Topic Title: Win7: Display config changes revert after 15-30 seconds
Topic Summary: Catalyst driver does not show a "keep settings" dialog
Created On: 07/12/2013 06:07 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/12/2013 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
John Stimson
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/12/2013

I have been having this problem for over a year, and I am using the current non-beta release of the Catalyst software downloaded today.

 

When I use the Catalyst Control Center to change the color depth, or which monitors are active or primary, the change takes effect after I click "Apply", but about 30 seconds later it reverts to the previous configuration.  Based on experience, I expect that there should be a dialog that pops up to ask "keep these settings?", but no such dialog appears.

 

When I change the same settings using the Windows 7 "Screeen Resolution" window, or through the display Advanced Settings window, I get a "keep these settings?" dialog and when I answer yes the new settings persist.

 

Why isn't the AMD Catalyst Control Center displaying the "Keep these settings?" dialog?



Edited: 07/12/2013 at 08:32 PM by John Stimson
 07/12/2013 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

There is the "apply button", which is located in the bottom right corner.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 07/12/2013 08:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
John Stimson
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/12/2013

That is correct.  When I click the Apply button, the change takes effect, but about 30 seconds later it reverts to the previous configuration.

 07/12/2013 09:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

At this point could you supply the information regarding your system configuration as required by the Sticky "Read Before Posting".

Be sure to include what version of .Net framework you are using.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 07/13/2013 05:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4861
Joined: 12/27/2008

Your .net framework is probably broken. There are threads about this issue. Look around, use the forum search.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 07/13/2013 11:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
John Stimson
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/12/2013


Graphics Card
Powercolor AX7870 (Radeon HD7870)

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History

13.4


Operating System
Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit


Issue Details
see above


Motherboard or System Make & Model

MSI P35 Neo2

Power Supply
not relevant


Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

Dell U3011 on DVI port

Applications and Games

Not application related


CPU Details
Intel Core2 Duo 2.66GHz


Motherboard BIOS Version
- the BIOS version is displayed as soon as your system is powered on (ex: ASUS BIOS 1015)

System Memory Type & Amount
8GB DDR2 (4x2GB)


Additional Hardware
2x SATA2 500GB hard drives, 1 LG Blu-Ray drive (SATA), 3 case fans.


Additional Details
Microsoft .NET Framework 4 is shown as installed under the Programs & Features control panel

 07/14/2013 12:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Go to the How To forum, there is a Topic "Get the latest .net framework". There is a link there for Windows 7 and Vista users.

Download .Net 4.5 and give it a try.,



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 07/14/2013 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
John Stimson
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/12/2013

I downloaded .NET 4.5 from Microsoft and rebooted.  The Programs & Features list now shows only Microsoft .NET Framework 4.5 and no other Microsoft .NET entries.

The behavior of the Catalyst Control Center when I try to change bit depth is the same as before.  No change.

 08/05/2013 12:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kritikalerror
Peon

Posts: 22
Joined: 01/19/2013

Ive also noticed this.  I once accedently changed to a non suported resolution and had to drag out another monitor to fix it.  (good thing i had one)  Oddly enough, sometimes when I switch between native and other supported resolutions it will revert back... lol wtf

I dont remember why safe mode or boot options wouldnt allow me to fix.  I dont get a "keep these settings" and it dont go back to a prior resolution. 

I did notice that some EDID check or uncheck would allow the changes to stick..I dunno, I dont really worry about it.  I have never had a "keep these settings" using ccc on this system



-------------------------
kritikalerror2000-here@yahoo.com
Statistics
84724 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.