Topic Title: Please help with Radeon HD 7870!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/27/2013 02:11 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/27/2013 02:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MxM Cheater
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/25/2013

 

Hello, I recently got a Radeon HD 7870.. it's a VTX3D X-Edition 2GB Card

The graphics card has ran fine and had no problems even when running gpu intensive games like crysis3 on max settings,

But with certain games including really any call of duty game i get a 'atikmdag.sys' error resulting in a bsod.

I've been trying to troubleshoot this problem for a few days now and don't seem to be getting anywhere so maybe someone that's already solved this problem might be able to point me somewhere.

I've played through MW2 for about 10minutes until i get the error. On Black ops II, About 2 minutes 30 seconds.

Things i've tried:

Updating drivers to Catalyst 13.3 beta

Downgrading drivers to Catalyst 12.8

Re-installing OS

Changing PSU

Benchmark test

memtest

Actually updating the 'atikmdag.sys' file by expanding it using cmd.

Thanks in advance for any help, because i really do seem to be stuck here.

 

Here is a screenshot of the error from WhoCrashed:

 

 

System Specs:

 

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570

GPU: VTX3D X-Edition 2GB Radeon HD 7870 OC 1100MHz

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-H61M-S2PV (Rev 2.1)

RAM: Single Stick - Kingston 8GB DDR3 1333mhz

PSU: 650W CiT ATX Power Supply

ODD: LiteOn iHas-524D

Case: Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced

Cooler: Cooler Master - Hyper 212 Evo

OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64

-

 

Think i've covered enough specs there? I made a previous topic but didn't know how to reply so i made this one, many thanks.

 03/27/2013 04:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Overclocker

Posts: 607
Joined: 10/30/2009

CPU/GPU temperatures?

If CPU/Ram overclock make sure voltages are stable!

 



-------------------------



GA 990FXA-UD3v3
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1600 HyperX
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SATA3 WD Blue / 1x SSHD ST1000DX001 / 1x STBV2000300
SeaSonic 650W
Win7x64

 03/27/2013 04:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MxM Cheater
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/25/2013

CPU Temps at Idle: 24-30

While Playing Games: 35-48

GPU Temps: Idle 32-35

While Playing Games: 40-60

 

And i don't overclock anything. Everything at stock settings.

 03/27/2013 06:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Do the usual stuff. Try the card in another computer with another type of motherboard. If the issue persists, RMA the card. If not, look for a fix for the motherboard (BIOS update etc.).



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/28/2013 02:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Magnianhk
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/28/2013

A lot of users are experiencing this same problem, although I believe most of them are trying to overclock the card. 

For me, if I try to overclock an XFX Core Edition 7870 my computer blue screens. 

Do some searching on Google -- swapping the card with another motherboard is not the issue, it's either a flaw in the 7870 architecture or a problem with the drivers.

 03/28/2013 04:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Magnianhk A lot of users are experiencing this same problem [...] it's either a flaw in the 7870 architecture or a problem with the drivers.

 

You sure?

https://www.google.com/search?safe=off&site=&q=Display+Driver+NVIDIA+Windows+Kernel+Mode+Driver.+Version+stopped+responding+and+has+successfully+recovered



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
85338 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.