Topic Title: Unable to update to any Driver/Software beyond 12.8
Topic Summary: Later updates cause display issues until software is removed and older drivers reinstalled
Created On: 02/08/2013 05:04 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/08/2013 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bren924
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/08/2013

I have a RADEON HD 5570, and have been stuck on driver version 12.8 for months now. Any time I try to update to a newer version, my display goes wonky - hard to describe, but colors go out of whack, vertical lines across the entire screen, etc. Once I remove the newer package and restore the 12.8 package, all returns to normal. I have tried completely removing all AMD software and installing newer software from scratch and I get the same issue. It seems as though I am forever stuck on 12.8...

Thoughts on this? I don't think it would be a bard card, as everything runs just fine at 12.8.

EDITED: this thread has an image of what happens with my display

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=161893

 

Thanks!



-------------------------
 02/08/2013 05:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Cookie Monster

Posts: 444
Joined: 08/21/2011

**STICKY**.Please read before posting.Supply info then some one may be able to help.Is your OS up to date?.



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 

 02/09/2013 02:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Funny thing, isn't it? None of you cared to post system specs, so we can't even see of you have the same brand or something. You know, the "read before you post" stickiy is there to be ignored completely.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/17/2013 01:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Number255
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/17/2013

Same problem on my end however I found that if you change your refresh rate from 60Hz to 59Hz you can still view everything fine. However if a game or application doesn't have vsync then it goes back to being messed up.

Statistics
88886 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.