Topic Title: BSOD and ATIKMDAG, desperatly need help
Topic Summary: Random crashes when playing games
Created On: 07/14/2013 06:34 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/14/2013 06:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tt74RocKy
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/14/2013

I bought this new computer in january 2013. Its now my worst nightmare.

I keep randomly crashing while playing games. 

Hi, thanks for reading, i really need your help.

 

My computer :

windows 7 x64 pro

FX 8350 cpu 4.0 ghz (stock)

Asus Ma99fx Pro Board

Gigabyte 7870 graphics (factory OC 1100 mhz)

Corsaire 700gs powersupply

Kingston HyperX KHX1600C9D3K2 16GB

OCZ Vertex 120GB 3 x2 Raid 0

 

No overclocking whatsoever

 

Symptoms :

When playing games (diablo 3, WarZ and heroes of newheart mainly) and talking on skype with friends i the game crashes for a few seconds then i get a blue screen and the cpu reboots. 

 

Temperatures are always very low (5 fans + heatsink)

 

All dump files and reports can be found here : http://www.fileswap.com/dl/qbVmVHEdw4/

 

What i tried (nothing worked) :

- Updating all drivers (driversweeper/ccleaner) to the lastest version

- Reinstalling windows

- Memtest86 (no error after 24 hours)

- RMA the graphics card

- Test the graphics card in another computer

- RMA the CPU

- RMA the motherboard

- Downgraded the drivers to 13.3

- Downgraded the drivers to 13.2

- Downgraded the drivers to 13.1

- Downgraded the drivers to 12.10

- Downgraded the chipset drivers

- Checked with Kingston and manualy set the rams timings and voltages

- updated DirectX

- windowsupdates (all updates)

- updated BIOS

- updated card VBIOS

- downclocked the graphics card to 1000, 900, 800, 700, 600, 500mhz

- searched google endlessly

 

This problem is driving me nuts. I bought this brand new computer for 1500$ and i cannot even use it. Right now, its a useless piece of junk. I never had any issues with AMD before, always bought and build AMD stuff only. Now i do not know what more i can do.

Please help!



Edited: 07/14/2013 at 10:08 PM by Tt74RocKy
 07/14/2013 06:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

The solution is the usual one:

Try the card in another computer. If it does the same thing, RMA it because it's probably faulty. If it works in the other computer, check out what you can do with the rest of the computer.

The main suspect is usually the motherboard. You say you RMA'ed it. I wonder if you got the same model. If so, you can have the same issue with all of them. First check if a BIOS update is available.

Of course when you try the card in another computer first, that other computer should have a different motherboard from yours.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 07/14/2013 06:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tt74RocKy
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/14/2013

Hi, thanks for the fast answer, i was editing my original post to add details.

 

I did try the card in another computer and it worked flawlessly (never crashed), i also tried to swap the cpu and powersupply and got the same results. 

When i RMAed the motherboard i changed the model (from m5a97 r2 to m5a99fx pro), BIOS is updated to the last version.

 

My other computer has a gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3010#ov

 

As of right now, i'll try to remove all amd drivers and install the stock ones from the cds that came with the hardware. 

I have no clue what else to try, any idea?

 07/14/2013 08:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tt74RocKy
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/14/2013

update 

 

I uninstalled all amd drivers and installed the stock ones from the cds. Got a BSOD in the first minute of gaming.

Uninstalled everything again (amd cleanup utility/driversweeper/ccleaner) and installed the 990FX chipset from amd (http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/raid_windows.aspx#2)

and the lastest video drivers with the amd amddriverdownloader.exe

 

something odd happened amddriverdownloader shows my graphics hardware as 0x1002 0x6818 PCIE (it would say radeon hd 7xxx series before) its says i have the lastest version tho. No idea what i should think about this. 

 

Anyway, i'll try some more gaming and keep you updated if i crash again (most likely i will)

 07/14/2013 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1469
Joined: 07/13/2009

You didn't mention your CPU speed.  If you're overclocking, it's imperative that you verify stability with your speed and voltage.

 

 07/14/2013 10:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tt74RocKy
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/14/2013

the cpu is 4.0 ghz stock

no overclocking besides the factory oc on the gpu

note : the last 5 crashes occurend when i was chatting on skype while playing is it possible the the drivers from my logitech g35 headset are interfereing in some way with the ati drivers?



Edited: 07/15/2013 at 12:02 AM by Tt74RocKy
 07/15/2013 09:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I suggest you contact the manufacturer of the motherboard and ask if they know about this issue and have a beta BIOS available. Tell them that the card works fine with another motherboard.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 07/15/2013 11:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tt74RocKy
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/14/2013

So, I contacted the Asus support today. They told me this could easily be fixed by a manual CMOS restart. I proceeded with the technician instructions, removed the board's battery and plugged it back in 30s later.

Thing is, right after doing my realtek lan controller wasnt working anymore. Its enabled in BIOS, drivers are alright (reinstalled anyways) i even formatted twice just to make sure. Lost all data (of course) and it never came back. My motherboard which is not even 1 week old is briked. 

F asus and F my life.

Statistics
87580 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.