Topic Title: GPU/Dual Monitor Problems
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/02/2013 10:05 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/02/2013 10:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DSB
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/02/2013

Recently i formated and reloaded windows/drivers. After i did this when i try to watch a show at the same time as play a game on the other monitor, the show will play very choppy, unwatchable.

 

I have reloaded again with all drivers from disks and tried drivers from websites, nothing will get rid of this problem. I have a SabertoothZ77 motherboard, HD7970, i7-3770k, 16g RAM, and a SSD. The system never had any problems playing a game with numerous things going on.

 

I have no clue what is different from my old setup to now, should be nothing at all. The only thing that has changed is that i installed a Solid State Drive and reloaded windows.

 

Any and all help would be great. Having two monitors is plain useless if computer will not run them both correctly.



-------------------------
 04/02/2013 10:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4269
Joined: 12/27/2008

Playing games and playing (accelerated) videos requires different clock speeds from the video card. Turn off GPU acceleration in your player/codec, and it'll play the video fine.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 04/02/2013 11:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DSB
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/02/2013

Sorry for movice answer but VLC has no option to do that from what i can see, and silverlight on netflix.com i can find no way to configure that. What is odd is that no player had any problem with any game until i did this reload. Now not one of the players will work with any game. Complete opposite.



-------------------------
 04/02/2013 11:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DSB
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/02/2013

Well,

 

I am not sure why but i was reading some things and decided to finally download all available updates for windows. I checked, downloaded installled, check again, found more, repeated again and now it works fine. Doesnt make any sense to me but maybe their was a fix with windows 8.

 

Thank you for your time Eydee



-------------------------
Statistics
80961 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.