Topic Title: Cannot obtain 2560x1440 with Radeon 6800 and VP2770-LED
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/03/2013 11:14 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/03/2013 11:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deepinsight
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/03/2013

I've just invested in a Viewsonic VP2770-LED which has a native resolution of 2560x1440 @ 75Hz. I'm using this on win7 64 bit systyem with an AMD Radeon 6800 HD card running driver version 12.104.0.0000.

I've installed the Viewsonic driver 1.5.1.0 - latest for the screen and have only this screen on the system.

Although the Catalyst Control centre states the screen has 2560x1440 @ 75Hz capability the highest resolution offered for the desktop is 1920 x 1080 @ 60Hz and to be honest at this res it looks worse that the 2365 it is to replace :-((

 

Any ideas how I can obtain the required res????

 

 05/03/2013 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
spyre
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 9121
Joined: 09/14/2007

User error, the monitor manual shows on page 20 that 75Hz is not supported at the maximum resoultion

http://www1.viewsonic.com/assets/143/26752.pdf

The CCC only shows the maximum refreshrate not the maximum refreshrate at the maximum resolution.

On that monitor 75Hz is only available at 1400 x 900 or lower.

 05/04/2013 04:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deepinsight
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/03/2013

OK, got it. Spyre is quite right in that 60hz is the supported refresh rate at a resolution of 2560x1440, trouble was that i couldn't get that resolution to select.

Solution was to use the Dual Link cable in the boards socket that supports dual-link DVI. There are two DVI sockets on the 6850 card and only the socket in line with the HDMI and other sockets supports dual-link DVI !

Bingo - now display now runs at 60Hz 2560x1440 and look ssweeet !!

Thanks to Power Colour for providing an on-line copy of the 6850's manual here:

http://www.power-color.com/Manual/090106/Radeon_HD_6800_Series_ENG.pdf 

 

 09/10/2014 07:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Explorateur
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/10/2014

Thanks for the thread. I just picked up the same monitor and had the same issues. I never would have figured it out without this thread!

Initially when I swapped spots on the card it didnt work still but it took a few minutes to figure it out and then I was able to change the resolution.

thanks for the help !

Statistics
86516 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.