Topic Title: BSOD when installing Catalyst 13.1
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/18/2013 11:21 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/18/2013 11:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TwoPumpWarrior
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/18/2013

Windows 7 64-bit

Radeon HD 6850

AMD Phenom II X6 1045T

Tried to update Catalyst to 13.1. Got BSOD and it knocked my driver out for my 6850. Restored to 1/16/13 and did a System File Check. No errors/all files repaired. Tried again. BSOD. Knocked my driver out again. Shot me a code:

BCCODE: 3b

00000000C0000005

FFFFF8800CF46BF7

FFFFF8800A41FC50

So i restored to 1/16/13 again. Uninstalled Catalyst and tried again. Third BSOD, same codes.

Any ideas?

 01/18/2013 11:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rucco
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/18/2013

Experiencing the same problem her too....would apreciate any help although I think this is an AMD issue.

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit service pack 1

ASUS Maximus Formula Special Edition Motherboard

Inter(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz and 2.39GHz

8GB RAM

 

 

 

 



Edited: 01/18/2013 at 11:55 PM by rucco
 01/19/2013 04:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7225
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3ECF



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/19/2013 09:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TwoPumpWarrior
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/18/2013

Already made one Stumped. Just waiting on someone to say something. 

While it may be unfortunate for you Rucco, I'm glad others are experiencing this so that attention can be drawn towards this issue.

 01/19/2013 10:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7225
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: TwoPumpWarrior Already made one Stumped. Just waiting on someone to say something. 

While it may be unfortunate for you Rucco, I'm glad others are experiencing this so that attention can be drawn towards this issue.

Glad you reported it...wish everyone would. Bringing it to the attention of the engineers is the only way it will be addressed.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/19/2013 09:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
interfect
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/19/2013

I am having the same issue, with almost the exact same build. It even persisted on a clean install of Win 7.

System Specs:

OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate

Version 6.1.7600 Build 7600

Other OS Description Not Available

OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation

System Name ASTERIA

System Manufacturer Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.

System Model GA-890GPA-UD3H

System Type x64-based PC

Processor AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor, 2800 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 6 Logical Processor(s)

BIOS Version/Date Award Software International, Inc. FF, 11/24/2010

SMBIOS Version 2.4

Windows Directory C:\Windows

System Directory C:\Windows\system32

Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1

Locale United States

Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.1.7600.16385"

User Name Asteria\anovak

Time Zone Pacific Standard Time

Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB

Total Physical Memory 7.50 GB

Available Physical Memory 5.68 GB

Total Virtual Memory 15.0 GB

Available Virtual Memory 12.9 GB

Page File Space 7.50 GB

Page File C:\pagefile.sys

Graphics Hardware Info:
Primary Adapter
Graphics Card Manufacturer Powered by ATI
Graphics Chipset Radeon HD 6800 Series
Device ID 6739
Vendor 1002
Subsystem ID 0B00
Subsystem Vendor ID 1787
Graphics Bus Capability PCI Express 2.0
Maximum Bus Setting PCI Express 2.0 x16
BIOS Version 013.007.000.006
BIOS Part Number 113-C2230100-100
BIOS Date 2010/11/12
Memory Size 1024 MB
Memory Type GDDR5
Core Clock in MHz 775 MHz
Memory Clock in MHz 1000 MHz
Total Memory Bandwidth in GByte/s 128.0 GByte/s
Does anyone have a link to the latest 12.x drivers? I reinstalled and I'm stuck with whatever came on the CD that shipped with the card.

 01/19/2013 09:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7225
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: interfect I am having the same issue, with almost the exact same build. It even persisted on a clean install of Win 7.

System Specs:

OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate

 

Version 6.1.7600 Build 7600

 

Other OS Description Not Available

 

OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation

 

System Name ASTERIA

 

System Manufacturer Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.

