Topic Title: Drivers Won't Update
Topic Summary: Even after updating, my graphics card is using the old drivers
Created On: 07/16/2013 06:02 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/16/2013 06:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mjlrosenberry
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/16/2013

In the DxDiag scan, it states that my graphics card is using drivers from late 2012, when I just went on the AMD website and updated them to the recent ones from May! Why is this happening? Is there something special I need to do to have a more recent driver overwrite or update the current one that's being used?

Graphics Card

AMD Radeon HD 7850 (though that is only from the Best Buy website, my PC simply says 7800 series instead of 7850). 

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- 8.982.0.0 - I have gone through updates for more recent drivers, including version 13.4 from 5/29/2013, but after "updating" and finishing the installation process for the drivers, the current driver still remains 8.982.0.0

Operating System
- Windows 8 64-bit (6.2, build 9200) - under current display mode, it says 32-bit, strangely.

Issue Details
Pretty much all of my games (including Tomb Raider, Civ V, Hotline Miami, The Witcher, etc.) and other programs work just fine and without issue. I bought Crusader Kings 2 yesterday and cannot play for 5 minutes without a freeze that forces me to ctrl + alt + del and use the task manager to end the game. I went on their support forums and they asked me to post the DxDiag results, where their moderator pointed out I was using old drivers from 2012. I thought I had updated them several times more recently (I hadn't even bought the computer yet in 2012), so I went to a link to this site with drivers that he posted and updated them again anyways. Alas, after "updating" my drivers, the current drivers used for my graphics card have stayed the same. 

Motherboard or System Make & Model
- Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3


Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- HP Pavilion 23bw connected with an HDMI cable

Applications and Games
- Crusader Kings 2, but the driver issue is obviously not an issue specifically with that game

CPU Details
- AMD FX(tm) - 8120 Eight Core Processor

Motherboard BIOS Version
- Bios v6.00PG ?

System Memory Type & Amount
- 16 GB DDR3 RAM


 07/16/2013 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LanceX
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/16/2013

im having the same issue as this person but with my AMD 7770

 07/16/2013 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7271
Joined: 11/13/2009

You might try a clean install of the drivers.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/17/2013 07:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Don't use express install and share what the component selection dialog has in the installer.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
86385 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.