Topic Title: Whats happened to the Catalyst Drivers?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/10/2013 02:17 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/11/2013 08:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dai909
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/28/2010

Originally posted by: Eydee

 

That some is like 99% at least.

 

Why so negitive??? At least it would be equal to the 1% of people using the current method  

Its all about simplifying the current method to make it more accessible and userfriendly for those that want to report an error. And educate those that know that something is wrong but don't know how put it writing.

If you think the current method is good then thats your opinion. I on the otherhand, speaking as someone with a moderate amount of PC knowledge, think the system can be refinded to make it easier to find and use.

 01/12/2013 12:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gamernate78
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 12/24/2012

im sorry but i find it comical that someone would worry about privacy of computer componets and drivers i mean really are we that freaking scared of life lol trust me amd would get more info by seeing it from the dx report thru there drivers then any amount of words someone could type
 01/12/2013 02:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

The best thing that has happened in a long while...eliminating auto update notifications. People see there is a update and they think they have to have it. Updating is a option, not a requirement.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/12/2013 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12471
Joined: 04/17/2008

And that option is not always the best one, as to fix new things old things can get broken, and performance can decrease.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/13/2013 12:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

Originally posted by: black_zion And that option is not always the best one, as to fix new things old things can get broken, and performance can decrease.

i was an nVidia user and believe me when i tell you this : what you just say is not EVER happend with nVidia drivers .......



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise

 01/13/2013 06:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: abohamed
Originally posted by: black_zion And that option is not always the best one, as to fix new things old things can get broken, and performance can decrease.

 

i was an nVidia user and believe me when i tell you this : what you just say is not EVER happend with nVidia drivers .......

 

I too used and still use nvidia cards. Oddities I encountered or heard about:

1. Driver install -> blue screen

2. Driver install -> whole system dies, takes hours to recover (mostly linux)

3. Driver install -> card overheats and dies

4. Driver install -> card gets overvoltage and dies

Isn't that nice?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/13/2013 06:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Eydee
Originally posted by: abohamed
Originally posted by: black_zion And that option is not always the best one, as to fix new things old things can get broken, and performance can decrease.

 

i was an nVidia user and believe me when i tell you this : what you just say is not EVER happend with nVidia drivers .......

 

I too used and still use nvidia cards. Oddities I encountered or heard about:

1. Driver install -> blue screen

2. Driver install -> whole system dies, takes hours to recover (mostly linux)

3. Driver install -> card overheats and dies

4. Driver install -> card gets overvoltage and dies

Isn't that nice?

Eydee, this guy is still upset he can't play FC3 on Ultra settings with his 5750 and dual core processor. Of course his nvidia is better.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/13/2013 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: Eydee
Originally posted by: abohamed
Originally posted by: black_zion And that option is not always the best one, as to fix new things old things can get broken, and performance can decrease.

 

 

 

i was an nVidia user and believe me when i tell you this : what you just say is not EVER happend with nVidia drivers .......

 

 

 

 

I too used and still use nvidia cards. Oddities I encountered or heard about:

 

1. Driver install -> blue screen

 

2. Driver install -> whole system dies, takes hours to recover (mostly linux)

 

3. Driver install -> card overheats and dies

 

4. Driver install -> card gets overvoltage and dies

 

Isn't that nice?

 

 

Eydee, this guy is still upset he can't play FC3 on Ultra settings with his 5750 and dual core processor. Of course his nvidia is better.

 

ha funny .. very funny

first : i have 5770 not 5750

second : its AC3 not FC3 .. i have already finished FC3 long time ago now and btw its ubisoft fault for the CPU part and on the other side its AMD fault for the GPU part that make me ( and alot of AMD users ) still can not play this epic game until now.

third : for my dual core processor part : i will get intel i7 3770 @ 3.4 cash 8mb  very very soon .. so wish me luck guys.



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise



Edited: 01/13/2013 at 04:09 PM by abohamed
 01/13/2013 04:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: abohamed second : its AC3 not FC3 .. i have already finished FC3 long time ago now and btw its ubisoft fault for the CPU part and on the other side its AMD fault for the GPU part that make me ( and alot of AMD users ) still can not play this epic game until now.

Interesting. I finished the game ages ago with my fairly weak AMD config with no issues at all. You don't have to set everything to the highest setting all the time.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/13/2013 05:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

Originally posted by: Eydee
Originally posted by: abohamed second : its AC3 not FC3 .. i have already finished FC3 long time ago now and btw its ubisoft fault for the CPU part and on the other side its AMD fault for the GPU part that make me ( and alot of AMD users ) still can not play this epic game until now.

 

Interesting. I finished the game ages ago with my fairly weak AMD config with no issues at all. You don't have to set everything to the highest setting all the time.

 

totally agree .. i run FC3 on ultra and very high and high mix with DX11 on with AA off with very decent FPS 27 - 30 with no problems at all with my intel E7300 !! but on the other hand AC3 is so messed up by ubisoft and AMD both .. man i have trying to run it with the lowest setting on res 800x600 WITH NO 1 FPS IMPROVEMENT .. i have 18 FPS MAX in boston and 18-25 FPS in everywhere else !!! so what i want to say is : please AMD at least ( try ) to fix this in your next drivers !!



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise



Edited: 01/13/2013 at 08:37 PM by abohamed
 01/14/2013 09:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

i just hope this : https://twitter.com/CatalystCreator/status/290925385913360384

will fix anything



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise

 01/15/2013 06:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Offler
Grinding Levels

Posts: 115
Joined: 06/25/2010

Originally posted by: Kent@AMD Did you look at the 12.11 Beta driver? It was released in early November and was updated as recently as December 3rd (to version 11). As for newer releases, they'll come once the testing and development is done, and when the digital signing by Microsoft has completed. Unfortunately, there is no guaranteed timeframe for releases because problems can come up, or changes need to be made. But the 12.11Beta v11 was designed for FarCry issues, and the CAP2 also features some improvements for CrossFire systems in FarCry.

 



I contributed on bug detection on Overclock.net, Guru3d forum, and here.

Once the driver is released I will test it with:
Skyrim
- Random game
- Flickerspot save
- Flickering on skin (most persistent type of flicker)

Witcher 2: Enhanced edition
- Random flicker in Flotsam forest

Civilization 4
- random black flicker (also shows highest persistency)

Data will be compared with legacy HD3870x2 Cat 9.6. VS HD 7970 latest Catalyst and with DeusEX: Human revolution.

Deus EX contained no glitches, while older hardware/drivers also dont contain any glitches.

Each issue will be put into my topic on this forum and also reported. Is there any other way how to highlight it more to the developers?



-------------------------

Xeon X3360, Asus Rampage, Gigabyte HD 7970OC, Corsair HX-650

 01/17/2013 10:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Offler
Grinding Levels

Posts: 115
Joined: 06/25/2010

http://techreport.com/review/24218/a-driver-update-to-reduce-radeon-frame-times

Nice.



-------------------------

Xeon X3360, Asus Rampage, Gigabyte HD 7970OC, Corsair HX-650

 01/17/2013 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Offler
Originally posted by: Kent@AMD   

 Each issue will be put into my topic on this forum and also reported. Is there any other way how to highlight it more to the developers?

The FAQ section of this gaming forum has some very useful info...like this > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=161716&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
85414 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.