Topic Title: Catalyst 13.1 / PowerDirector 9 system crash
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/01/2013 09:19 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/01/2013 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gridsleep
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/10/2008

After installing Catalyst 13.1 to address another problem (Bioshock 2 suddenly no longer starting, still unresolved) at the behest of 2K Games, I found that starting CyberLink PowerDirector 9 now crashes my system to a blue screen. Cyberlink tech support says that I should update the driver. Apparently, according to DxDiag, the age of the driver is Nov 16 2012, as can be seen in the following snippet

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x9442)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9442&SUBSYS_21B41458&REV_00
Display Memory: 1024.0 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (16 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.7267 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 11/16/2012 15:25:32, 516096 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: ati2mtag.sys
Mini VDD Date: 11/16/2012 16:05:46, 9291264 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-D702-11CF-8B6B-BE01A1C2CB35}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x9442
SubSys ID: 0x21B41458
Revision ID: 0x0000
Revision ID: 0x0000
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D

However, I installed Catalyst 13.1 on Jan 24, 2013, immediately after which PowerDirector causes my system to crash to a blue screen with the following information

<excised text>
SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION
<excised text>
STOP 0X0000003B (0X00000000C0000005,0XFFFFF97FFE3068F0,0XFFFFFADF0B07A6A0,0X0000000000000000)
atiokax2.dll address fffff97ffed068f0 base at fffff97ffe2e7000 datestamp 50a6989d

Cyberlink tech support is saying this is AMD's problem. I am sure AMD is going to say this is Cyberlink's problem.

Well, it's MY problem, and would like to see it fixed, please.

 02/02/2013 06:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

This file seems to be a directshow filter, at least by looking at the file name. Probably the GPU accelerated encoder. Unfortunately I cannot test it right now as I'm on an nvidia config now. But I do have a suggestion for a workaround.

1. Locate this file. It's probably in system32 or syswow64 but it can be elsewhere as well.

2. Once you have it, open an admin command prompt and type the following:

regsvr32 -u ((full path))\atiokax2.dll

Example: regsvr32 -u c:\windows\syswow64\atiokax2.dll

Then press enter.

3.If you get a message, that the dll was successfully unregistered, then it probably worked. Reboot.

PowerDirector should now open successfully, though you probably lose GPU accelerated encoding.

Note: to revert the whole thing (in case it succeeded), use the same command line without the -u.

 

PS: Bioshock 2 tip: Most likely a GFWL issue. Remove it, then download and install the latest one from the xbox live website. Also check if the stereo mix is enabled in your sound recording devices.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/02/2013 09:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gridsleep
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/10/2008

I tried regsvr32 -u c:\windows\system32\atiokax2.dll and got Attempt to access invalid address.

There is no atiokax2.dll in the syswow64 directory. The only other places it is found is the system32\DRVSTORE and system32\ReinstallBackups directories.

As for the Bioshock 2 problem, thanks, but, believe me, I've done everything already, directx, g4wl, java 32 & 64, uninstalling and reinstalling everything including the Steam client and ALL my games. Took two days to reinstall everything. It still crashes. Works fine on my Windows 7 system.

Where can I get a copy of that Windows 95 x64? Been looking for that one.

 02/02/2013 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: gridsleep I tried regsvr32 -u c:\windows\system32\atiokax2.dll and got Attempt to access invalid address.

Maybe it's worth a try checking a copy of this file in the Microsoft Dependency Walker if it has the usual DllRegisterServer and alike exports. If it does, you should try what I suggested before, but this time, in safe mode and/or using Unlocker.

Where can I get a copy of that Windows 95 x64? Been looking for that one.

 

It's a top secret private build. I cannot hand it out.

To be honest, I put it there once I got fed up with people judging someone by what OS he uses. Currently it's Win7 x64 but it changes sometimes to Win8 or linux, even Vista occasionally. As I haven't asked for help here for many years, it's irrelevant what in my sig is. It's just there by habit.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/04/2013 02:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gridsleep
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/10/2008

Dependency Walker found three dependents missing so I copied them into system32 from system32\drivers. Running regsvr32 still brings Attempt to access invalid address. Running PowerDirector still crashes the system to a blue screen, only now the STOP error is BE instead of 3B.

First Bioshock 2 and now PowerDirector. This is approaching limited return on investment. The problems are too annoying and produce no fun in the diagnosis. I am just getting angry now.

 02/04/2013 05:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Sounds like your best bet would be downgrading to an earlier version which works for you. But if I were you, I'd reinstall the whole thing (I mean the OS).



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
85422 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.