Topic Title: Every single time AMD fails....
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/18/2013 10:15 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/18/2013 10:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jackster
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/18/2013

So. The last 6 years I have had ATI/AMD graphics cards.

 

Most resent being my 6950 ASUS Direct CU 2 and before that a XFX 5770.

 

Both only work if I use the Windows generic drivers.

 

I had 3 5770s, first two broke after a month and the third still works but can not use the CCC thing AMD has for drivers.

 

 

 

As soon as I install the manager the video cards crash and I then have to restart the computer.

 

This happends with my newish 6950 as well.

 

Though I am happy on generic drivers I need a bit more performance out of my cards every so often and I also need OpenGL sometimes for rendering. Both not achivable when on generic drivers.

 

So what is the problem AMD? Each time I buy one of your products it just carries on. Same problem angain and again. Even on different systems.

 

I was going to follow the "**STICKY** | PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING" but no point when I have tried this on many systems all different all the same problems....

 

So what is the problem?

 02/18/2013 10:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

It's probably an incompatible or faulty motherboard or PSU or other part of the system. There's no such thing as so many cards just all faulty and break in a few days.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/18/2013 04:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thebutcher0
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 11/11/2012

It's AMD/ATI fault. I am having the same problems. I finally took apart my gaming computer, swapped in my Nvidia card and all my problems went away. I could not get the BSoD to come back no matter what i did.



-------------------------
 02/18/2013 08:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dinwiddie
Grinding Levels

Posts: 135
Joined: 11/11/2012

So which card are you wanting to use now - 6950 ? Which Nvidia card are you using ? What are the differences in power requirements between the two ?

"swapped in my Nvidia card and all my problems went away"

When you swap back to ATI do you do a thorough uninstall of all the Nvidia driver components via Programs and Features (may as well uninstall the current AMD Catalyst Install Manager too, if there is one), reboot, run Driver Sweeper/Fusion to clean the leftover Nvidia graphics files, and reboot again before installing the ATI drivers (and PhysX, because some games require PhysX to be installed regardless of it not being functional) ?

Worked for me when changing from Nvidia to ATI.

If you still have problems, stop hammering away at drivers and look for another source. Start with troubleshooting software conflicts via Clean Boot-

How to troubleshoot a problem by performing a clean boot in Windows Vista or in Windows 7

 

If you visit the Nvidia forums you will find many posts like yours. Similar in some ways - "reinstlled my old ATI and all is good, going back to ATI forever", etc.

 

 02/18/2013 09:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 329
Joined: 11/27/2012

Swapping GPU brands is a HUGE change to a systems base structure...  If you don't do a fresh install of the OS, expect problems.  It's not manditory of course...  but in the long run it is by far the simplest and easiest way to ensure zero conflicts

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 02/19/2013 01:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: thebutcher0 It's AMD/ATI fault....swapped in my Nvidia card and all my problems went away.

If you remove a dead card (AMD, nvidia, Intel, Matrox, S3, whatever) and replace it with a working card (AMD, nvidia, Intel, Matrox, S3, whatever) then you'll get a working system. It's called repairing your computer and has nothing to do with brands. I wonder how they let you use the internet without knowing basic stuff.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/19/2013 02:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dinwiddie
Grinding Levels

Posts: 135
Joined: 11/11/2012

Originally posted by: QB the Slayer Swapping GPU brands is a HUGE change to a systems base structure...  If you don't do a fresh install of the OS, expect problems.  It's not manditory of course...  but in the long run it is by far the simplest and easiest way to ensure zero conflicts QB 

It certainly helps avoid Murphy's Law, but I've found Win7 pretty easy going compared with XP. I did a 'repair' reinstall just a year into using Win7 (due to USB bug that came with download version of sp1), and have been on that for over a year. Did an image from my old machine to the new one with ATI card back in Nov. and it has no more issues than I've ever had with a PC.

As far as faster - Not if you like having all your games isntalled (over 100 here), not to mention the other software. I'd certainly take the chance again, but you do have to be thorough. If there had been issues I would gone straight for a reformat though.

