Topic Title: Utterly abysmal OpenGL 1.x performance
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/04/2013 08:50 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/04/2013 08:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MajinCry
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/04/2013

Greetings.

 

After getting my 6670 DDR3 to pair up with my 965 BE, I decided to look into a bunch of my old games; found the amazing Neverwinter Nights game. Considering how I upgraded from an x300 SE, I thought I'd be able to run this game without a hitch.

 

Apparently not.

 

It turns out that AMD has utterly crippled the OpenGL performance in their newer drivers. The driver package 9.10 is the last one to not cripple OpenGL performance. From that to 12.1, the framerate plummets from the hundreds to around thirty maximum. Using any new package results in the sub-30 region, making the game completely unplayable.

 

Using an OpenGL-DirectX wrapper allows you to get up to around 35 fps when staring at the ground (I.E, only rendering a single flat plane and a low-poly character).

 

Many people experience this problem, and it's been discovered that it's all on AMD's end with the drivers. People who have, say, a 7850 but are using the latest drivers when playing this game, will maybe get 40 fps when using the wrapper. Same goes for the 470 (por ejemplo).

 

So, AMD. Why did you decide to cripple a supreme game? Neverwinter Nights is the best RPG out there. Even though it's more than a decade old and was designed around the Ati Radeon 7000, today's AMD GPUs cannot run it satisfactorily due to bastardization of the drivers.



-------------------------

Mobo: Asrock M3N78D 720d Chipset


CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE @ 3.4GHz


GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB Sapphire


RAM: 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1333MHz Oc'd to 1600MHz


OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit (Main OS), Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit (For legacy programs/games)

 07/06/2013 02:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Usually NWN is broken to a point where it cannot even be started, crashes immediately. It has been reported numerous times, sometimes fixed for a month then broken again. Probably it'll never be properly fixed.

What always works for me is using the latest drivers, and extracting the atioglxx.dll file from Catalyst 12.1 into the game folder. Then it works, doesn't crash and performance is good. Try it.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 07/06/2013 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13079
Joined: 04/17/2008

It works fine for me using the method Eydee says with 60FPS Vsync'd, the only issue it the cutscenes in the original campaign do not display correctly. Make sure you turn off "shiny water" as it has always had issues with AMD cards, something they never fixed before they abandoned the game. But you're talking about an 11 year old game, and the nature of drivers is they are not cumulative in the way that for newer things to work correctly sometimes older things must be broken. It is one reason many people use an older machine with older hardware with Windows XP and Windows 9x and a cheap KVM switch.

And yes, nVidia cards have the same issue.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/18/2013 10:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
12oad
Peon

Posts: 17
Joined: 09/17/2013

Originally posted by: MajinCry

It turns out that AMD has utterly crippled the OpenGL performance in their newer drivers.

 

Omg so true.. Having almost the same issue with an old openGL game: Quake3Arena. While i play it ,the GPU is totally idle,core/memory clocks are default idle, and the CPU loads big time.. My conclusion is AMD new drivers dont support older versions of OpenGL, like v.1 or v.2

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=443&threadid=167972&enterthread=y (my problem)

Statistics
88952 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.