Topic Title: Driver has stopped working and recovered constantly, any fix yet?
Topic Summary: Continuous problem with driver, locking up, shutting monitor off, colored boxes on screen....
Created On: 03/21/2013 03:29 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/21/2013 03:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sheolraver
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/17/2011

This problem has been recurring daily for years now. It seems wide spread for multitudes of users. No fix I can find has worked from registry changes, driver changes, card changes, .... I've seen numerous posts on many support sites with varied methods for an attempted fix. All have been futile. Can this be fixed?

Driver has stopped responding and recovered. In any type of usage: online, gaming, any program, machine just sitting here doing nothing. Often I've got multi-colored boxes appearing all over the screen. Sometimes my monitor just shuts down and can't be turned on to a desktop again but for a total reboot. Mostly it just freezes, goes black then recovers.

My machine is internally clean & runs cool always. I have nothing overclocked. It is tight & lean as far as programs & files are concerned. I rarely stress the vid card for any type of gaming. Actually can't play games due to this problem. Tried every driver from 10.x to 13.1 to no avail. (Installed correctly.) Bios and updates/drivers for all hardware & software in place. No conflicts or other discernable problems.

Please advise. Utmost frustration. Thank you.

My rig:
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model CMD8GX3M4A1333C7
GIGABYTE GV-R583UD-1GD Radeon HD 5830 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support, 2 DVI out, 1 HDMI out, Video Card
CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.2 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
MSI 890FXA-GD70 AM3+ AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
ASUS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS - OEM
Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit on latest update.
Samsung T260HD Monitor

 03/25/2013 05:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bwilderbeast
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/08/2013

I had the same problem and after updating CCC severe issues in certain games and wasn't even able to open CCC. The standard solutions of doing a clean install of CCC and .Net framework didn't work, the only thing that solved it for me was uninstalling CCC and then installing CCC 12.8

Uninstall: http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162444&enterthread=y

Download version 12.8: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2162/AMD_Catalyst_12.8_Software_Suite_Vista7_64-bit.html

Sorry, don't seem to able to make second link a link, you'll just have to copy and paste it.



-------------------------
System details: Acer Aspire M7300, 6gb RAM, MSI HD R7850, Vista 64, AMD Phenom II X4 810, LG D2342P monitor

Edited: 03/25/2013 at 05:38 AM by bwilderbeast
 03/25/2013 10:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sheolraver
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/17/2011

Thanks for your input bwilderbeast. I am trying 12.8 now, again. Hopeful.

 03/26/2013 04:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sheolraver
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/17/2011

Here's what's happening:

Installed 12.8 after cleaning out all AMD/ATI files. I've had no "Driver stopped working and recovered" errors occur. (Relief!!!) I am getting some minor artifacting, small multi-colored boxes popping up on screen infrequently. They go away for a while if I refresh on the desktop.

So far an enormous improvement.

It seems as if the Aero function has disabled itself.  hmm ?????

 03/26/2013 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Sheolraver I am getting some minor artifacting, small multi-colored boxes popping up on screen infrequently. They go away for a while if I refresh on the desktop.

Clear sign of a broken card. Use it as long as you can, but be prepared that soon it won't even boot or the artifacts will be all over the screen. However, if it's still under warranty, RMA it as soon as you can.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/27/2013 08:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NecessarySkills
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/27/2013

Yeah, I have been having this same issues for a long time. I REALLY hope it's not the GPU. I hadn't had it very long when it started happening. (I have an HD 6770.) The thing is, the same GPU works in my older rig, which is Intel based. Games play no problem at all, but in my AMD board, I get frequent driver and sometimes computer crashing. Always really pissed me off and never knew what to do about it.

Since it works in another rig, is it really the GPU? I mean, I've swapped out or upgraded other parts of my current rig, and wiped the hard drive and did fresh isntalls of Windows and everything else. Nothing fixes it. I would really like a solution.

 04/02/2013 02:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NecessarySkills
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/27/2013

Holy crap, is anyone going to respond?

 04/02/2013 03:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 795
Joined: 01/05/2013

Hmmm...had a "similar" issue recently...retro'd driver to 13.3 beta 2 for a few days and re-installed beta 3 drivers and seems to have cleared up.  Tried single and crossfire application and reversed vid cards on mb and still suffered those artifacts...***unlikely*** but not impossible that BOTH cards would fail at the same time.

@Necessary Skills...Motherboard BIOS upgraded since purchase?

 

Solar storm?   Nah.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/02/2013 07:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NecessarySkills
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/27/2013

I tried to do the BIOS a while ago to see if that was the case. No change.

 04/02/2013 07:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 795
Joined: 01/05/2013

You "tried"...or "actually updated" BIOS?



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/03/2013 12:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toxinburn
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/02/2013

I had similar issues and come to find out the ram chips i had installed are for whatever reason not compatible with my mother board, so i reinstalled the old ones and now it is fine again.

-------------------------
 04/04/2013 12:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NecessarySkills
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/27/2013

I did it. Meaning I tried that possibility of it being the BIOS, and it wasn't the issue.

 04/04/2013 08:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
freeman9494
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/01/2013

Hi, I was have this issue, for 2 months [NOV/DEC 2012] and for now it's working fine 4 months, and I hope it will stay that way...

All what I do, was change voltage of my Gigabyte HD7870 from 1.218 to 1.3V by MSI Afterburner.

It's working good, and it's stable voltage for my card.

Try this, maybe this will help, BUT.. My card doesn't give any artifacts, only give this error and Freeze, sometimes BSOD, and that's all. Your Card could be broken and this will not help.

 

Statistics
84200 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.