Topic Title: screen standby issues since Radeon HD 7870 (blank screen with mouse cursor)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/10/2013 08:58 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/10/2013 08:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
anyoneelse
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/18/2011

Hello,

since i upgraded from my previous Radeon to a Asus Radeon HD 7870 my monitor fails to remain in standby mode properly.

The time comes, the screen turns off but after a few seconds it turns on again, showing a blackscreen with the mouse cursor in the middle. After the standby timeout it turns off again, few seconds later on with blackscreen and so on..

Could you please look into it if this is caused by the Catalyst driver in combination with this card. This is the only real thing i changed since experiencing this. 

 04/10/2013 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7273
Joined: 11/13/2009

Go to your power plan (hopefully set at performance) and choose 'advanced options'. Check out all the options you have there.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/10/2013 09:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
anyoneelse
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/18/2011

Actually i was always running it at "balanced".

 04/10/2013 09:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7273
Joined: 11/13/2009

Still...adjust the advanced settings.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/10/2013 09:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
anyoneelse
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/18/2011

All is fine there, no checkmark at the "exit standby with a black screen every 40 seconds" setting.

I'm going to test with the performance setting, but balanced worked fine with the older Radeon and i didnt change anything in settings.

 

 04/10/2013 10:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7273
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: anyoneelse All is fine there, no checkmark at the "exit standby with a black screen every 40 seconds" setting.

I'm going to test with the performance setting, but balanced worked fine with the older Radeon and i didnt change anything in settings.

 

I don't have that particular setting..but I do have settings for sleep, pci express, processor power management, display, usb settings, all of which can be adjusted. All these settings have to do with saving electricity...so if you don't override the default then the computer starts shutting down/placing in stand-bye/reducing power certain processes. Looking at them does no good...open each one and make your adjustments.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/10/2013 10:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
anyoneelse
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/18/2011

What adjustments would that be? Since there is obviously no "wake up with black screen and annoy your user option" its rather pointless to experiment with options that dont have anything to do with screen standby, especially since i never changed anything there .

Unless you have a valid idea what could result in my described behavior i wont be ramdomly switching everything non related to see if that helps.

 04/11/2013 05:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sakis33
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/29/2012

Have exactly the same issue with Asus 7850 CUII monitor goes blank and after while on again.

 04/12/2013 05:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
anyoneelse
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/18/2011

No difference with the performance setting.

 05/03/2013 06:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
anyoneelse
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/18/2011

13.4 fixed it, thanks. Could have mentioned it in the changelog though.

 

Only downside with 13.4 i get system freezes, so i'm back to 13.1 for now. Or its Norton Internet Security 2013. That and the AMD drivers are the only thing that changed.

 05/03/2013 06:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: anyoneelse 14.4 fixed it, thanks. Could have mentioned it in the changelog though.

 

Did you just time travel to tell us?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
86399 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.