Topic Title: AMD Catalyst Update
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/19/2013 04:23 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/19/2013 04:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tyw7
Nerfed

Posts: 70
Joined: 12/28/2011

In the AMD Catalyst software, as I remember in the past, for desktop graphic card there is an "update" option in the program itself.  Now the "update" option is no longer present.



-------------------------
HP Pavilion p6792uk
AMD Phenom II X6 1035T
ATI Radeon HD 6570
Windows 7 Home Premium (64 Bit) SP1
 01/19/2013 04:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Yes...that is correct. It was removed for security reasons.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/19/2013 05:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tyw7
Nerfed

Posts: 70
Joined: 12/28/2011

Security reasons?  It was convenient to check whether there is an update through the app.



-------------------------
HP Pavilion p6792uk
AMD Phenom II X6 1035T
ATI Radeon HD 6570
Windows 7 Home Premium (64 Bit) SP1
 01/19/2013 05:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: tyw7 Security reasons?  It was convenient to check whether there is an update through the app.

 Now you have to do it manually...it's not too difficult, you just click "CHECK FOR DRIVER UPDATES".



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 01/19/2013 at 05:58 AM by stumped
 01/21/2013 01:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrsKryten
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/21/2013

Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: tyw7 Security reasons?  It was convenient to check whether there is an update through the app.

 

 

 Now you have to do it manually...it's not too difficult, you just click "CHECK FOR DRIVER UPDATES".

 

This probably is a dumb question but where in CCC is this option now located? I cannot seem to find anything regarding checking for driver updates since I updated to 13.1.

 01/21/2013 04:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: MrsKryten
Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: tyw7 Security reasons?  It was convenient to check whether there is an update through the app.

 

 

 Now you have to do it manually...it's not too difficult, you just click "CHECK FOR DRIVER UPDATES".

 

This probably is a dumb question but where in CCC is this option now located? I cannot seem to find anything regarding checking for driver updates since I updated to 13.1.

On the left hand side of CCC....Information / AMD home



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/21/2013 07:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrsKryten
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/21/2013

Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: MrsKryten
Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: tyw7 Security reasons?  It was convenient to check whether there is an update through the app.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Now you have to do it manually...it's not too difficult, you just click "CHECK FOR DRIVER UPDATES".

 

 

 

 

This probably is a dumb question but where in CCC is this option now located? I cannot seem to find anything regarding checking for driver updates since I updated to 13.1.

 

 

On the left hand side of CCC....Information / AMD home

 

 

As Han Solo would say, "Thats what I'm trying to tell you, kid. It ain't there. It's been totally blown away." That's where the check for updates used to be located prior to installing 13.1, but there's no sign of it now. Items under "Information" are "AMD Home" (which displays images for games and settings for allowing web content and showing the page on startup, that's it), "Software" (which displays driver info), and "Hardware" (which displays graphics card info). I cannot see any options under any of those three items where one can check for updates. Guess I'll try reinstalling and see if that fixes things.

 01/21/2013 07:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: MrsKryten
Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: MrsKryten
Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: tyw7 Security reasons?  It was convenient to check whether there is an update through the app.

 

   

 

   

 Now you have to do it manually...it's not too difficult, you just click "CHECK FOR DRIVER UPDATES".

 

   

 

This probably is a dumb question but where in CCC is this option now located? I cannot seem to find anything regarding checking for driver updates since I updated to 13.1.

 

 

On the left hand side of CCC....Information / AMD home

 

 

As Han Solo would say, "Thats what I'm trying to tell you, kid. It ain't there. It's been totally blown away." That's where the check for updates used to be located prior to installing 13.1, but there's no sign of it now. Items under "Information" are "AMD Home" (which displays images for games and settings for allowing web content and showing the page on startup, that's it), "Software" (which displays driver info), and "Hardware" (which displays graphics card info). I cannot see any options under any of those three items where one can check for updates. Guess I'll try reinstalling and see if that fixes things.

ScreenShot001-10.jpg



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/21/2013 07:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrsKryten
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/21/2013

A-ha! So apparently disabling "Allow Web content" is required in order to be able to see the options for driver updates. When it is enabled for me (which is the default setting), all I get are ads for games like Far Cry 3, Dirt Showdown, etc. as shown below. Disabling web content is the answer then. Weird that it cannot be displayed any other way. Thanks for the help!

Edit: apparently I cannot paste the image in here, but try selecting and deselecting that web content option and you'll see what I mean.

 



Edited: 01/21/2013 at 07:44 PM by MrsKryten
Statistics
85329 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.