Topic Title: Install Problems with Sapphire 7850
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/03/2013 12:40 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/03/2013 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tomlando
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/19/2013

Hello, I am having problems getting my Video card to behave properly. This is a new system which details are listed in my signature. I am not sure I have the correct drivers installed. I first bought a Saphire HD6670 that would only beep 6 times on booting and Shapphire support said to RMA it. So, I bought a 500 Watt PSU and this Sapphire HD7850 OC I GB DDR5. My error on the first card was not disabling the on board Graphics in the device management page. After doing so with the second card and updating the drivers online (very confusing choices with all of the different software), the monitor finally got a signal after 45 seconds into the boot up. In the morning with a cold start up, I get no signal and have to do a power button shut down and restart. Then I get a signal after 45 seconds. I can not get into BIOS because the signal isn't activated at that point. Windows Media Center was not displaying and Microsoft reccommended a recovery. I removered the added cards to prepare for the recovery, booted up and tried WMC and it worked. So, I am not installing this card properly. I am using a DVI > VGA adaptor to a small dell monitor while working on it. It will be hook up to my system via HDMI when I get things working right. I think I need to remove all AMD software and start over. Please advise me as to what I need to do.Thank you.   

-------------------------

HTPC - HP Pavilion P6-2378, Wind 8 Pro +Media Center. Corsair CX500 PSU, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Hitachi 1TB Storage, 16GB 1600 ram, Sapphire HD7850 1G DDR5 OC, Hauppague HVR 2250 Tuner card

 03/03/2013 02:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tomlando
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/19/2013

I used the removal tool for catalyst and amd driver I found on this site and cleaned everything out. I followed the instructions and reinstalled. Results: No signal to monitor. This is what I did:

1. Disabled the on board graphics by going to the device management page.

2. Turned the PC off and unplugged.

3. Installed the card, plugged in the 6pin PCI-e plug, plugged in the monitor to the card

4. Plugged in and powered up.

The computer power (normally blue)light turns amber and the computer beeps 6 times, then turns blue and seems to proceed in booting, but no signal to the moniter. This is following the instruction booklet I recieved from Sapphire.

What should I be diong?

 

 



-------------------------

HTPC - HP Pavilion P6-2378, Wind 8 Pro +Media Center. Corsair CX500 PSU, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Hitachi 1TB Storage, 16GB 1600 ram, Sapphire HD7850 1G DDR5 OC, Hauppague HVR 2250 Tuner card

 03/03/2013 03:13 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4267
Joined: 12/27/2008

Do the following:

 

1. Open up your computer. Find the CMOS reset jumper and set everything back to default.

2. Connect your monitor to the video card, not the motherboard.

3. Turn on the computer.

 

If you don't see a picture immediately, you either have a faulty card, or a faulty motherboard, or just the two are inompatible. This has nothing to do with software settings.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 03/03/2013 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tomlando
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/19/2013

I did reset the CMOS and it does the same thing.

It displays right away with the onboard graphics, so I don't think it is the motherboard. This is the second Video card that behaves the same, so I don't think it is the card. That leaves the 3rd option, compatability.

Well, I guess I can live without getting into the bios. Everything else seems to work fine and the computer will remain on all the time as an HTPC...sooo, I guess I can learn to live with it.

Thank you,  Eydee, I appreciate your help.

EDIT: No, I can't live with it if Windows Media Center doesn't work. What was I thinking?  I really don't know what to do next to find the exact problem and fix these issue. Contact the motherboard manufacturer, maybe?



-------------------------

HTPC - HP Pavilion P6-2378, Wind 8 Pro +Media Center. Corsair CX500 PSU, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Hitachi 1TB Storage, 16GB 1600 ram, Sapphire HD7850 1G DDR5 OC, Hauppague HVR 2250 Tuner card



Edited: 03/04/2013 at 01:40 PM by tomlando
 03/05/2013 05:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tomlando
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/19/2013

Okay, I have learned the solution. !yeaaa!  It is a problem with the BIOS setting with Windows 8 and SecureBoot , enabled by default, and LegacyBoot, being disabled. The fix was easy. Just go into the bios and switch the settings and the card booted perfectly and Windows Media Center  opens also. I just thought I should post this for anyone else who runs into the problem 



-------------------------

HTPC - HP Pavilion P6-2378, Wind 8 Pro +Media Center. Corsair CX500 PSU, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Hitachi 1TB Storage, 16GB 1600 ram, Sapphire HD7850 1G DDR5 OC, Hauppague HVR 2250 Tuner card

Statistics
80947 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.