 

System Model GA-890GPA-UD3H

 

System Type x64-based PC

 

Processor AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor, 2800 Mhz, 6 Core(s), 6 Logical Processor(s)

 

BIOS Version/Date Award Software International, Inc. FF, 11/24/2010

 

SMBIOS Version 2.4

 

Windows Directory C:\Windows

 

System Directory C:\Windows\system32

 

Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1

 

Locale United States

 

Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.1.7600.16385"

 

User Name Asteria\anovak

 

Time Zone Pacific Standard Time

 

Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB

 

Total Physical Memory 7.50 GB

 

Available Physical Memory 5.68 GB

 

Total Virtual Memory 15.0 GB

 

Available Virtual Memory 12.9 GB

 

Page File Space 7.50 GB

 

Page File C:\pagefile.sys

 

Graphics Hardware Info:

 

Primary Adapter
Graphics Card Manufacturer Powered by ATI
Graphics Chipset Radeon HD 6800 Series
Device ID 6739
Vendor 1002
Subsystem ID 0B00
Subsystem Vendor ID 1787
Graphics Bus Capability PCI Express 2.0
Maximum Bus Setting PCI Express 2.0 x16
BIOS Version 013.007.000.006
BIOS Part Number 113-C2230100-100
BIOS Date 2010/11/12
Memory Size 1024 MB
Memory Type GDDR5
Core Clock in MHz 775 MHz
Memory Clock in MHz 1000 MHz
Total Memory Bandwidth in GByte/s 128.0 GByte/s

 

Does anyone have a link to the latest 12.x drivers? I reinstalled and I'm stuck with whatever came on the CD that shipped with the card.

 

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/Drivers/ATI_Catalyst/old/



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/21/2013 10:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AModestProposal
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/21/2013

I had the same issue. After troubleshooting I discovered that I had to uninstall the Virtu MVP software in addition to the AMD drivers. Install the AMD drivers after reboot and then install my Virtu MVP software again. So far this has got me out of the BSOD. Currently testing games now.

 01/22/2013 07:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TwoPumpWarrior
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/18/2013

Originally posted by: AModestProposal I had the same issue. After troubleshooting I discovered that I had to uninstall the Virtu MVP software in addition to the AMD drivers. Install the AMD drivers after reboot and then install my Virtu MVP software again. So far this has got me out of the BSOD. Currently testing games now.

 

I'll have to try this soon. I installed the latest beta Catalyst (12.3 or something I believe) with no problems. Haven't had the heart to try to install 13.1 from this version.

 01/23/2013 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mrphysics
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/23/2013

I am in the midst of dealing with the same issue. 

It started when I decided to try to take care of the "kbdsync.exe has stopped working" issue with version 12.x.  On another forum, I followed a suggestion to do the following:

Open Control Panel>Programs and features
Click on AMD Calayst Install Manager then click Change
Click Next on the welcome screen
Click Uninstall Manager then click Next
Click Custom then Next
Check box next to AMD APP SDK Runtime then click Next
Click Finish

This actually was successful at solving the kbdsync problem.  Coincidentally, I got a popup from the AMD catalyst to install a recommended update (13.1).  (In the past, I believe this update had never worked properly.  It would say that the install was unsuccessful and then everything stayed the same. )

Well, I proceeded to try a 13.1 install again.

While installing 13.1, the system crashed. On reboots, I got the system recovery screen repeatedly if I tried to start windows normally.  I then tried safe mode. I booted successfully in safe mode and I tried to restore to a recovery point prior to the 13.1 install.  This resulted in BSOD, just before I expected the login screen, with only a working mouse pointer on reboot - no error messages.  Ever since, this is all I can get when booting from the HD.  Removal of video card and using onboard VGA did nothing.  I then booted from my windows install disk and managed to get to system restore options.  I tried them all (earlier restore points, low resolution, etc.).  Still, only BSOD with a mouse pointer.

I'm afraid my only option is to backup my boot drive (I can get to a DOS prompt with the windows disk bootup) and reinstll windows from scratch, but this note from Stumped now makes me doubt even this solution.

Any new insights before I try drastic solutions?

Dell Studio

8GB RAM

Windows 7 Ultimate, 64bit

AMD Radeon HD 3000 series video card

 

 01/23/2013 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TiboQC
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/23/2013

Same problem here. Didnt have any problems with the old drivers.I had the BSOD when installing the drivers but I found out that disabling crossfire mode would solve it and let the drivers install fine but.... Whenever I try to enable crossfire I get a BSOD for atikmpag.sys



-------------------------
Gigabyte 970A-DS3
AMD FX-4100 @ 4.2ghz
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Dual HD6850
Statistics
84881 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.