Topic Title: windows xp 32 bit driver for hd7790 needed please
Topic Summary: windows xp 32 bit driver for hd7790 needed please
Created On: 05/02/2013 11:12 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/02/2013 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
genie007
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/02/2013

 hi all

Irecently purchased a hd7790.

My office pc is running windows xp. 

I havesearched in vain for a win xp driver.

Could AMD please post a driver for win xp

Thank you

 05/02/2013 04:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

1. Why create a second thread?

2. Why ask the community instead of AMD?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 05/02/2013 07:14 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12550
Joined: 04/17/2008

3. Why use a modern high performance mainstream card with a 12 year old OS when Windows 7 costs less than the price of that card?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/06/2013 10:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Peon

Posts: 34
Joined: 12/03/2009

Why be ignorant with that kind of comment, there are alot of games that don't work on systems newer than Windows XP, anything that has starforce for instance, some older Win 98 games like No One Lives Forever, Alpha Centuri, ect ect don't work on newer OS's without headaches or rebuying it repackaged for a few of them. Why can't AMD create a working driver for people to use there graphics cards on.

-------------------------

AMD FX6300 -- ASROCK 970 Extreme4 -- Diamond HD7790 -- 16gb Patriot DDR3 1600 -- 128gb Sandisk SSD -- 2tb WD Black


AMD Athlon 64 3200 -- MSI K8N Neo FSR -- Saphire X850Pro -- 2gb DDR400 -- Seagate 500GB


AMD Athlon XP 3200 -- ECS KT600A -- PNY Geforce 6600 -- 2gb DDR333 -- WD 80gb 


Intel Pentium 4 3.2 -- ECS 845GC -- Diamond 9700Pro -- 1gb DDR333 -- WD 80gb

 10/06/2013 11:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Older games should work fine with older graphics cards. Newer cards are really designed for those O/S that have shelf life left. This is not a smart a** comment as I still use XP as VM Guest O/S to play older games myself. When Microsoft decided to kill XP off why is that other vendors problem. Upgrade to Windows 7, and for those older games you use, get  some sort of Virtualization software to use XP in.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 10/06/2013 11:42 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12550
Joined: 04/17/2008

I prefer a "legacy PC" with Windows 98/XP dual boot and an inexpensive KVM switch, that way I can play my DOS games without DOSBOX.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/06/2013 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Peon

Posts: 34
Joined: 12/03/2009

some of the last XP games that don't work on Modern OS's would include Brothers in Arms Earned in Blood, Road to Hill 30, ect anything with starforce, but it still needs at a minimum for playability an AThlon 64 and a 6800GT, thats old but not that old. Some other games such as Medal of Honor Pacific Assault, Combat Flight Simulator 3, ect aswell don't work or work well on anything newer than XP but these games also required the penacle of hardware from 2005 to run well enough to enjoy. I have an Atlhon XP box setup that I do run older games on, but some of them don't run well at all. Here is the bigger issue, AMD released 13.4 for XP but for some reason left off 7790 support, while Vista/7/8 13.4 has 7790 support, not only that but Intel and Nvidia still support Windows XP, amd is the only vendor to just abandon it, that looks like real poor bussiness sense to me.

-------------------------

AMD FX6300 -- ASROCK 970 Extreme4 -- Diamond HD7790 -- 16gb Patriot DDR3 1600 -- 128gb Sandisk SSD -- 2tb WD Black


AMD Athlon 64 3200 -- MSI K8N Neo FSR -- Saphire X850Pro -- 2gb DDR400 -- Seagate 500GB


AMD Athlon XP 3200 -- ECS KT600A -- PNY Geforce 6600 -- 2gb DDR333 -- WD 80gb 


Intel Pentium 4 3.2 -- ECS 845GC -- Diamond 9700Pro -- 1gb DDR333 -- WD 80gb

Statistics
85747 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.