Topic Title: Radeon 7770 only boots in safe mode... WHY!?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/01/2013 05:55 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/01/2013 05:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
themankymoo
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/01/2013

Hi all,

I bought a Sapphire Radeon 7770 1GB today after using a geforce 210 for some time. When installing it, I followed the usual procedure and uninstalled my old Nvidia drivers, then swapped the graphics cards. 

The issue is, the new graphics card won't get past the loading screen on windows (it just turns black), so it only works on safe mode. 

Naturally, I thought it was a driver issue, beause I hadn't installed drivers for it yet... so I installed Catalyst and ran it, only to find that it requires a "detection driver" to see what card I have installed. This leaves me in a bit of a pickle, so to speak... as I now have a graphics card that requires drivers to install its drivers, but I cant use them because I can only boot in safe mode.

Any ideas why this is?

-----ALSO-----

My specs are: AMD athlon 7550 2.0Ghz

2GB RAM

200W PSU (which i've been told shouldnt be a problem)

Windows 7

 04/01/2013 06:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6086
Joined: 11/13/2009

Hi...I normally don't recomend violence, but whoever told you that a 200 watt power supply will suffice for a graphics card that has a 450 watt minimum requirement should have a accident.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/01/2013 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 576
Joined: 08/28/2012

That power supply would probably be able to run the 7770 on its own just fine... just not in addition to the rest of the machine.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 04/02/2013 02:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4267
Joined: 12/27/2008

To talk a bit about the matter at hand as well:

The fact that you can boot into safe mode shows that the hardware is fine, you have a software issue. This detection driver you mention is not something you have to install, it's built into the catalyst installer and runs automatically when you install the drivers.

Things to try:

1. Boot into safe mode.

2. Install the display driver only through device manager.

3. Boot into normal mode.

4. Install the whole package on top of it.

I may or may not work, but worth a try. Probably it won't as your system seems to have issues. I'd backup my data and resinstall the OS if I were you.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 04/03/2013 05:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ryanhall85
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/03/2011

I don't think the safe-mode issue you're having is related directly to the graphics card. You could be having a graphics driver issue. In which case, you need to boot in safe mode, remove whatever previous graphics drivers yoyu may have had installed and install the latest stable driver for your card.

You also have a PSU issue. You should not be running that graphics card with a 200W PSU (I don't know who told you otherwise, but they were mistaken). It may run temporarily, but it will stress the PSU beyond its intended operating range and it will cause problems.


Before purchasing any equipment, be sure to do the due dilligence of a quick Google search for compatability or minimum  requirements. In this situation, doing so, would have yielded multiple results, all indicating a PSU requirement of much greater then 200W. In fact the 2nd link takes you to the Radeon HD 7770 information page. Upon arriving there, you are presented with a link to the "System Requiements" section. (Link below) This will tell you that there is a minimum requirement of a 500W PSU, with 600W recommended.

http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/7000/7770/pages/radeon-7770.aspx#3

I hope this helps.



-------------------------

Motherboard: Asus M5A97LE R2 | CPU: AMD PileDriver FX-6300 Black Ed. @4.1GHz | Cooling: CoolerMaster Hyper212+ | RAM: 8GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3 @1600MHz | GPU: XFX Radeon HD 7850 DD | Display: Asus VH242H | PSU: OCZ GameXStream 850W | OS: Dual-Boot Windows 7 Pro X64 / Linux Mint MATE 12.04 X64

Statistics
80952 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.