Topic Title: Driver has stopped working and recovered constantly happening
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/22/2013 04:58 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/22/2013 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rikrik
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/22/2013

I've been having this issue since i've upgraded my GPU from a Sapphire HD6950 2GB to a MSI HD7950 3GB. It happens at random moments, even during simple internet browsing.

I've read about people with the same problem but also having artifacts (some even in windows) but the only problem i have is the display driver stopping and recovering turning my screen black for about 2 seconds. But no artifacts.

My temps are fine, 35 celsius when idle and about 70-75 under load.

 

I'm currently using the 13.3 beta driver, as i had hoped it would fix my problem, but i've had the problem with 13.1 as well.

I've run Prime95 and Msi's Kombustor (2.5) and memtest (from a bootable usb stick) to see if it might've been a hardware problem, but all tests show no problem.

I'm using Norton Internet Security 2013 with the latest updates so i'm 99% sure there are no virusses or spyware on my pc.

 

The pc i'm having the problem with is equipped with the following:

Intel i7 3820 @ stock (3.6ghz)

Gigabyte X79-UP4 (Latest stable bios)

MSI HD7950 3GB

4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600mhz

OCZ ModXStream-Pro 700W (I know it's overkill but i bought it in case i'd ever want to go with 2 gpu's and it was cheaper than the 500 or 600W versions)

Crucial M4 128GB ssd as boot disk and 3 WD HDDs, a 640GB, a 1TB and a 2TB HDD.

Windows 7 64-bit with all the latest updates and service packs

 

Really hoping someone here can help me solve this issue..

 03/23/2013 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4877
Joined: 12/27/2008

I suggest you try the card in another computer and RMA it if it continues to cause the issue there.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/23/2013 06:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jrealing
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/28/2009

Originally posted by: Rikrik

OCZ ModXStream-Pro 700W (I know it's overkill but i bought it in case i'd ever want to go with 2 gpu's and it was cheaper than the 500 or 600W versions)

Just to point out, the bigger your power supply is the better. Never say over Kill. Your PS is the one thing that you should always put a little more money into to insure you'll be able to upgrade to the next two levels of upgrades.



-------------------------

GA-MA-790X-UD4P, Phenom II X2 (unlocked B 55), 2x2GB Super talent 2x1 Super Talent (6GB), LG DVD/CD burner, 1ea Hitachi/WD HD 250GB, Asus EHA5770 CUcore 1GB, SB X-FI Titanium. Antec EW750 PS, Antec 900II case

 03/23/2013 09:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rikrik
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/22/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee I suggest you try the card in another computer and RMA it if it continues to cause the issue there.

 

Thanks for the suggestion, i put my gpu in my dad's pc which has nearly the same specs as me, except he has an MSI motherboard. I didn't know it didn't have pci express 3.0 disabled by default so it ran MSI Kombustor 2.5.1 for a few hours on 2.0. I turned it to 3.0 after i noticed that in the catalyst control center.

I had it run for another couple of hours but the display driver did not crash.

I made sure the driver was the same as mine (13.3 beta).

 

Do you have any other suggestions what the problem could be?

 

Originally posted by: jrealingJust to point out, the bigger your power supply is the better. Never say over Kill. Your PS is the one thing that you should always put a little more money into to insure you'll be able to upgrade to the next two levels of upgrades.

I just called it overkill because that's the general response i've gotten so far for getting a 700w PSU. But you're right, the PSU is worth the money because it's one of the few things that can stay for a couple of complete upgrades.

 03/23/2013 11:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4877
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Rikrik Do you have any other suggestions what the problem could be?

Motherboard incompatibility possibly. Gigabyte boards were known to have PCIe problems a few years ago. I wouldn't be surprised if it happened again. I suggest you contact Gigabyte and ask thir opinion. Maybe they'll have a beta bios for you or something.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/24/2013 12:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rikrik
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/22/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee
Originally posted by: Rikrik Do you have any other suggestions what the problem could be?

 

Motherboard incompatibility possibly. Gigabyte boards were known to have PCIe problems a few years ago. I wouldn't be surprised if it happened again. I suggest you contact Gigabyte and ask thir opinion. Maybe they'll have a beta bios for you or something.

 

 

Wouldn't i have had this problem with my old 6950 as well if it would be a PCIe problem? Or could this have something to do with PCIe 3.0? (Since the 6950 worked at 2.1)

 03/24/2013 05:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4877
Joined: 12/27/2008

I have no idea. If I remember corretly the old issue (concerning giant mouse cursors and TDR errors) was something about PCIe power and also somehow connected to PowerPlay. It was fixed by motherboard BIOS updates, you can search the archive and find it. The masses found the issue when Win7 came out and everyone started to use it.

