Topic Title: Updates ruin my display!!!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/06/2013 02:03 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/06/2013 02:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
The_Asset
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/06/2013

So I have an HD6950 with two monitors, one HP2011x, and a Gateway LP2424 hooked up via HDMI. On driver Version 8.801.0.0 Both work perfectly. When I update to the newest version the Gateway goes all haywire, sometimes has a black border around it, sometimes not, but always does this..........

 

Any Ideas/help/solutions would be awesome!

 08/06/2013 03:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
totesmuhgoats
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 07/09/2013

I would check that the cables are securely connected. Other than that I've got nothing. Mostly I'm just bumping the thread because looking at that pic I feel super bad for you.

 08/06/2013 06:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

If your monitors support DVI, try switching. HDMI is just bad and shouldn't be used for cumputers if possible.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 08/06/2013 11:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mighty-hamster
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/31/2013

Can you elobarate why HDMI is bad? Would I be right in thinking you have more options for frequency with DVI?

 08/06/2013 11:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
The_Asset
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/06/2013

So i've been messing around with this for months now trying to figure it out and as soon as i post up here it magically fixes itself overnight.....

I ROBOT IS HERE, MY COMPUTER IS THINKING FOR ITSELF!!!!!!!!!!

On a side note I'm with hampster, why should do you say HDMI is bad?

 08/06/2013 11:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

HDMI is designed for DVD players and other multimedia devices, not computers. Video cards only adopted it because stupid HDTV manufacturers usually don't include anything  else for connection. HDMI is complicated. You have to take pixel format, overscan and other things into account. If you look around here or on the internet, a lot of people have issues with it. Monitors that don't come out of standby, dropping picture, sound, 24Hz refresh rates, forced interlacing etc. In an ideal world it should always work fine, yes. It does for a lot of people. However, not every device is made 100% compatible with others, and DVI is jut a plug-in and use type of connection where you don't have to worry about signal compatibility and and similar issues. And yes, it was designed for digital CRTs a million years ago.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 08/07/2013 12:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

If there's a driver that works for you, then just use those and forget about the updates.  Updating drivers is really only necessary if theres a bug fix or significant increase in performance that you can make use of.  If a new driver doesn't have something you need, then don't fix what isn't broken.

About HDMI... it's really just DVI in a different package, so there isn't much in terms of hardware thats any more complicated than DVI is.  There's a few extra widgets tacked on in the drivers, so if there's any weirdness going on it's probably in there.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.



Edited: 08/07/2013 at 12:53 AM by Mime
 08/07/2013 08:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12677
Joined: 04/17/2008

Ideally you'd just be using DisplayPort, as DVI will sadly go away over the next couple of years.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/07/2013 09:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: black_zion Ideally you'd just be using DisplayPort, as DVI will sadly go away over the next couple of years.

People also said mp3 will die.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 08/07/2013 09:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12677
Joined: 04/17/2008

It's an industry agreement like it was with VGA, DVI will be phased out over the next couple of years to speed up adoption of DisplayPort. Doesn't apply to monitor manufacturers though so we'll be seeing DVI for years to come. Not such a bad thing though, but maybe it will start getting those mystical DisplayPort 1.2 hubs out there...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
86489 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.