Topic Title: Office 2013 - Display driver stopped responding and has recovered
Topic Summary: Display driver stopped responding and has recovered
Created On: 03/06/2013 08:14 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/06/2013 08:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zujik
Peon

Hello, I am looking for help with a "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered" issue. The issue occurs in Office 2013, specifically Outlook 2013 and Excel 2013. I can't reproduce on demand the Excel 2013 issue, but Outlook 2013 I can.

I work for a hardware manufacturer in tech support and get a lot of emails to forward to the relevant area's. If I manually forward and email, hit send then click on another email it freezes and the display driver recovers. This is on Windows 8.

I have been using the hardware for 18 months with Windows 7 and switched to Windows 8 on release. I have installed the latest full release of Office 2013 Professional Plus from a Micosoft supplied DVD.

The issue has only occured recently, I updated to 13.1 and the uninstall utility broke many UAC controls in Windows. Others have had the same issue and a system restore or full Windows re-install has resolved the issue. Office 2013 worked fine during this period, and I am fine with updates occasionally breaking things so that isn't my issue.

I did a System Restore, and on the next reboot I had access to UAC controlled areas again (such as editing Users or Network Properties) but then the display driver stopped responding. As this made my original issue worse I did a full re-install of Windows 8.