Topic Title: CCC Blue screen
Topic Summary: Install error
Created On: 05/05/2013 02:03 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/05/2013 02:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grlarshh
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/05/2013

I just formated my pc and when i try to install Catalyst Control Center I get a Blue screen almost right away, tried uninstalling and reinstalling everything a few times, even formated pc again a few times both 32/64 and nothing.

Drivers will install fine if i install on its own, blue screen occurs only when i try to install CCC

Running Win7 32bit

System info:

Dell XPS 420

Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 DUO CPU E6850 @3.00 GHz 2.99 GHz

Ram 3.00 Gb

Radeon HD 6850

 



Edited: 05/05/2013 at 02:34 PM by grlarshh
 05/05/2013 02:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6091
Joined: 11/13/2009

Check 1. Windows update for 'suggested' downloads 2. your netframeworks version > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162109&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/05/2013 02:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grlarshh
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/05/2013

Originally posted by: stumped Check 1. Windows update for 'suggested' downloads 2. your netframeworks version > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162109&enterthread=y

Graphic card driver will install fine, its Catalyst control center im having a problem with, i did install Netframework 4.5, all the windows updates and still no luck, that is why i now try the forums.

 05/05/2013 02:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6091
Joined: 11/13/2009

You didn't mention the OS...XP,Win7 or Win8? Try a clean install > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162444&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/05/2013 02:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grlarshh
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/05/2013

Sry forgot that...just a note i tried in both 32 and 64 bits...

i tried doing those steps many times already, i get blue screen everytime i try to install

 05/05/2013 03:06 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4273
Joined: 12/27/2008

Either the card is broken or the motherboard. Maybe they're just incompatible. Try the card in another computer. If it doesn't work, RMA it. If it does, contact Dell support and ask for help.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 05/05/2013 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grlarshh
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/05/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee Either the card is broken or the motherboard. Maybe they're just incompatible. Try the card in another computer. If it doesn't work, RMA it. If it does, contact Dell support and ask for help.

 

Will try it on another computer, card is about 2-3 years old and catalyst worked fine b4, started having this blue screen problem about a year ago... Funny thing is that i formated computer about 2 weeks ago and everything installed fine, but for some reason computer wouldnt start yesterday, system repair found no erros and i couldnt revert to any restore point, so i had to re-format, and started having blue screen problem again

 05/05/2013 03:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grlarshh
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/05/2013

NVM It finally worked, thnx alot for the replies guys

Statistics
80973 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.