Topic Title: 13.1 with windows 8 64 bit long wait for rubbish
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/17/2013 07:52 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/17/2013 07:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DTHCoCo
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/01/2010

It seems since AMD has had a massive lay off of employees, the drivers have been far and between. 13.1 WHQL microsoft approved and it took me 2 mins to work out their crap. Facebook homepage friends list with firefox looks like a chessboard as it glitches up. Did you even test these drivers after 3 months of doing nothing. Gone back to months old last release problem fixed.

Sureley you looked at facebook? If this is slower releases to improve quality you have lost the ball. Waiting for ever for your top of the line card to receive good drivers for Farcry 3 and offered this.

 01/17/2013 09:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12320
Joined: 04/17/2008

Oh no! Facebook is messed up?! WE ARE ALL GONNA DIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Seriously, you take all that time to register and post this garbage, then don't take 10 seconds to read the sticky, and it's AMD's fault that one element of one domain out of the upteen quadrillion on the internet is messed up, can't be Firefox, or Java, or Flash, or Facebook...Or something you did.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/17/2013 09:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BullGod
Buffed

Posts: 93
Joined: 12/07/2007

I will need to COMPLETELY disagree.

13.1 CCC is the best driver I have had from AMD that supports the HD 7XXX cards. It seems to me they took their time and took all of the best of the beta driver (12.11.XX), added the new overdrive GUI with proper modern/updated AA, AF, and Tessellation explanations and descriptions, to create a stable and very functional driver set and CCC.

If you are a Win8 64bit user that was having problems with the 7XXX GPU speed bouncing under load from 450MHz to 1010MHz in prior drivers, you no longer need to under-clock the GPU by 5MHz to correct it. That has also been addressed (at least for me).

Great driver right out of the box so far. Super job AMD!

 



-------------------------

BullGod - "GAME ON!!"
NZXT Gamma ~ Liquid Cooled-AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black ~ 4 GB DDR3-1600 ~ Radeon HD 7870 ~ ASUS M4A79XTD EVO ~ NZXT Sentry 2 ~ Saitek Keyboard, Acer 27" LCD Monitor ~ Windows 8 Pro 64

 01/17/2013 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DTHCoCo
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/01/2010

Originally posted by: black_zion Oh no! Facebook is messed up?! WE ARE ALL GONNA DIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!! Seriously, you take all that time to register and post this garbage, then don't take 10 seconds to read the sticky, and it's AMD's fault that one element of one domain out of the upteen quadrillion on the internet is messed up, can't be Firefox, or Java, or Flash, or Facebook...Or something you did.

 

what you cant read that I joined in 2010, wake up fool

 01/17/2013 10:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gamernate78
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 12/24/2012

well ill share my thoughts on the new drivers first off WOW i got a nearly 30 fps jump on farcry 3 went from 60 to 65 fps to 89 to 120 fps with  my duel 7870 ghz edition cards i was on 12.11 beta before the micro stutter is alot less but still present but as i told andrew after about 10 minuets of gameplay the microstutter is almost gone just every so offten you see it.  im really happy with this driver and next week when they release a new cap mabey it will have a better cfx profile for fcy3 GREAT JOB AMD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 01/18/2013 12:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RADRaze2KX
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/18/2012

TBH I can't get the driver to install this go-around. Everything installs EXCEPT the driver. I was previously experiencing the same issues as the OP with the first install where it did go in. Glitchy desktop background, then BSOD's at boot. Had to boot to safe mode and remove the drivers from device manager manually, then reboot normally and uninstall the software. Was using 12.11 beta also previous with no issues. Will report back, just redownloaded.

 

Edit: same issue. What's worse, the log file spits out as an XML rather than a completed xhtml or log file.

 

Driver Install: the driver package does not specify a hardware identifier  Driver Install: the installation failed

 

When attempting to install the driver through the device manager, pointing to the default C:\AMD13\Support\13-1_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql\Packages\Drivers folder, the device manager reports that "the system cannot find the path specified"

Either the driver package is missing a path, or the envionrmental/static  references they left in are broken in Windows Server 2012. I'm assuming the same is for users running Windows 8 64-bit.

 

Until this issue is fixed, back to 12.11



-------------------------

Corsair Carbide Series 400R
Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4
Intel i7 3930k w/ Noctua NH-D14 Cooler
64GB G.Skill RAM (8 x 8 @ 1866)
Gigabyte HD7870
480GB RAID0 4 x 120GB Kingston HyperX 3K's on HighPoint 2720SGL SAS
2 x 1TB WD Black RAID0
3TB External



Edited: 01/18/2013 at 01:20 AM by RADRaze2KX
 01/18/2013 02:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

hey guys .. for anyone that have problems with 13.1 try this one .. 13.2 beta leaked link :

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=373749

but be advised .. Use it with your own risk



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise

 01/18/2013 02:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Offler
Grinding Levels

Posts: 115
Joined: 06/25/2010

OK. lets give some feedback

My system:

Xeon X3360
Asus Rampage
Gigabyte HD 7970oc @ 1000MHz
Adata XPG 2.0 @ 1592 8-7-6-16 CR1 
Windows 7 x64

System was tested for instability, with LinX, OCCT and Prime95 and all issues in BIOS were fixed.

System was patched during Wednesday with all patches which MS released day before.

CCC
- People (including me) like the new look of 3d settings
- Update feature really removed

Quick tests for flickering:
Witcher 2: Game flickers once in Flotsam forest, and later no flicker at all.
Skyrim - Random location - no black flickering visible
Skyrim - Flickerspot in Ivarstead - Flickered once, and later no flicker at all.
Skyrim - Skin flickering - present, but lower rate.
Starcraft - flickering was previously reported, but I never seen it. Now its visible even for me. Game was patched yesterday too.

Progress is visible. The flickering became less random.



-------------------------

Xeon X3360, Asus Rampage, Gigabyte HD 7970OC, Corsair HX-650



Edited: 01/18/2013 at 03:09 AM by Offler
 01/18/2013 03:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MahaVoodoo
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/18/2013

Should I install CAP dated December 2012?

 01/20/2013 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gh0st47
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 11/03/2012

Originally posted by: Offler OK. lets give some feedback

 

My system:

 

Xeon X3360 Asus Rampage Gigabyte HD 7970oc @ 1000MHz Adata XPG 2.0 @ 1592 8-7-6-16 CR1  Windows 7 x64

 

System was tested for instability, with LinX, OCCT and Prime95 and all issues in BIOS were fixed. System was patched during Wednesday with all patches which MS released day before.

 

CCC - People (including me) like the new look of 3d settings - Update feature really removed Quick tests for flickering: Witcher 2: Game flickers once in Flotsam forest, and later no flicker at all. Skyrim - Random location - no black flickering visible Skyrim - Flickerspot in Ivarstead - Flickered once, and later no flicker at all. Skyrim - Skin flickering - present, but lower rate. Starcraft - flickering was previously reported, but I never seen it. Now its visible even for me. Game was patched yesterday too.

 

Progress is visible. The flickering became less random.

 

Im using 13.1 Driver


Hmmm im experiencing similar thing too. I thought i sseen some flicker in Skyrim , but its not obvious and crazily as before , but as like you said , its very rare and not so obvios now.

Same goes for Borderlands II , not sure about other games.

Been playing SC II , Max Payne 3 all seems fine.

I have Witcher II , haven't try.

Torchlight II is been fixed for me , i had bad flicker when i was using my HD 5830 , now its gone with my HD 7870 

Statistics
84654 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.