Topic Title: Installation ruined drivers
Topic Summary: claimed to "work" the video process may or may not have destroyed my driver
Created On: 07/03/2013 03:38 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/03/2013 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StoleYourSweetroll
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/03/2013

I have (or should I say had) and ATI mobility radeon HD 5730. Since it was out of date, I tried to update it using the video process from this link. However, during the uninstall process the screen blacked, messed up the aero program for windows 7, and resized. I figured it was normal since it was expressed in the 4th video, but during the install nothing changed and I was stuck with an 800x600 resolution and a broken aero program.

I then proceded to try and find a solution to aero and it said "drivers need to be updated" which is weird since I just updated it. I then proceded to use the same process to only find out that, on the device manager step in the first video, there wasn't a radeon product there. In fact, the driver was replaced with "Standard VGA Graphics driver". Not only this, but the catalyst control center menu is gone from when I right click on the desktop. After several restarts and re-installs, the problem still persists.

So I need advice from a more experienced user. What is the fix?

 07/03/2013 04:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

Please read the sticky "Read Before Posting".
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=160417&enterthread=y

 

To make it easier to assist you please supply the following:
            ( Please don't paste dxdiag )

1. Processor (I5-xxxx, A10-xxxx, etc)
2. Graphics card (HD6970, HD4850, Mobility, etc)
3. OS (Win7, Win8, WinXP, 32 or 64bit, etc)
4. Driver version (13.2, 12.10, etc)
5. Power Supply..list make and model and wattage
6. RAM
7. Did your computer come with the OS and Graphics card you have now?
8. Monitor resolution (native), connected by (DVI, HDMI, etc)


If this is a LAPTOP, list your laptop model number and please post in the correct forum...that would be the laptop forum   http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=448&entercat=y


If your issue is resolved, be a helpful forum user and report back the steps that you used. It will help other users.

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 07/03/2013 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13078
Joined: 04/17/2008

What is the fix?


Use System Restore to go back before you installed the driver and leave it alone.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
88948 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.