Topic Title: Catalyst 12.12 WHQL?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/03/2013 02:32 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/03/2013 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ruber
Nerfed

Posts: 55
Joined: 08/18/2012

Hello, Happy New Year, and Merry Christmas!  

Can we expect Catalyst 12.12 WHQL some time soon, or just wait for 13.1?

 01/03/2013 04:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13078
Joined: 04/17/2008

Considering it is 2013, any new drivers will carry a .13 suffix.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/04/2013 05:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ruber
Nerfed

Posts: 55
Joined: 08/18/2012

Originally posted by: black_zion Considering it is 2013, any new drivers will carry a .13 suffix.

You likely mean will cary a 13. prefix.

No more monthly releases then, not even 12.12 beta.

 01/05/2013 07:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
computergeekz360
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/01/2012

Amd

   This is why you are losing the war with Nvidia. You must focus more on driver releases( Even if the fixes are small ) People just want to see them. Customers want to know you are thinking of them. It gives the customer the illusion they have a new product with every driver release.  Nvidia has released two WHQL drivers sense the release of the 12.11 beta. If you would release drivers more offten you would have a winning product. If you dont change this you will likely go bankrupt.

 01/05/2013 08:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Practikill
Grinding Levels

Posts: 172
Joined: 08/07/2009

I would rather wait 3 months for a quality driver, than just some rushed out driver with issues.



-------------------------

Asus P5Q-SE+ / Core2 Duo E7400 2.8GHZ / 4GB DDR2 / HD6870 1GB / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Ultra 650watt PSU / Windows 7 X64

 01/05/2013 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
computergeekz360
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/01/2012

Nvidia does it and a good job at that. I have always bought nvidia. This was my first 7970. Im just saying what they need to do to stay in business. If they wonder why they are failing. That is the reason. ATI has the faster hardware. Nvidia has better drivers.

 01/06/2013 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

Originally posted by: computergeekz360 Nvidia does it and a good job at that. I have always bought nvidia. This was my first 7970. Im just saying what they need to do to stay in business. If they wonder why they are failing. That is the reason. ATI has the faster hardware. Nvidia has better drivers.

 

agree .. Nvidia has better drivers that makes their slow hardwares run better than ATI hardware in many games like COD BO2 and AC3 even in FARCRY 3 !! .. ha .. funny and sad thing in the same time



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise

 01/06/2013 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

 .

 

agree .. Nvidia has better drivers that makes their slow hardwares run better than ATI hardware in many games like COD BO2 and AC3 even in FARCRY 3 !! .. ha .. funny and sad thing in the same time

still can't get your 5750 to play Farcry3 on ultra huh?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 01/06/2013 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

Originally posted by: stumped  .

 

 

 

 

agree .. Nvidia has better drivers that makes their slow hardwares run better than ATI hardware in many games like COD BO2 and AC3 even in FARCRY 3 !! .. ha .. funny and sad thing in the same time

 

 

still can't get your 5750 to play Farcry3 on ultra huh?

 

First : its a 5770

second : my 5770 can run Farcry3 and AC3 ( need to be fixed first ) with a proper CPU like i7 3770 or something .. check this out :

  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cVet-yj24Mg



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise

 01/06/2013 01:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

My 7970's work perfectly on the latest drivers....nvidia has nothing on them except MAYBE in BF3...the one game I don't play.  Games are optimized and often play better on certain systems...Metro 2033, Crysis 2 and Crysis 3 alpha as well as Skyrim work better on AMD...RAGE was a mess but NOW works beautifully.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 01/06/2013 02:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neo5555
Case Modder

Posts: 944
Joined: 08/13/2008

Originally posted by: computergeekz360 Nvidia does it and a good job at that. I have always bought nvidia. This was my first 7970. 

 

 

So good infact that the excitement was too much for you, so you switched sides...   right.. ok....



-------------------------

Pics of my rig
i7 4770k, custom water cooling, 8Gig Corsair Dom 2133 9-11-10-27, ASrock Z87 OC Formula, SilverStone ST-1500 PSU, Creative X-Fi Platinum, Logitech Z-5500D , 2xHIS 7970 CF, Asus VW246H Monitor, Win 7 64Bit HP, Corsair 800D Case

 01/06/2013 03:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

Originally posted by: UcouldBrong My 7970's work perfectly on the latest drivers....nvidia has nothing on them except MAYBE in BF3...the one game I don't play.  Games are optimized and often play better on certain systems...Metro 2033, Crysis 2 and Crysis 3 alpha as well as Skyrim work better on AMD...RAGE was a mess but NOW works beautifully.

