Topic Title: 5700 Series Driver Doesn't Update Properly
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/23/2013 08:33 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/23/2013 08:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kate2591
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/23/2013

I'm trying to update my driver (through using the auto select/install program) but when it updates my screen resolution changes to a strange ratio (800x600) and I can't change it back to the correct one (1920x1080) as the option is no longer there (there are several others to choose from but all look stretched). I also get a message saying the drivers are incorrect and the catalyst control program will no longer open. I've fixed it by rolling back to my old driver, but I could really do with updating it for some new games I have. Anyone help?

 

Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (1024MB GDDR5)

Current driver version: 8.700.0.0

Operating system: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

System model: Dell XPS 8300

Processor: Intel i7-2600 3.4GHz

 03/24/2013 12:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jrealing
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/28/2009

I took a look at the specs for your computer and every thing I've seen showed your model comes with 6000 series card and not the 5700 series.

Copyed this from the specs posted on Cnet.com

 

Video Card

  • AMD Radeon™ HD 6450 1GB DDR3
  • Nvidia® Geforce® GT530
  • AMD Radeon™ HD 6670 1GB DDR5
  • AMD Radeon™ HD 6770
  • Single AMD Radeon™ HD 6870
Try rolling back to your old driver so that your system is running as before.
Go to run type in dxdiag.exe, click on the Display tab and that should tell you what Graphic card you have.
Down load any new drivers for your card from Dell, as your model is no longer sold. Your drivers might be out dated. If so, then go to AMD and down load the drivers for your card. Uninstall the driver from your system reboot and install the new drivers.
I see you did roll back your system, so just type in the dxdiag.exe.

 



-------------------------

GA-MA-790X-UD4P, Phenom II X2 (unlocked B 55), 2x2GB Super talent 2x1 Super Talent (6GB), LG DVD/CD burner, 1ea Hitachi/WD HD 250GB, Asus EHA5770 CUcore 1GB, SB X-FI Titanium. Antec EW750 PS, Antec 900II case

 04/01/2013 01:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kate2591
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/23/2013

I've run dxdiag and this is the information it gives me:

 

Name: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series

Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.

Chip Type: ATI display adapter (0x68B8)

DAC Type: Internal DAC (400MHz)

Approx Total Memory: 3819MB

Current Display Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)

Monitor: Generic PnP Monitor

Main Driver: atiu9p64 aticfx64 aticfx64 atiu9pag

Version: 8.700.0.0

DDI Version: 11

Driver Model: WDDM 1.1

 

I bought my computer around March 2011 if that makes any difference.

 04/01/2013 02:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7277
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: kate2591 I'm trying to update my driver (through using the auto select/install program) but when it updates my screen resolution changes to a strange ratio (800x600) and I can't change it back to the correct one (1920x1080) as the option is no longer there (there are several others to choose from but all look stretched). I also get a message saying the drivers are incorrect and the catalyst control program will no longer open. I've fixed it by rolling back to my old driver, but I could really do with updating it for some new games I have. Anyone help?

 

Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (1024MB GDDR5)

Current driver version: 8.700.0.0

Operating system: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

System model: Dell XPS 8300

Processor: Intel i7-2600 3.4GHz

Try to change your screen resolution by right clicking on your desktop and using the 'screen resolution' not your video card.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/01/2013 04:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kate2591
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/23/2013

Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: kate2591 I'm trying to update my driver (through using the auto select/install program) but when it updates my screen resolution changes to a strange ratio (800x600) and I can't change it back to the correct one (1920x1080) as the option is no longer there (there are several others to choose from but all look stretched). I also get a message saying the drivers are incorrect and the catalyst control program will no longer open. I've fixed it by rolling back to my old driver, but I could really do with updating it for some new games I have. Anyone help?

 

 

 

Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (1024MB GDDR5)

 

Current driver version: 8.700.0.0

 

Operating system: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

 

System model: Dell XPS 8300

 

Processor: Intel i7-2600 3.4GHz

 

 

Try to change your screen resolution by right clicking on your desktop and using the 'screen resolution' not your video card.

 

That's the way I've been doing it - I wasn't aware there was another way?

 

I've just tried reinstalling it again through the Dell driver update software - still have the same problems. I tried to open the catalyst control centre but it says "No graphics driver is installed, or the ATI driver is not functioning properly. Please install the ATI driver appropriate for your ATI hardware". It also shows no driver details in dxdiag anymore?

 04/01/2013 05:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7277
Joined: 11/13/2009

I would try a clean install paying attention to the netframework requirement for newer drivers. > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162444&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
86454 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.