Topic Title: Radeon 7790 GPU Core Clock stuck at 300MHz
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/16/2013 11:47 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/16/2013 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
niccolo83
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/16/2013

Generally what happens with my GPU is that after a power loss or restarting, the GPU Core Clock will be stuck at 300MHz. Memory clock is fine. But this leads to poor performance in games (less than 20fps, if not 10). If I reinstall a driver (7790 specific, 13.4, or beta) after using the AMD driver uninistall utility it will clock properly for one more session. Reflashing the bios will fix it for one more session as well. But all it takes is restarting to mess everything up again. I don't think it has to do with overheating either; I can restart after playing a game or just doing light desktop stuff -- same result.  

I have been doing a lot of investigating and it seems like a lot of other people are having problems with this card based on what I've read on at least two other message boards. Apparently it has to do with the power states? Not sure but I think that's a safe bet. Either way I think this needs to be addressed. Seems to be too widespread of a problem with the 7790 GPU. Any ideas on how to resolve this?



-------------------------

Mobo: MSI 970A-G46
CPU: AMD FX 6300 @ stock
RAM: Crucial 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
GPU: Diamond Radeon HD 7790 (7790PE51G)
Power Supply: Seasonic M12 SS-500HM 500W
OS: MS Windows 7 x64

 06/16/2013 12:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4843
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: niccolo83 Either way I think this needs to be addressed. Seems to be too widespread of a problem with the 7790 GPU. Any ideas on how to resolve this?

 

RMA maybe?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/16/2013 12:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
niccolo83
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/16/2013

I don't think it is hardware specific as I can play games for 4+ hours prior to restarting with zero issues whatsoever. If there was an issue with the card I would think something would have happened by now (frequent crashing within games for example). The only time a game ever crashed on me was when I was running the beta drivers, and it only occurred once. I have since then been using stable drivers and consistently tweak settings etc. and game for hours with no issues. It's only when I restart when the core clock gets stuck at 300.

 



-------------------------

Mobo: MSI 970A-G46
CPU: AMD FX 6300 @ stock
RAM: Crucial 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
GPU: Diamond Radeon HD 7790 (7790PE51G)
Power Supply: Seasonic M12 SS-500HM 500W
OS: MS Windows 7 x64

 06/16/2013 12:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4843
Joined: 12/27/2008

Waiting for driver/BIOS update: 6-24 months (it's AMD)

Taking the card back to the shop and grabbing another one: 30 minutes.

Your choice...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/16/2013 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
niccolo83
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/16/2013

I bought it online so I'd have to send it back and I'm without another discrete GPU right now.

Also I'm confused as to how a new card would fix this if you are saying this is driver/BIOS related. Do you mean get something other than a 7790? Otherwise I'd be in the same boat.



-------------------------

Mobo: MSI 970A-G46
CPU: AMD FX 6300 @ stock
RAM: Crucial 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
GPU: Diamond Radeon HD 7790 (7790PE51G)
Power Supply: Seasonic M12 SS-500HM 500W
OS: MS Windows 7 x64

 06/16/2013 01:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4843
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: niccolo83 Do you mean get something other than a 7790?

Of course I meant that.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/16/2013 01:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
niccolo83
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/16/2013

Yeah I could do that but I have already sent in a rebate and got free games with it so that could be problematique. I am satisfied with this card's performance when it works and am hoping there is a way to resolve this.



-------------------------

Mobo: MSI 970A-G46
CPU: AMD FX 6300 @ stock
RAM: Crucial 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
GPU: Diamond Radeon HD 7790 (7790PE51G)
Power Supply: Seasonic M12 SS-500HM 500W
OS: MS Windows 7 x64

Statistics
84090 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.