Topic Title: Can't install latest amd drivers on win8
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/24/2013 04:04 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/24/2013 04:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kruptein
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/24/2013

Hey,

so I recently built my own pc and I got the radeon hd 7970 gpu and installed the last ccc and drivers from the 12.x series those ran perfectly no problem.  Then I got a message that there was an update, so I install it etc but the ccc always kept saying that it was version 12.x and not 13.1.

So I removed all amd programs and did a re-install using this driver download the installer always succeeds but says that it has errors that I can see when I open the log but when I open the log no errors are there and it seems that it did not install the actual driver at all but only the ccc, app sdk and hdmi sounddriver (the log in question)

I also can't open the ccc, and on further inspection the C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies folder is empty

 01/24/2013 04:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Master Looter

Posts: 371
Joined: 08/21/2011

I installed new mobo last week,plus win 8 pro (OEM).Total fresh clean instal,no prob((besides hdmi audio driver)realtek hdmi is there from mobo instal?)Are you upgrade from 7 or full oem?clean instal or over the top?more system specs would help.I went to 13.1 after basic instal.

-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 oem

 01/24/2013 05:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kruptein
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/24/2013

Ok, so my specs:

intel i5 3570k cpu

radeon hd7970 gpu

Asus maximus v gene mobo

I guess psu,heatsink and hdd's aren't important .

Fresh win 8 oem install

 01/24/2013 05:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Master Looter

Posts: 371
Joined: 08/21/2011

This was my first mobo & o.s change.I zero'd my hard drive for this from what i found from a couple weeks websearch(i wanted to start anew).MS (from what i read)seems to recommend what i did(but also did not work for all).Maybe one of the forum members with more knowledge will have a resolution for you.

-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 oem

Statistics
81096 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.