Topic Title: Cant resolve Display driver issue
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/24/2013 10:03 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/24/2013 10:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
drk1997
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/24/2013

ATIRadeon 5450

Tried complete uninstall and reinstall and BSOD and could not boot.

Had to resort to system restore. Screen stops intermitently and freezes.

Any iideas to resolve this. First issue I have had with this computer.

System info:

OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
Other OS Description  Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name DAVE-PC
System Manufacturer Dell Inc.
System Model Studio XPS 8100
System Type x64-based PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU         760  @ 2.80GHz, 2801 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Dell Inc. A05, 7/8/2010
SMBIOS Version 2.6
Windows Directory C:\Windows
System Directory C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume2
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.1.7601.17514"
User Name Dave-PC\Dave
Time Zone Eastern Standard Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 7.96 GB
Available Physical Memory 5.77 GB
Total Virtual Memory 15.9 GB
Available Virtual Memory 12.8 GB
Page File Space 7.96 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys

Error info

0000000003: 2012-12-21 13:20:02:994 FAILED:ADL_Display_SLSGrid_Caps and return value is: -1 Error Called by: ATI.ACE.CLI.Caste.Graphics.Runtime.RT_GraphicsAdapter_N::CheckSLSSupported processID:03172 threadIDCCCThreadNew:Runtime) domainNameCCC.exe ) assemblyNameCLI.Caste.Graphics.Runtime, Version=2.0.3789.29863, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=90ba9c70f846762e) ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 01/24/2013 10:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dinwiddie
Grinding Levels

Posts: 135
Joined: 11/11/2012

Did you get the drivers from DELL ? I most cases you have to use their drivers.

The same applies to laptops and other OEM mfg's.

 01/25/2013 07:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: drk1997 Any iideas to resolve this.

Easiest is to reinstall the driver you had before and forget about 13.1.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/25/2013 12:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
drk1997
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/24/2013

No I got the driver from the AMD website and tried to install it after doing complete uninstall reccomended from AMD.

Never had a chance to try to install though as it would not even boot up.

 01/25/2013 09:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dinwiddie
Grinding Levels

Posts: 135
Joined: 11/11/2012

Try booting using you Intel HD graphics. You can switch to Intel HD in BIOS. On my machine the setting is found in the Advanced > North Bridge options.

DELL may not not provide an up to date driver but, their driver may be the only one that will install and work properly.

Statistics
86425 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.