Topic Title: Ati Driver updates are messing up
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/24/2013 03:19 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/24/2013 03:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Semirotta
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 04/08/2013

I have program downloaded from AMD home page which is supposed to download and update my drivers.

(amddriverdownloader.exe)

 

This is what it shows before downloading:

13-4_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql.exe

Radeon HD 7xxx Series PCIe

Windows 7 64-bit

 

134.57 MB

 

After i download and install it , i can download and install it again... When the program updates it does the regular black screen etc. testing so it DOES something but it just aint keeping the update or something...

Here is Driver install report after it is done:
I AM SORRY BUT THIS IS IN FINNISH LANGUAGE

http://pastebin.com/TyFPS8n8

But it says everything was installed succesfully... Also my FC3 started to lag while recording after this, normally i record in 40 fps and now it drops randomly to 20-30. Thank you AMD for breaking my games!

What to do?? 



-------------------------

http://i48.tinypic.com/rw8d9c.gif



Edited: 06/24/2013 at 04:06 AM by Semirotta
 06/24/2013 04:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4878
Joined: 12/27/2008

You forgot to explain what the problem is. Being able to install the same version on top of itself is not a bug and not a problem. If your drivers get corrupted, that's a way to fix them.

Recording depends on so many things. You didn't even provide any details.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/24/2013 05:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Semirotta
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 04/08/2013

Could you tell me what details you need?

I have installed the newest driver updates now 4 times and I just keep installing them again and again, it wont stay.

 

Computer specs:

Intel core i7-3770K 3.50GHz 4-cores (8 Threads)

8GB DDR3 RAM

Directx 11

Windows 7 64-bit

Ati Radeon Hd 7950


Need anything else? 



-------------------------

http://i48.tinypic.com/rw8d9c.gif

 06/24/2013 06:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4878
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Semirotta it wont stay.

Could you elaborate?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/24/2013 07:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Semirotta
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 04/08/2013

I dont quite understand what you mean with "elaborate" but like i said, i launch the updater, it tells me there is downloadable update which i will download and then install, during installation it flickers the screen into black then back to normal screen which indicates it does something / updates.

After everything is done, it gives me the raport of the update and everywhere says "installed succesfully" and there are no error messages at all. 



-------------------------

http://i48.tinypic.com/rw8d9c.gif

 06/24/2013 08:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4878
Joined: 12/27/2008

So why do you think it's not installed then? Have you checked driver file versions in device manager? I guess not.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/24/2013 09:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Semirotta
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 04/08/2013

I know it's not installed because it always keeps offering me the same update (13-4_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql.exe) and i've never before been able to install new update if there is none... This keeps letting me "update" all the time the same thing again and again, dont you think there is something wrong?...



-------------------------

http://i48.tinypic.com/rw8d9c.gif

 06/24/2013 11:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4878
Joined: 12/27/2008

It can be a bug in the downloader, a bug with the server, an incorrect version entry in the inf file etc. Doesn't mean a thing.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/24/2013 11:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Semirotta
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 04/08/2013

Ok, well i re-downloaded the downloader program and it still does the same, it says it has installed the newest drivers etc. but i still can download and install them again. I truly have never encountered this before.



-------------------------

http://i48.tinypic.com/rw8d9c.gif

 06/24/2013 03:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Perhaps you could NOT use the updater...do the cleaning and install of drivers as recommended...

 

AMD Cleanup Utility

Driver Fusion Utility

Install new drivers

Check Device Manager or Information/Software Tab in Catalyst Control Center to verify version installed



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 06/24/2013 03:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Semirotta
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 04/08/2013

I have no idea how to do that.



-------------------------

http://i48.tinypic.com/rw8d9c.gif

 06/24/2013 03:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7231
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Semirotta I have no idea how to do that.

Look here



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/24/2013 06:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Driver Fusion replaces Driver Sweeper...



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 06/24/2013 07:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7231
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: UcouldBrong Driver Fusion replaces Driver Sweeper...

To get the 'full' version, that deletes it all, you have to pay for it. The version (3.2.0) I link to has everything you need for AMD removal, it just doesn't have all the extra programs (for deletion) that Driver Fusion has.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 06/24/2013 at 08:39 PM by stumped
 06/25/2013 01:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

The free Driver Fusion has all you need unless you wish to delete locked files in the OS for example...



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 06/25/2013 04:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Semirotta
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 04/08/2013

I am not paying for anything...

I downloaded Driver Fusion thingie, removed all AMD driver stuff, restarted computer (it did not remove the log stuff like you guys said but its fine i believe), when computer was restarted the resolution was like 800x600 and thats when i installed from catalyst center the newest drivers, restarted computer and now its normal again. BUT after the installation it said:

Installation complete.

(During installation, warnings occurred).

Look information from the log. 

 

I checked the log, there was no warning messages... I dont know why it said that..

And i can still "update" from the catalyst center even though i have already the newest ones to use, still offers the same updates and when i look the list that it would update: every single target says that i have it installed and up to date so i think the program just bugs and allows me to install them again and again all the time even though i have them up to date.



-------------------------

http://i48.tinypic.com/rw8d9c.gif



Edited: 06/25/2013 at 05:03 AM by Semirotta
 06/25/2013 07:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Master Looter

Posts: 312
Joined: 10/14/2011

Turn off the auto updater in CCC. If you need to update becuase of some issues do it manually.

-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 1333/ Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Ult.


 

 06/25/2013 10:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4878
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Semirotta During installation, warnings occurred

So they tricked you too to brick your system. Never use these driver cleaners/sweepers/fusions/etc., unless you have a system which cannot be recovered otherwise.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/25/2013 01:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Semirotta
Peon

Posts: 46
Joined: 04/08/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee
Originally posted by: Semirotta During installation, warnings occurred

 

So they tricked you too to brick your system. Never use these driver cleaners/sweepers/fusions/etc., unless you have a system which cannot be recovered otherwise.

 

Well i installed them again and no errors during that time and there really was no errors. Also past couple of days FC3 has had fps drops while recording , first 2 episodes i was able to record full qualities with no issues, now the game lags and freezes randomly i do not understand. I sent message to ubisoft support about this though...



-------------------------

http://i48.tinypic.com/rw8d9c.gif

 06/26/2013 01:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

*Sometimes* a newer driver doen't work quite as well as the older version did on a particular game or application.  Some enthusiasts always use the latest beta....I saw no benefit from the newest beta released so did not install it.

If you get a "warning"...repeat the procedure (tedious for sure) until no warning is given.

Sometimes there are remnants of the old drivers OR the new drivers did not install properly.

 

Your choice to listen to those that tell you not to use a very functional tool...



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

Statistics
84905 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.