Topic Title: Will they ever support a way to turn off multi monitors?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/23/2013 04:33 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/23/2013 04:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mradr
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 06/03/2011

Hi, it seems window will never support multi monitor displays. I was woundering if we could maybe see about getting more support from our AMD family on this issue. I have about 3 monitors. Sometimes I work on all 3, other times, I would work on maybe just 2. I was woundering if we could ever get to support to tell a monitor to power down (aka, cutting information to it) to save some power like we would if we didn't move the mouse around and the computer shuts down the monitors.

 

I know we can use window + p, but it's really... um... werid to use? Aka, it disables that monitor and then moves everything back to the first monitor. It be nice just have the monitor it self power down instead of moving everything around.



-------------------------
<html />
 02/24/2013 11:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4048
Joined: 01/27/2008

I see your point. You want to put monitors to sleep but keep any program's windows on that monitor so a "Monitor wake" will have it ready to go. And as you mention, all windows won't pile onto the single display.A "Green" and useful idea.

-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 02/26/2013 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mradr
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 06/03/2011

Originally posted by: Hardwood I see your point. You want to put monitors to sleep but keep any program's windows on that monitor so a "Monitor wake" will have it ready to go. And as you mention, all windows won't pile onto the single display.A "Green" and useful idea.

Yea! Also, no other company does it, so it could be used in a way to sell their cards more. Should I create a ticket? I know some of these forums are only seen by the people and not by their tech.

The only reason I said "aka, cutting information to it" is because that is how most monitors know when it's ok to enter into power save mode, or as far as I know anyways.



-------------------------
<html />

Edited: 02/26/2013 at 11:12 PM by Mradr
 02/27/2013 06:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4048
Joined: 01/27/2008

Certainly can't hurt to contact support. Posting on other forums like rage3d and guru3d might help generate interest too.

-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

Statistics
86654 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.