 



Edited: 02/19/2013 at 02:32 AM by Dinwiddie
 02/19/2013 11:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thebutcher0
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 11/11/2012

This is in reply to Eydee

Go read the post i made for help. You will notice my brand new computer doesn't have a video card. I am in school right now as we speak for computer repair. As a last resort I took the video card out of my gaming machine (Nvidia card), put it into my new computer and all my ATI/AMD problems went away. That's called trouble shooting, since not one thread you've posted to has any kind of helpful advise. 2396 posts of trolling and flaming doesn't help anyone and makes you look bad in the process.

And as far as the AMD fault comment, look at the posts with people having problems, I didn't come here to troll and flame, I came here because I too have a problem and would like some advise on how I can correct it.



-------------------------


Edited: 02/19/2013 at 02:34 PM by thebutcher0
 02/19/2013 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: thebutcher0 I took the video card out of my gaming machine (Nvidia card) and all my ATI/AMD problems went away.

I suggest to read back what you wrote. According to this, the fact, that an nvidia card causes AMD issues, is the fault of AMD...

By the way, thanks for reading all my posts. If replying to rants in a similar tone is trolling, by all means, I do it all the time.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/19/2013 01:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

A better question, maybe...

If someone has been buying AMD stuff for the past several years and had problems with all of it, then why did they keep buying it?

There seems to be a lot of these threads popping up recently.  The Internet hive mind must think it smells blood in the water, or something.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 02/19/2013 01:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Mime There seems to be a lot of these threads popping up recently.

I suggest you compare some IP addresses, if the forum software gives you the ability to do so. Who knows what you might find.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/19/2013 06:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 811
Joined: 01/05/2013

Which drivers are you talking about?  System specs??

Unless a component is defective (broken, burned up, etc., etc.) most computer issues are due to some procedural error.  How many times has each of us said:  "awwww...yeahhh...now, I get it...I should have...(fill in the blank)...!

Trouble shooting goes much further than scratching our heads.  Re-installing an OS is in my opinion only when you cannot unlock a seized up system.  While using the cleanup tool, updating .net, using Driver Fusion, etc. is tedious, sure has reduced issues when installing gpu drivers.  Most readers would recommend you use these procedures.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 02/26/2013 09:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jackster
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/18/2013

Originally posted by: Mime A better question, maybe...

 

If someone has been buying AMD stuff for the past several years and had problems with all of it, then why did they keep buying it?

 

There seems to be a lot of these threads popping up recently.  The Internet hive mind must think it smells blood in the water, or something.

 

 

I have only ever bought 2 cards for myself.

3 total 5770s I have had but only bought 1. The other 2 were RMA replacements as 2 failed within a month of use. 

I thought that it was just XFX being shite so I tried a 6950 from ASUS and had the same issue.

 02/26/2013 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 894
Joined: 09/11/2008

been using ATI/AMD since 2001(9600,9800,X800,X850,X1900,3870,4850,4870,5850,5870,6950) single and crossfire since the 3870's.Not 1 single card has failed me.

bought a EVGA GTX560ti 448 in dec(for my backup rig)good price/deal(140$)I thought.lasted 2 hours,swapped it for a 7850 2G,tada,no issues.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 02/27/2013 02:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mradr
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 06/03/2011

Sound more like a power related issue. Are you sure your powersupply hasn't just degrade over time? Are you sure it's at the right power requirments for your gpu? Seems werid if one works and the other doesn't.

As with most hardware.. if it's not working... it should give a sign across the board, but your seem not to. Witch leads to maybe the user is at fault?



-------------------------
<html />
 02/27/2013 11:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WhiteSnake76
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 12/22/2009

jackster & thebutcher0:

Any of you guys use a registry cleaner? because it sounds like a dammadged Windows Registry to me, fitting an other AMD Card and trying to Reinstall the drivers than wont work, unless you format the harddrive and reinstall Windows.

This also happens with nVidia and Creative Soundblaster/X-Fi drivers wen you use a Registry Cleaner, thats the risk of using a program like that that it might damadge or delete a registry entry.



-------------------------

Notebook specs: AMD Athlon X2 QL-64 2.1Ghz, AMD 780G Chipset, ATI Mobility Radeon HD4570 512MB, OCZ 2x2GB DDR2-800, WD Scorpio Black 320GB, 15.6" 1366x768 Screen.

Statistics
86369 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.