Topic Title: OpenGL not working under Vista 32bit
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/09/2013 11:55 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/09/2013 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vitos
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/09/2013

Hi everybody, i'm using ATI Radeon 9600 under Vista 32bit.

I installed all the suite from ATI but the OpenGL graphs are not working.

What shall i do? My CPU is AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2600+ @ 2.08Ghz...

Thanks!

 02/09/2013 10:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1417
Joined: 01/31/2010

what game are you having problems with?

 



-------------------------

 02/09/2013 10:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12863
Joined: 04/17/2008

What shall i do?


Answer: Stop using a DirectX 8/OpenGL 1.4 AGP card which isn't even officially supported on Vista.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/10/2013 12:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Hmm isn't the 9600 a DX 9 card? I've managed to turn an old rustbucket with a 9600 pro into a htpc with dxva that playbacks 720p video using h.264



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 02/10/2013 01:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12863
Joined: 04/17/2008

You're right, I forgot they switched to DX9 after the 9200 series. Still, it's AGP and way behind as far as OpenGL goes, 1.4 vs 4.2.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/10/2013 06:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vitos
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/09/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion You're right, I forgot they switched to DX9 after the 9200 series. Still, it's AGP and way behind as far as OpenGL goes, 1.4 vs 4.2.

I see that the AGP is at 4x by default.

I can also see that opengl version is 6.14.10.8545 from the Catalyst Control Center but when I open OpenGL Extension Viewer it doesn't load. Also games that use opengl and I've tried with other programs that can define your opengl version but they still don't work. Any solutions for that? Thanks

 

Edit: Without installing the drivers for win vista (witch is impossible because the screen doesn't work) i can run the program and see that opengl version 0.00!

 02/10/2013 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I do have a 9600 and it works fine even under win7. At least as far as functionality goes, but no further. I used to use these drivers with a 9800 as well.

Problem is, even if they work, Vista drivers for the 9xxx series are terrible. Just terrible. Especially OpenGL drivers. I repeat, even if they do work. They're not optimized in any way at all.

I suggest you either get a newer config, or just downgrade to XP. The latter one is much cheaper, and you can expect at least 80% performance improvement in almost every situation. You see, Vista and later hate single core CPUs. They hate Athlon XPs even more because of the lack of SSE2 instructions. Video drivers are a complete garbage. Do yoursef a favor and install XP.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
87374 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 10 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.