If you want to test things (just for fun) try the card in your computer and disable PowerPlay. See if it makes it stable. It would just be a hint that something similar is going on. In the past we thought that it was our cards or drivers (because of the PP connection) but still the motherboard manufacturers fixed it, not AMD.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/24/2013 11:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rikrik
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/22/2013

I tried disabling powerplay by using this guide (found it with google) http://www.overclock.net/t/1191430/5870-cant-seem-to-disable-powerplay


But it doesn't seem to help, when i boot up Crysis 3 i can play for about 5-10 minutes and then it just freezes and goes black, and if i alt tab fast enough i can see the message that the display driver crashed and recovered..

 03/24/2013 11:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jrealing
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/28/2009

Go to ocworkbench (http://www.ocworkbench.com) and see if they have a thread about your motherboard. They have help me with alot of problems in the past. Sign up is free, they might have a thread about your Card also.

I looked at a few review on your PS. Here is a link to the the review that might be of intrest. http://www.hardocp.com/article/2008/11/12/ocz_700w_modxstream_pro_power_supply/9#.UU8jDhfvtT0

This just might be the cause of your problems.

 



-------------------------

GA-MA-790X-UD4P, Phenom II X2 (unlocked B 55), 2x2GB Super talent 2x1 Super Talent (6GB), LG DVD/CD burner, 1ea Hitachi/WD HD 250GB, Asus EHA5770 CUcore 1GB, SB X-FI Titanium. Antec EW750 PS, Antec 900II case



Edited: 03/24/2013 at 12:09 PM by jrealing
 03/24/2013 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rikrik
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/22/2013

Originally posted by: jrealing Go to ocworkbench (http://www.ocworkbench.com) and see if they have a thread about your motherboard. They have help me with alot of problems in the past. Sign up is free, they might have a thread about your Card also.

 

I looked at a few review on your PS. Here is a link to the the review that might be of intrest. http://www.hardocp.com/article/2008/11/12/ocz_700w_modxstream_pro_power_supply/9#.UU8jDhfvtT0

This just might be the cause of your problems.

 

I checked out that ocworkbench.com site but couldn't really find anything there. (Search function on the forum might be broken though, even a simple search as "Amd driver" gave no results)

 

My dad's pc has an OCZ ModXStream Pro PSU as well (600w) and my gpu had no problems running in his pc so i don't think the PSU is the problem. I will keep it in mind though if nothing else works.

 03/24/2013 01:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jrealing
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/28/2009

So your dad has the 6oo watt, and it has no problems but you have the 700 watt. I will say this I had a 300 watt psu that out performed a 450 watt. In other words my old psu (300 watt) had better spec. Try installing your faters PSU in to your computer and see if it make a diffrents.



-------------------------

GA-MA-790X-UD4P, Phenom II X2 (unlocked B 55), 2x2GB Super talent 2x1 Super Talent (6GB), LG DVD/CD burner, 1ea Hitachi/WD HD 250GB, Asus EHA5770 CUcore 1GB, SB X-FI Titanium. Antec EW750 PS, Antec 900II case

 03/26/2013 04:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gerisonti
Buffed

Posts: 93
Joined: 11/11/2008

your prblem is same as mine

i dont think its psu problem i have 900watt psu

 

my problem started with 12.8 till 13.3 drivers

thinks u may try

1look your ram for a test use just only 1 stick 

2try to put your vga on other pci mobo

3update your bios mobo and bios vga (sametimes help)

4so u may try another clean os install and install 12.6 or 12.5 drivers 

 



-------------------------

MOBO Asus P6T deluxe CPU Core i7 920 VGA Sapphire 5970 oc edition RAM 12gb ddr3 kingston PSU Coolermaster Ultimate 900watt Soundcard Creative Xfi extreme gamer Case Zalman Gt 900 HDD Velociraptor 150GB Gaming keyboard Logitech G15 mouse Logitech G9 OS windows 7 ultimate 64bit

 03/26/2013 11:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rikrik
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/22/2013

Well this is weird.. I'm pretty sure i ran a program to delete all leftover drivers after upgrading my pc. But yesterday i uninstalled the AMD driver, booted into safe mode and fired up "Driver Fusion". It found a lot of leftover pieces of the driver, it even managed to find some nvidia leftovers..

After letting the program delete it all i rebooted and installed 13.1 again and i haven't had a display driver crash since. I even managed to finish Crysis 3.

I figured i'd try the Driver Fusion program since Crysis started crashing (due to the display driver crashing and recovering) after about 5-10 minutes in-game and i really wanted to finish it.

I hope this will actually be the end of the problem and it won't show up for a very long time hehe.

Thank you all for helping me

 03/26/2013 12:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4877
Joined: 12/27/2008

Sounds good, hope it stays that way. Surely it was some evil nvidia code...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
84881 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.