Topic Title: AMD Vision Engine Control Center suddenly stopped working!
Topic Summary: Error message pop-up image provided in thread. PLEASE HELP
Created On: 01/04/2013 12:41 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/04/2013 12:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nemesis4670
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/04/2013

Out of nowhere my AMD Vision program stopped working.  I overclocked the GPU by a tiny amount.  I was playing Far Cry 3 and still am able to play it.  The graphics card is functioning as normal it's just this control center software that stopped opening.  The taskbar icon is gone as well.

I keep getting the message below.  I already tried deleting and uninstalling everything and re-installing.  Then also even tried installing the new 12.11 beta package and it still won't open!  I've tried various solutions on other forums like making sure MOM.exe is running and searching for certain access keys.  Nothing works.

 

PLEASE HELP this is driving me nuts.

 

"AMD VISION Engine Control Center cannot be started.  There are currently no settings that can be configured using AMD VISION Engine Control Center."

 

 01/04/2013 09:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6080
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162109&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/07/2013 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nemesis4670
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/04/2013

Thanks but the thing is it was working fine for months.  It wasn't until a random attempt at opening it that I started getting this error.  I did not change anything.  I'm thinking maybe a Windows Update might have messed with it.  The only update that happened that day is one that you can't uninstall of course.  It was a Definition update to Windows Defender I believe.

So if it was the NET Framework causing the issue then it wouldn't have worked at all, no?  Yet the Control Center was working for months on end just fine.

Also I could be wrong but doesn't both 12.10 and 12.11 come with NET4 framework?  The file names are 12-10_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql_net4 and AMD_Catalyst_12.11_Beta11_NET4

Either way I installed the 4.5 Net Framework in the link you provided and I'm still getting the error.  Do I have to re-install the AMD Vision Engine Control after installing the framework?

I have a feeling it may be something else causing this issue.



Edited: 01/07/2013 at 12:28 PM by nemesis4670
 01/09/2013 08:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nemesis4670
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/04/2013

bump

 01/09/2013 01:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6080
Joined: 11/13/2009

yes....reinstall the drivers using the clean install method.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
80929 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.