Topic Title: CCC 13.6 Didn't Take
Topic Summary: Tried updating driver, still showing old version and no CCC
Created On: 07/06/2013 05:45 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/06/2013 05:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PointMan
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/06/2013

My specs first before I forget:

Gateway DX4860

Intel i5-3450 3.10 GHz 64 bit

16Gig RAM

Radion HD7350 - 1Gig Ram - Pre-installed in system (desktop)

Windows 7 - 64 bit pre-installed

Acer X233H monitor 1920x1080 connected by HDMI

Now, my problem.

I fell into the trap of wanting to play World of Tanks, I know, at my age I should know better. Anyway, it turned out to be ahuge hassle, that ended up leading me to the fact that my video driver was out of date. The driver on my system says it's version 8.920.0.0, released in 09/11/2011. I checked AMD's website and followed the proper steps, to the letter, to unistall the old drivers and Catalyst, then reinstall the new one. When it was finishing the install it told me there were some errors. I tried to view the log, but for some stupid reason it opened in Dreamweaver, so I have no idea what it said. Anyway, there is no Catalyst listed in my start menu or program list, but the folder and what appears to be most or all of the files, are listed in the programs filder in C drive. I checked the driver version after install and a reboot, still showing the old version. Any suggestions?

 07/06/2013 06:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PointMan
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/06/2013

Update: I did run the SFC /scannow command as suggested in this post

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=160906&enterthread=y

and then ran the install utility again, no error this time, but still no CCC listed among my programs and I'm still showing my old driver when I check Device Manager.

 07/07/2013 01:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PointMan
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/06/2013

Bump

 07/07/2013 03:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7029
Joined: 11/13/2009

Try a clean install. You must have the correct version of Netframeworks before you try and install any drivers.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/07/2013 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PointMan
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/06/2013

Originally posted by: stumped Try a clean install. You must have the correct version of Netframeworks before you try and install any drivers.

 

I have done a fresh install, no luck.

 07/07/2013 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PointMan
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/06/2013

Could really use some help here guys, this is getting really old ann REALLY frustrating. It really shouldn't be this hard to update Catalyst and a driver. I can restore to the previous one, but why if there's a new one out?

 07/07/2013 09:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PointMan
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/06/2013

Bump

 07/08/2013 02:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RQuallsJR
Nerfed

Posts: 55
Joined: 05/19/2012

You said you did a fresh install? Did you get all windows updates first before installing ccc? Fresh install= starting with a clean hard drive.



-------------------------

Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P
AMD Phnome 2x4 955 Black 3.6GHz (O.C)
G.Skill 16Gig (4x4Gig)DDR3 1333 Dual ch.F3-10666CL7Q RIPJAWS-X
Asus 7770 2GIG 128Bit DDR5
CORSAIR 850tx 850Watt Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF932 ATX Case
Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler
Samsung DVD Burner Sata W/DL/lightscribe
Pioneer DVD burner USB W/DL/Lightscribe
2-WD 250 Gig HD
1-Hitachi 1 TETRABYTE HD
Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit

 07/08/2013 03:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PointMan
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/06/2013

Yes I did, and to be safe, I tried again after using the AMD Removal Tool, still no luck.

 07/09/2013 08:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lokenall
Peon

Posts: 40
Joined: 03/10/2010

Everytime I run into issues like the one you describe, I always use drivercleaner. First you uinistall everything with the Catilyst Instal Manager. Then reboot into safe mode, run drivercleaner and then pick all ATI products to be removed. Even if you know you do not have something installed (i.e. Hydravision) put it on the list for uninstall. Clean every last bit of ATI/AMD products out of your system. After it is done reboot and reinstall CCC. This always works for me and I hope it works for you.

 07/09/2013 10:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
totesmuhgoats
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 07/09/2013

Try running the uninstaller for the catalyst suite, if for some reason it is corrupted running the setup file from the website can be used to remove it. Choose the option to remove ALL ati/amd software. When the software is uninstalled go into your device manager in windows, click view > show hidden devicesLook for any devices that match your card, there might be more than one. Right click on them and click uninstall, when the box pops up that asks if you want to delete the driver select yes. Reboot your computer, then re install the catalyst suite.If you are running windows 8 open a command prompt and use shutdown /r /t 0 to restart the computer, this will force a full restart instead of making use of the hybrid start feature that allows windows 8 to boot so quickly.
 07/17/2013 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PointMan
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/06/2013

Honestly, if AMD can't come up with a straight forward solution to such a rudimentary issue as a driver update, then my next batch of video cards will have to be GeForce. This is mind boggling to think that updating a driver would cause such a debacle!

 07/24/2013 07:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PointMan
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/06/2013

Bump

Still no luck, maybe someone from AMD could offer some assistance?

 07/25/2013 10:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robkarp
Nerfed

Posts: 61
Joined: 04/26/2010

You don't have a retail card.  The 8.920.0.0000 driver is the most current that Gateway lists for your machine.  That's likely why you can't get the newer driver to install.



-------------------------
Rampage IV Formula; 3930K @ 4.4GHz; 16Gb Corsair Vengeance RAM @ 1866; Sapphire HD 7970 x2; Corsair AX1200 PSU
 08/08/2013 08:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PointMan
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/06/2013

I've done the Gateway route, still not updating properly, I run the update utility through Gateway, it recognizes there is a need for an update but it doesn't take. The AMD Driver Download Tool will not even detect my system, forget about hardware. Getting kinda frustrated here.

 08/12/2013 09:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

Originally posted by: PointMan Honestly, if AMD can't come up with a straight forward solution to such a rudimentary issue as a driver update, then my next batch of video cards will have to be GeForce. This is mind boggling to think that updating a driver would cause such a debacle!

Looking over your system specifications, it appears you have a compatible system (hardware & software) to use our Catalyst Driver (Beta or WHQL).  Countless individuals have downloaded and installed that driver successfully by now.  So too have countless individuals used the AMD Driver Download Tool with success.  Therefore, the issue is not inherent to the driver or the tool, or AMD's capabilities. 

Rather, the issue is with your system.  Many individuals have systems in such a state where a simple uninstall & install is all that is needed.  Others have a system in a state that requires a bit more work to ensure a clean driver installation is successful.  The steps in this sticky are as detailed as we can go to help ensure the system gets a driver installed successfully.  If problems continue, you would need to investigate deeper with your system as to the root cause.  Things to consider:

  • corrupt registry
  • corrupt OS install
  • defective or incompatible hardware
  • background applications and processes that are conflicting and/or preventing the install

 ;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

Statistics
84125 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.