Topic Title: AMD Catalyst (latest) accelerated video transcoding access
Topic Summary: how to
Created On: 08/04/2013 04:37 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/04/2013 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
galova
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 01/19/2011

I've noticed that I don't have video transcoding section anywhere in catalyst control center. How do I access accelerated video transcoding features? Is there any sort of special GUI to access driver functionality?

Everything seems to be installed, particularily the amd accelerated video transcoding drivers. I noticed they starting each time logging on windows.

I've got windows 8 pro x64.

I cannot find video transcoding graphical interface since that catalyst version where control center was redesigned



-------------------------

PSU Thermaltake 700W
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX
Sapphire Radeon HD6850 1GB
AMD Phenom II X6 1075T
Scythe Grand kama cross cooler
running Win7x64 Pro

 08/04/2013 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

You mistake that accelerated transoding crap with AVIVO. The accerated thingy is something made for special mobile devices. You drag&drop media files to the device, and it's software will use the AMD transcoder for encoding. At least in theory, as no one ever used it.

AVIVO used to be what you're looking for, a video encoder bulit into CCC, which could do various formats quite quickly. Unfortunately it wasn't compatible with Windows 8, and it was discontinued and removed 1 year ago because of Microsoft's crap OS.

You have 2 chioces:

1. Install a driver package that is more than a year old with the AVIVO package.

2. Just use another encoder.

In my opinion #2 is a better choice.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 09/04/2013 05:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
galova
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 01/19/2011

Ok thanks I got your point.

Will you give me some advice what software is most suitable for fast transcoding? I wish to check with amd gpu powered applications. It is very interesting.

Some of such alternative software I know are both avidemux and staxrip programms. They perform their function just smoothly for cpu based calculations. But I'd like to see something gpu based or hybrid. Google search haven't returned any plain answer to take seriously. Some info of no use actually.



-------------------------

PSU Thermaltake 700W
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX
Sapphire Radeon HD6850 1GB
AMD Phenom II X6 1075T
Scythe Grand kama cross cooler
running Win7x64 Pro

 09/05/2013 04:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

People on the internet suggest iSkySoft Video Encoder or the ArcSoft MediaConverter. There's also Cyberlink MediaEspresso. All of these should be able to use GPU acceleration for encoding.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
85449 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.