Topic Title: AMD 13.1 Application Install: install package failure!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/18/2013 09:53 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/18/2013 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
saagcs
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/18/2013

Hi, yesterday 17/1 i downloaded AMD Video driver 13.1, but i have problems to install, when i try of install show me this error Application Install: install package failure!, i test unistall c++ 2005, 2008 and 2010 and again install, but not work. i clean registry, files temp, restart, and nothing.

my videocard is asus 7970

windows 8

somebody can helpme?

 01/18/2013 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3979
Joined: 01/27/2008

I saw many similar complaints on Rage3d site. Something is messed up so just hold off installing them.



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram,  Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/18/2013 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4256
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Hardwood Something is messed up

For example the windows installer api/platform which has been a piece of crap since the beginning. AMD shouldn't use it more than necessary. The good old InstallShield based thing (back in XP times) was waaaay better than the install manager, and a lot less buggy as well.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 01/18/2013 08:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
saagcs
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/18/2013

I even thought of reinstalling windows 8, but i not know if work this way

 01/21/2013 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kevinm10
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/21/2013

My hardware installed fine in Win8 but I had another Win7 box that had a similar issue.

Repost from Black Screen post:

Apparently Catalyst 13 and 12 need .net 4.5 in order to install?  Cudo's to another poster that made this comment.
I was able to manually update the drivers in device manager using update driver
and browsing to the extracted driver folders under c:\amd\support\"version" but needed Catalyst for a  multimonitor setup.
Install would fail with failed to load hardware detection prior to .net4.5.  After .net4.5 it installed fine.
In my case I had an R6750 and onboard R3000.  Uninstalled both.  Rebooted.  In BIOS I disabled the onboard.  Boot up, ran catalyst installer.
Rebooted enabled onboard with surround mode.  Boot up.  Onboard found but had problem.  Manually updated driver using 12.6 per an autodetect amd utility
that recommended that version for it.

Also, in my case the R6750 has three connections:  dp, hdmi, dvi.  HDMI was defaulted as monitor 1.  I was connected to DVI.  On bootup my monitor would
go black.  DVI was monitor 2 so the win logon was on monitor 1.  Once I logged on monitor 2 (dvi) would go active and display.

Happy installing.

 01/21/2013 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6080
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162109&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
80928 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.