Topic Title: Problem with AMD Catalist
Topic Summary: Problem with AMD Catalist
Created On: 08/18/2013 10:03 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/18/2013 10:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alexius183
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/18/2013

After reinstalling windows can not install the AMD Catalyst. After installing the Catalyst Windows is loaded, but when the windows login screen should appear  (login and password), there is nothing, only black screen. Thus, if blindly login, the password is entered, but black screen does not disappear. After installing the AMD Catalyst system boots only in safe mode, or after the removal of the video card drivers.  Before installing the AMD Catalyst system boots without problems. Different OS and versions of catalist tried to be installed several times, but with negatively results. Below are the different Catalist ver. that were tried before.
Ask your help in this situation.
Thank you in advance and have a nice day!
Video: Asus Ati Radeon HD 6670 1 Gb
Processor: AMD Athlon II x4 640 Processor 3,00???
Ram: 8.00 Gb
MB: ASRock 880 GM-LE
Monitor: Benq G 2420 HD
OS: Windows 7 x64
HDD: 320 GB

 08/18/2013 10:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

Have you gone to Windows update and downloaded the optional downloads? (except amd drivers) This happens alot after a OS re-install..if you have downloads available, and you reboot after the installation, go back to see if there are more available. Do that until it shows no updates available. If you have , your netframework install should be version 4.5. if not read the article and download the current version here. The newer CCC will not function correctly without it. I assume your bios version is updated?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******



Edited: 08/18/2013 at 10:46 AM by stumped
 08/19/2013 10:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
efortin6
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 08/02/2013

I have a very similar problem. Out of curiosity, are you using HDMI to connect your monitor?

No matter what I try, I can't get my card to output anything on HDMI once I have the AMD drivers installed. 

I wrote a long post about the problem, including everything I've tried, but I haven't been able to find a solution.  You can read it here: 

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=167245&highlight_key=y

It looks like you've figured out the same thing I have, the only drivers that don't kill your video output is the generic windows drivers. 

In the meantime, you can force windows to use those drivers until AMD fixes theirs. 

1. Uninstall the Catalyst drivers. 

2. From the device manager, go to your display adapter.

3. Right click on the 6670 and click "update driver software"

4. Select the "browse my computer..." option

5. Select the "let me pick..." option

6. Select the "Standard VGA Graphics Apapter" driver 

7. Click next and finish the installation. 

You will be limited to a lower resolution (no 1080p) and will have no hardware acceleration, but at least it proves your card works.

Can you please submit a bug report to AMD to help make them aware of this issue?

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst13-8WINBetaDriver.aspx

 08/19/2013 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: efortin6

 

You will be limited to a lower resolution (no 1080p) and will have no hardware acceleration, but at least it proves your card works.

 

It does not. Without display drivers your card only passes through the image made by the CPU. The GPU does absolutely nothing.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 08/19/2013 11:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
efortin6
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 08/02/2013

Interesting, I didn't know that. 

In my particular situation, output over DVI with the AMD drivers installed functions properly, proving the card functions. 

Output over HDMI also functions, but only without AMD drivers installed, proving at least that the HDMI port and monitor/TV functions. 

I find it very hard to believe this is not, somehow, related to drivers. 

 

 08/19/2013 11:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: efortin6 Interesting, I didn't know that. 

 

In my particular situation, output over DVI with the AMD drivers installed functions properly, proving the card functions. 

 

Output over HDMI also functions, but only without AMD drivers installed, proving at least that the HDMI port and monitor/TV functions. 

 

I find it very hard to believe this is not, somehow, related to drivers. 

 

 

 

It can also be incompatibility with the TV. If you happen to have access to multiple TVs, try a few more. Trying a different HDMI cable and different HDMI ports on the device would also be a good idea.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
88927 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.