 

.... and Assassins creed 3 ?! what about it ?! and BATMAN AC with dx11 on ?! .. and about " except in BF3 " part iam totally disagree with you man i play it on ultra ( i only turn off the multisampling ) with my ( poor/old ) ATI card 5770 and if you remember the AMD driver has BF3 adv with its drivers with great optimizion for it so .. i was expecting you will say " except in AC3 or BatMan AC " instead of BF3 !!



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise



Edited: 01/06/2013 at 04:04 PM by abohamed
 01/06/2013 03:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: abohamed
Originally posted by: UcouldBrong My 7970's work perfectly on the latest drivers....nvidia has nothing on them except MAYBE in BF3...the one game I don't play.  Games are optimized and often play better on certain systems...Metro 2033, Crysis 2 and Crysis 3 alpha as well as Skyrim work better on AMD...RAGE was a mess but NOW works beautifully.

 

.... and Assassins creed 3 ?! what about it ?! and BATMAN AC with dx11 ?!

Why do you care? You have a 5750...and still can't get it to play those games in Ultra?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 01/06/2013 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

i just edit my reply and please read it first !! and btw iam already finished all those games on ultra .. expect crysis 2 i play it on ultra but with dx11 off ...



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise

 01/06/2013 09:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13078
Joined: 04/17/2008

Ultra on a 5770? At what, 320x240?

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/06/2013 11:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Max9R
Grinding Levels

Posts: 158
Joined: 09/10/2007

Originally posted by: black_zion Ultra on a 5770? At what, 320x240?

LOL... exactly what I was thinking!



-------------------------

W7 Ultimate x64: Corsair 800D, AX1200
EX58A-UD5, i7 970 @ 4.5Ghz
16GB RipJaws @ 1600
3x XFX BE 7970 Tri-Fire @ 1200/1600
OCZ V3 120GB + WD 2TB Black
Creative X-Fi Titanium
Dell U3011 + WFP2407
Koolance 370 & EK GPU Water Blocks

 01/07/2013 12:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
computergeekz360
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/01/2012

@neo5555: I never said I didnt like my card at all. I also never said I had any problems with it.  I switched for the 4 free games and the sale price. The card runs good.  You missed the point(which I suspect that you do often)

I was  saying the main reason people buy Nvidia is becuase they release drivers on a regular basis. If AMD would just release more drivers they might stay in business.  As this is why they are failing and there CEOs are walking out. (Are you still following me?) Good. Now, If they released one driver a month over alittle time they may gain back some of the market. 2 or 3 months just wont cut it. Yes, I tried AMD this time. I thought I would give them a shot. But let me make it clear and this proves my point completely. If they don't fix their software department and get Some decent sofware engineers working for them. I will not buy AMD next time. I'll go back to Nvidia.

 01/07/2013 09:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

Originally posted by: black_zion Ultra on a 5770? At what, 320x240?

believe it or not .. i play it on 1920x1080 !!



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise

 01/07/2013 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hammey
Grinding Levels

Posts: 180
Joined: 05/09/2012

Hi if you think Nvidias drivers are so good you have not checked there forum lately. There 600 series cards have many problems. There forum was down for 3 months to hide the 600 series complants they still have massive stuttering issues and far cry 3 well lol you really need to check out there forum. Also check the responces to there latest driver release. Rumor intel may buy nvidia lol. And yes i use both brands thank heaven it was my turn for ATI.



-------------------------
MSI Mpower Max, I7-4770K, MSI GTX 780 Lightning, G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB DDR3-2400, 2X Kingston HyperX 3K 480GB , 1Tb Raptor, Creative ZXR Sound, 1000 watt Coolermaster Single 80 amp Rail, G700s Mouse, Z5500 Speakers
 01/07/2013 12:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
computergeekz360
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/01/2012

Originally posted by: Hammey Hi if you think Nvidias drivers are so good you have not checked there forum lately. There 600 series cards have many problems. There forum was down for 3 months to hide the 600 series complants they still have massive stuttering issues and far cry 3 well lol you really need to check out there forum. Also check the responces to there latest driver release. Rumor intel may buy nvidia lol. And yes i use both brands thank heaven it was my turn for ATI.

 

 People don't listen in this forum!

I guess I have to make this clearer.

I said " It gives the customer the illusion" Nvidia not only cares more about their customers but also contains more capital to use in this way.They release drivers often and do a good job at the releases. The point was not about the release quality. You get the bad with the good. The release volume is the key here. If AMD would match Nvidia releases, AMD would match thier sales as well.

Statistics
88944 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.