Topic Title: Gigabyte GV-R797TO-3GD not supported
Topic Summary: no driver support for Gigabyte GV-R797TO-3GD card
Created On: 03/28/2013 11:08 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/28/2013 11:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eacmen
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/28/2013

All latest downloads of the Catalyst drivers (for Windows and Linux) do not support the latest Gigabyte GV-R797TO-3GD card (a Radeon 7970 card).  Even the driver downloads directly from Gigabyte require modifying the inf file to get them to install.

I have been able to get the 13.1 Linux driver installed and it works, but none of the ATI utilities (e.g. aticonfig) do not work, they just report "No supported adapters detected".  

Will there be support fo this card in a coming release?

The following is the verbose output from lspci on Linux:

 

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Tahiti [1002:6790] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])

Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx+

Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- SERR-

Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes

Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 51

Region 0: Memory at e8000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=128M]

Region 2: Memory at f7e00000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256K]

Region 4: I/O ports at e000 [size=256]

Expansion ROM at f7e40000 [disabled] [size=128K]

Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3

Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold-)

Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-

Capabilities: [58] Express (v2) Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00

DevCap: MaxPayload 256 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s <4us, L1 unlimited

ExtTag+ AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE+ FLReset-

DevCtl: Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-

RlxdOrd- ExtTag+ PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop+

MaxPayload 256 bytes, MaxReadReq 512 bytes

DevSta: CorrErr- UncorrErr- FatalErr- UnsuppReq- AuxPwr- TransPend-

LnkCap: Port #0, Speed 8GT/s, Width x16, ASPM L0s L1, Latency L0 <64ns, L1 <1us

ClockPM- Surprise- LLActRep- BwNot-

LnkCtl: ASPM Disabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- Retrain- CommClk+

ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-

LnkSta: Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x16, TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-

DevCap2: Completion Timeout: Not Supported, TimeoutDis-

DevCtl2: Completion Timeout: 50us to 50ms, TimeoutDis-

LnkCtl2: Target Link Speed: 8GT/s, EnterCompliance- SpeedDis-, Selectable De-emphasis: -6dB

Transmit Margin: Normal Operating Range, EnterModifiedCompliance- ComplianceSOS-

Compliance De-emphasis: -6dB

LnkSta2: Current De-emphasis Level: -3.5dB, EqualizationComplete+, EqualizationPhase1+

EqualizationPhase2+, EqualizationPhase3+, LinkEqualizationRequest-

Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+

Address: 00000000fee003b8  Data: 0000

Capabilities: [100 v1] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010

Capabilities: [150 v2] Advanced Error Reporting

UESta: DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-

UEMsk: DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-

UESvrt: DLP+ SDES+ TLP- FCP+ CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF+ MalfTLP+ ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-

CESta: RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr+

CEMsk: RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr+

AERCap: First Error Pointer: 00, GenCap+ CGenEn- ChkCap+ ChkEn-

Capabilities: [270 v1] #19

Kernel driver in use: fglrx_pci

 

 03/28/2013 11:28 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12365
Joined: 04/17/2008

Shoot an email to Gigabyte and ask them what the problem is. I've a feeling a VBIOS update will be needed, as the 7970 has been around for quite some time.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/29/2013 04:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7218
Joined: 11/13/2009

Is this the driver you used?

 

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst13-3LINBetaDriver.aspx



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/29/2013 09:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eacmen
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/28/2013

Yes, I tried both the 13.3 Beta and the 13.1 Stable.

Statistics
84862 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.