Topic Title: Crashing With Catalyst 13.1 Driver update
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/04/2013 04:44 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/04/2013 04:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Homey1234
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

I have updated my driver to 13.1 and I always seem to get a BSOD when I restart my cpu. The only driver that seems to work is 12.8. Anything later and I get a BSOD. Even tried reformatting my hard drive to do a virgin install and still the same issue. I have updated my MB BIOS to the latest update but it did not solve the problem. Also tried just installing only the display driver but still same problem. I am running 2 Sapphire HD 5870 in Crossfire on a Asus Crosshair III Formula motherboard with Windows 7 64bit.  Is this a problem that AMD is aware of? Will it be fixed?

 04/04/2013 04:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4861
Joined: 12/27/2008

Many people reported issues with CF and 13.1. Try 13.3 beta or stick to 12.8 until the next whql release.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/04/2013 05:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Homey1234
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

I have tried 13.3beta and still the same problem. In what future version will this problem be fixed, is what im wondering?

 04/04/2013 08:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4861
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Homey1234 I have tried 13.3beta and still the same problem. In what future version will this problem be fixed, is what im wondering?

 

Let me get my magic orb, and I'll tell you.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/04/2013 02:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Homey1234
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee
Originally posted by: Homey1234 I have tried 13.3beta and still the same problem. In what future version will this problem be fixed, is what im wondering?

 

Let me get my magic orb, and I'll tell you.

Do you even work for AMD? Or you just trolling these forums?

 04/08/2013 01:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Homey1234
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

Is anyone else having this problem?

 04/08/2013 05:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Cookie Monster

Posts: 410
Joined: 08/21/2011

Have a read through of "How-To & FAQ's.May be some info there(i.e.o/s fully updated,.net update,delete old drivers,etc...).



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 

 04/08/2013 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Homey1234
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

I checked the "FAQ" and followed the .NET solution assuming that was the problem. But, Installed 13.1 and still get the BSOD on startup. The Blue screen states "IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL" if that means anything to you guys. Am I having a rare problem? Is my GPUS capped at catalyst 12.8?

 04/09/2013 04:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7173
Joined: 11/13/2009

Did you follow the tut on a "Clean install" after you installed the netframeworks?  http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162444&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/09/2013 04:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4861
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Homey1234

 

Do you even work for AMD? Or you just trolling these forums?

 

How many people do you think works for AMD on a peer-to-peer community forum? Also since when is telling no one knows trolling?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/09/2013 01:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Homey1234
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee
Originally posted by: Homey1234

 

 

 

Do you even work for AMD? Or you just trolling these forums?

 

 

 

 

How many people do you think works for AMD on a peer-to-peer community forum? Also since when is telling no one knows trolling?

 

People mod this forum and employees do read the problems with their cards. Its only good business. This is the AMD forum afterall. Did you say no one knows? Or did you say some sh!t about a magic orb? If you cant help someone with a question, then just say you cant help. Dont be a smart ass about it.

 04/10/2013 08:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Homey1234
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

Originally posted by: stumped Did you follow the tut on a "Clean install" after you installed the netframeworks?  http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162444&enterthread=y

 

Yes I did the clean install after the installation but, still no success. I noticed my CCC doesnt seem to work either. I think the .Net is the problem but the solutions provided have not worked.

 04/11/2013 11:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wilco
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/11/2013

I've had all kinds of trouble with 13.1 kept making Vegas Pro12 crash.

Was told to install earlier version of CCC, started with 11.2 (didn't work) then 11.8 (didn't work) then eventually back to 13.1 after doing a complete and thorough uninstall of all AMD software. Now works normally. Took 2 days to fix it all though.

 04/12/2013 02:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Cookie Monster

Posts: 410
Joined: 08/21/2011

So,have you websearched the irql...................................,you may find a solution(one is to go back to last known good configuration).Then if all good,try new instals(worked for me in the past).



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 

 04/12/2013 12:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Homey1234
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

I have searched irql and the two main solutions i have read was to clean my registry and test my ram. I have done both and still get the BSOD on startup with Catalyst 13.1. I have made every .NET update possible. Clean installs, even reformatted hard drive and virgin installed. Only catalyst 12.8 seems to work. Even made a report with AMD about this and no reply. Too bad because ive been a loyal customer of ATI/AMD since my first ATI Rage video card. Maybe I should give Nvidia a shot.

 04/24/2013 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Homey1234
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 04/04/2013

Just updated my driver to 13.4 and still get the BSOD on startup. Im guessing that ATI/AMD isnt going to find a solution to this problem anytime soon. Am I the only one having this kind of problem?

Statistics
84716 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.