5 installed? It has all previous .net versions and is essential to many programs.

I'm guessing your nv lan adapter's driver is buried in a .cab and windows keeps pulling it out to repair when it sees it's missing. How about buying a replacement networking card? Maybe then it will be left uninstalled... maybe.



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/04/2013 12:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Segovax
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 12/30/2012

well .net 4.5 was the latest version, so I figured it would be ideal. .net 3.5 sounds interesting, but I cant even install .net 4.0 or .net 4.5 without uninstalling nforce, which so far I can't. Also after running the install for 4.5 I tried 4.0 again and even with nforce being the dominat control of the network the installer said "4.5 already detected" and it abandoned the install even though 4.5 doesn't show up in the device manager. There are "intel" network drivers in driver sweeper/fusion, but not in device manager.

Buy another network card? /cry As if this hardware installation hasn't been aggrivating enough.

 01/04/2013 08:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

@Hardwood:

As far as I'm aware it's not a network card driver he's trying to uninstall. His motherboard has a Realtek network controller, so there's no need for replacement card and it would be no use. It's jut some nvidia bullshit software which thinks it's cool to take control over networking. Just like a lot of laptop wifi adapter drivers do. I never understand why...

 

@Segovax:

You spent so much time on this problem. 4-5 days? More? You could be a bit more productive. Save your personal files to a separate partition/HDD, then reinstall the system. It takes approx. 30 minutes. Reinstalling programs won't take more than a day probably.

Just be careful when you install motherboard drivers on the new system. Don't forget to untick/deselect the ethernet/LAN/networking component of the nforce driver package (which you do need as a chipset driver). Install the SMBus driver only, maybe IDE/SATA driver if there's one.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/04/2013 11:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Segovax
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 12/30/2012

Originally posted by: Eydee @Hardwood:

You spent so much time on this problem. 4-5 days? More? You could be a bit more productive.

I love this snark.

Thanks for the help. I'll attempt this when I can spare time from getting ready for next grad school semester, work, and new years. But seriously, it may come down to it. I've finally got XFX's attention and see what they reccomend as well before I do this.

 01/05/2013 06:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4071
Joined: 01/27/2008

Originally posted by: Eydee @Hardwood:

 

As far as I'm aware it's not a network card driver he's trying to uninstall. His motherboard has a Realtek network controller

Thanks for the clarification.



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/06/2013 12:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7426
Joined: 11/13/2009

Windows should handle the network connection by default. Somehow nforce was/is set to handel it...and overrides the "let Windows manage this connection". Have you tried going into your connection profile (Home, Work, public) / view or change homegroup settings / and putting a checkmark in "allow Windows to manage homegroup connections? Worth a shot.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

Statistics
87484 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.