Topic Title: "Display driver amdkmdap stopped responding and has successfully recovered."
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/10/2013 05:27 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/10/2013 05:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smitchelson42
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/10/2013

XFX HD7970

Catalyst vers. 13.1

Windows 7 64bit

 

So I recently bought the HD7970 to upgrade my HD5870. After some days of playing various games I have noticed some issues.

 

First issue I noticed was that whenever I played The Witcher 2, I would have sudden freezes that last for 10 seconds or so before my screen flashes black like it's turned off for a second.  After this little spasm, the game runs just fine until the next spasm.  I fiddled around with the visual settings but it didn't stop it.

 

Next I was playing Anno 2070.  It runs great, then it completely freezes, except the mouse cursor changes to a loading icon and I can move the cursor around. I end up having to close the game through the task manager.

 

During an Anno freeze, I Alt-Tabbed to see a Windows message, "Display driver amdkmdap stopped responding and has successfully recovered.".

After checking the logs it seems both instances of these freeze/crashes, this happens.  I confirmed it through the Event Viewer.

 

These freezes are unprovoked.  The games don't have intense visual effects when it happens, the card is at decent temperatures, and other games that I've played (League of Legends, Counter Strike: Global Offensive) don't have this issue.

 

Now before I do anything like reinstall the driver, is there anything to know?  And is this a known issue?

 

Also any tips on a proper reinstall?

 02/10/2013 05:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 998
Joined: 11/22/2010

Perhaps some of your other hardware is to blame? Fill the **STICKY** | PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 02/10/2013 06:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smitchelson42
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/10/2013

ASRock X58 Extreme (BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. P2.20, 10/1/2010)

i7 950 3.06ghz

Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W (Discontinued but here is a Newegg page (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153136))

12 GB DDR3 1333

1x 120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD (Anno is on this one)

1x 500GB Western Digital 7200rpm (the drive Witcher is on)

HT| OMEGA CLARO Plus+ sound card

 

It seems it is worth mentioning that I did NOT have this problem with my old card, the 5870.  And literally the only change is the video card.

 02/10/2013 01:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

My card does this if I overclock it too much. Mostly it remains stable and can bare very high clock speeds, but as a result, similar issues do happen. I noticed this while playing Skyrim.

Any overclocking on your part? Factory overclock maybe?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/10/2013 04:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smitchelson42
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/10/2013

Factory overclock

 02/11/2013 02:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smitchelson42
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/10/2013

So after reinstalling the drivers it still happens.

After a quick Google search I saw this thread: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/349774-33-radeon-6870-display-driver-amdkmdap-stopped-responding

 

It seems a fresh install of windows is needed...  Sigh... A little too much work it seems for a driver issue.

 02/11/2013 03:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

but this problem is happen with me too but with only COD black ops 2 with my 5770 .. and i did not overclocked anything



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise



Edited: 02/11/2013 at 06:21 AM by abohamed
 02/11/2013 06:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Smitchelson42 So after reinstalling the drivers it still happens.

 

After a quick Google search I saw this thread: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/349774-33-radeon-6870-display-driver-amdkmdap-stopped-responding

 

 

 

It seems a fresh install of windows is needed...  Sigh... A little too much work it seems for a driver issue.

 

It's a generic error which can be caused by a million things. OS reinstall may or may not help. Usually it does not.

Try underclocking the card, and if it helps, get it replaced as faulty.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/25/2013 05:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bwilderbeast
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/08/2013

Originally posted by: Smitchelson42 So after reinstalling the drivers it still happens.

 

After a quick Google search I saw this thread: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/349774-33-radeon-6870-display-driver-amdkmdap-stopped-responding

 

 

 

It seems a fresh install of windows is needed...  Sigh... A little too much work it seems for a driver issue.

 

I had similar problems but after upgrading to a 5870. It came with newer drivers and I found certain games, Skyrim in particular unplayable. After trying the standard solutions I eventually unistalled CCC, cleaned the system of CCC artifacts and installed CCC 12.8 and haven't had any problems since.

Uninstall: http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162444&enterthread=y

Driver 12.8: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2162/AMD_Catalyst_12.8_Software_Suite_Vista7_64-bit.html



-------------------------
System details: Acer Aspire M7300, 6gb RAM, MSI HD R7850, Vista 64, AMD Phenom II X4 810, LG D2342P monitor
Statistics
84237 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.