Topic Title: Installing OpenGL Drivers without installing display drivers
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/12/2013 02:44 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/12/2013 02:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Morgy
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/12/2013

Hello,I'm having big trouble with my Radeon HD 4890 and Windows 8.Anyway, I found the source of the issue.It's the official AMD display driver. (Tried all of them from 12.6 to 13.4)If I uninstall the AMD drivers, Windows 8 automatically uses Microsoft Drivers which just work perfectly.But, the Logitech Gaming Software doesn't work anymore. (LoadLibrary failed with error 126: Das angegebene Modul wurde nicht gefunden.)This error message clearly says that the OpenGL drivers are missing.They are included in the AMD Catalyst Software Suite, of course, but I can't install them without installing the display drivers also.So is there a possibility to just install the OpenGL drivers?I guess my system would work perfectly with the Microsoft display drivers and OpenGL drivers.Whatever the exact problem with the AMD display driver is, but it's freaking annoying and no one can find a solution for that. By the way, after deinstalling the full Catalyst package, Win8 uses it's display drivers and the OpenGL driver is still installed (Logitech Gaming something still works then).. but it tells me to reboot my system and after the reboot the drivers are gone completely.This all might sound weird but I still hope that someone is able to help me.
 06/12/2013 03:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Did you plug it in?



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 06/12/2013 07:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I tell you what I'd try. It can f****** up your system, so do it only at your own risk.

1. Rip the built-in drivers from windows 8.

2. Download and extract 13.4 legacy.

3. Overwrite files in 13.4 with the ones ripped from the OS. Leave config and inf files intact.

4. Disable driver signature enforcement.

5. Try installing the drivers.

This *may* work in a sense that you'll have the built-in drivers and opengl as well. CCC/VECC won't work, don't even bother installing it. Note, that this is theory only, I haven't actually tried it.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/12/2013 07:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Morgy
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/12/2013

Oh my..That sounds pretty strange.There must be another way, because after the deinstallation (before reboot) everything works just fine.The system uses it's Microsoft display drivers and OpenGL seems to be installed too.I thought I could save all the .dll files and kinda restore them after reboot.The problem is, .. Win8 acts pretty weird using the AMD drivers. So many apps don't work anymore then and the modern-ui somethimes doesn't work at all.I've been to so many forums and opened up so many microsoft community threads about that but none of them helped.It must be an issue with the AMD display driver, somehow. (I also reportet that "bug", but no response yet)
 06/13/2013 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

The main problem is that your card is not supported under win8, so getting official help is highly unlikely.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
85425 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.