Topic Title: Catalyst software fails to install
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/26/2013 12:10 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/26/2013 12:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EL34
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/26/2013

Windows 7 home Premium 64 bit - AMD Radeon HD6670 card
Mother board is a Gigabyte GA-970A-D3F11 with latest bios
I downloaded two different packages from AMD site
Catalyst software suite and the beta driver shown on this page

http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/radeonaiw_win8-64.aspx

Both packages fail to install catalyst, but they do install the driver.
I have tried uninstalling the old driver and then used the AMD cleanup utility before doing the install, That fails also.

Hoping someone can shed some light on this
The driver is installed but not the Catalyst software

The install log shows this

Catalyst™ Install Manager
Installation Report
07/26/13 11:55:09

Hardware information
 
Name AMD Radeon Graphics Processor
Manufacturer Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Device ID 0x6758
Vendor ID 0x1002
Class Code 0x030000
Revision ID 0x00
Subsystem ID 0x2012
Subsystem vendor ID 0x1787
Other hardware
Existing packages
AMD Display Driver
Packages for install
AMD Catalyst Install Manager
Final Status: Fail
Version of Item: 8.0.915.0
Size: 20 Mbytes
Microsoft Visual C++ 2012 Redistributable (x86)
Final Status: Success
Version of Item: 10.0.30319
Size: 9 Mbytes
Microsoft Visual C++ 2012 Redistributable (x64)
Final Status: Success
Version of Item: 10.0.30319
Size: 9 Mbytes
AMD Catalyst Control Center
Final Status: Fail
Version of Item: 2013.0604.1838.31590
Size: 150 Mbytes

 

 07/26/2013 01:47 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7030
Joined: 11/13/2009

Try a clean install. You must have the current version of netframework installed first. Read the post "installing new drivers" in the FAQ section.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/26/2013 01:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EL34
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/26/2013

I had already seen that post from searching here

I have .net 4 installed because I program in .net and as I mentioned, I had already done a clean install

In fact I also have .net 4.5
This is a new windows 7 system and it does not have any .net versions older than 4 
Could it be it needs an earlier .net version?



Edited: 07/26/2013 at 02:17 PM by EL34
 07/26/2013 02:11 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7030
Joined: 11/13/2009

No...the current 4.x version is all you need. Have you tried the clean install?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/26/2013 02:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EL34
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/26/2013

yes, sorry but i have mentioned that i did a clean install twice now

Not to be difficult here but did you read my post

 just asking

 It would be nice if the install package would give you a hint as to why the install failed
It gives you nothing at all to work with

here's is what catalyst installed and here is the .net versions I have installed



Edited: 07/26/2013 at 02:31 PM by EL34
 07/26/2013 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RQuallsJR
Nerfed

Posts: 55
Joined: 05/19/2012

Thats is not a clean install.You need drive cleaner to remove all AND softwa; reboot then down load your drivers.



-------------------------

Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P
AMD Phnome 2x4 955 Black 3.6GHz (O.C)
G.Skill 16Gig (4x4Gig)DDR3 1333 Dual ch.F3-10666CL7Q RIPJAWS-X
Asus 7770 2GIG 128Bit DDR5
CORSAIR 850tx 850Watt Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF932 ATX Case
Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler
Samsung DVD Burner Sata W/DL/lightscribe
Pioneer DVD burner USB W/DL/Lightscribe
2-WD 250 Gig HD
1-Hitachi 1 TETRABYTE HD
Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit

 07/26/2013 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EL34
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/26/2013

The driver is not the problem, the driver installs no problem, it's the catalyst software that will not install

I used the proper catalyst removel tool mentioned here

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162444&enterthread=y

And that post does not say anything about a drive cleaner

 07/26/2013 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Install package failure -> the Windows Installer (part of the operating system) cannot install some of the msi packages provided by Catalyst. It means your OS is damaged. Driver cleaners, registry cleaners, careless users etc. can be a reason, as well as HDD corruption, memory corruption, unstable overclock, bad file/registry permissions etc.

I would look around in Event Viewer trying to find Windows Installer errors, error codes if possible. If you find any, google them. You can post them here as well.

Worst case: Your OS is bricked so much that you need to reinstall it. Let's hope you don't have to.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 07/26/2013 05:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EL34
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/26/2013

The OS is fresh and other drivers and programs never fail to install
All software runs perfectly and I neever have any problems with this system

I don't install and uninstall junk or test program because this is my main business computer.

This computer is very clean

Too bad the Catalyst installer is not written better.
How hard would it be to spit out the reason for the fail when it is encountered.

I have a post over at Tom's hardware.

I'll see what else pops up.

 07/26/2013 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Too bad the Catalyst installer is not written better.

The Catalyst installer is just a front-end for Windows Installer, which is -- I repeat -- a part of Windows. It doesn't matter how well it's written, it doesn't do a thing except for telling Windows what to install.

You can change a bit how it tries to do so, try the workaround install method. Google it or use the forum search to get details about it.

How hard would it be to spit out the reason for the fail when it is encountered.

Because error codes mean nothing to most users. If you click the "fail" link in the log you posted, you might get more info, but I'm not sure. I suggest taking a look at Event Viewer, as I mentioned previously.

The OS is fresh

Thigs I wonder about:

1. Is your OS clean (retail/oem disc, SHA checked iso) or some modified/pireated stuff?

2. Have you installed all updates before trying Catalyst? You probably should.

 



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 07/27/2013 08:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EL34
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/26/2013

Ok, I made some progress looking at the windows event viewer after attempting to install Catalyst again

This error shows up for every package in the catalyst installer
Product: AMD Catalyst Install Manager -- Error 1327.Invalid Drive: Y:\

I have run into this before when updating Adobe reader and I have fixed this by applying the net use command to my network hard drive.
And by the way, it is possible for installers to give you this error because the Adobe installer dodes just that. That is how I discovered what the issue was. I guess the catalyst installer just does not see fit to do that.

I have a network hard drive named Y: and this is where all my user documents are because they are all shared by several computers. This drive is always on 24/7 and is never disconnected. Every day when I start this computer it connects to this network hard drive

 To correct this situation when updating Abobe reader I found a solution on the web and it worked.
You have to remap the network drive as admin like this in CMD window
net use Y: "\\LINKSTATION2\share"

The problem is that I checked drive Y and it is already mapped so I am not sure why the Catalyst installer is complaining.

 



Edited: 07/27/2013 at 09:10 AM by EL34
 07/27/2013 08:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EL34
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/26/2013

Ok, Error 1327.Invalid Drive problem solved
Found the solution here

http://www.vistaheads.com/forums/microsoft-public-windows-vista-performance-maintenance/43196-cannot-install-ati-drivers-catalyst-control-center.html

(1) You have to disconnect the network drive in windows explorer/tools

(2) Do the net use command again in a cmd window, run as administrator.
In my case the command is
net use Y: "\\LINKSTATION2\share"

(3) Reconnect the network hard drive in windows explorer/tools

(4) Install the catalyst package

Sucess, the catalyst package installed perfectly

I hope this hepls someone in the future.
I made sure the error 1327 text is present here so it can be found during a search

Now if the Catalyst installer would just report the 1327 error as many other sotware installers do, it would save users a bunch of time. 

 



Edited: 07/27/2013 at 09:10 AM by EL34
Statistics
84143 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.