Topic Title: 1080p aspect ratio with 16:10 monitor
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/01/2013 11:46 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/01/2013 11:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
/dev/null
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/01/2013

I have an sapphire 6970 reference card and a samsung 2443BWPLUS monitor which is a 16:10 monitor. I am running windows 7 64 bit.

when I set my resolution to 1080p from 1920x1200, I would like to set centered timings so that black bars appear at the top and bottom of my screen to correct the aspect ratio. When I do this however, the options under the "enable gpu scaling" box are still greyed out and the resolution is simply stretched across the entire screen. this appears to be only for 1080p, other resolutions scale fine. I also don't have any image scaling options in my monitor that cause this. I've had this problem since 11.11. I used to be able to revert to 11.10 to fix the problem, however that doesn't work anymore and I'd like to keep my drivers up to date anyway.

Is there a fix for this?

 02/01/2013 02:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4264
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: /dev/null When I do this however, the options under the "enable gpu scaling" box are still greyed out and the resolution is simply stretched across the entire screen.

1. Change your resolution to anything lower than native.

2. Set GPU scaling options in CCC.

3. Apply settings.

4. Set resolution back to native.

Note: If 1080p is still grayed out (shouldn't be), use something lower, like 640x480 or anything. It's a global setting for all resolutions below native.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 02/02/2013 03:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
/dev/null
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/01/2013

As I'vementioned, none of this works, including setting the resolution to something lower, setting centered timings and then setting to 1080p. the options are still greyed out. It's as if the driver thinks that 1080p is native when its not
 02/02/2013 06:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4264
Joined: 12/27/2008

I suggest you make a new partition and install a temp windows to test if your OS is borked. The fact that reverting doesn't work anymore suggests this.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 02/02/2013 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
/dev/null
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/01/2013

That may be worth a try, but reinstalling an OS and running a driver more than year old is hardly a decent solution.
 02/02/2013 02:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4264
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: /dev/null That may be worth a try, but reinstalling an OS and running a driver more than year old is hardly a decent solution.

Reinstalling an OS and installing a temp OS is two very different things.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 02/02/2013 11:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11574
Joined: 04/17/2008

Also using an older driver for a 2 year old card and a...10 year old game are completely acceptable solutions.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/09/2013 11:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
/dev/null
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/01/2013

I've just installed windows 8 and catalyst and the problem is still there. Obviously a driver bug then.

Statistics
80938 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.