Topic Title: Drivers refuse to install
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/26/2013 11:34 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/26/2013 11:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blankman69
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/26/2013

Graphics Card
- Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 3GB


AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- Any and all

Operating System
- Windows 7 SP 1 64bit

Issue Details
-Drivers refuse to install . Any catalyst version.  Refusal to install manually and using CCC to install.

Motherboard or System Make & Model
-Asus m4a79t Deluxe

Power Supply

-Kingwin 1k watt modular

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- Acer 24" - DVI

CPU Details

- AMD Phenom II x6 1100T @ 4.1ghz @ 1.475v


System Memory Type & Amount
- 8GB 1600mhz DDR3 Corsair Dominator

Additional Hardware

-Custom Water Loop - Radiator (3 Fan), 7970 WB, CPU WB, XSPC Pump/Res

- 3 case fans

- 2 Optical drives

- 3 HDD - 1 Velicraptor 300gb - 2 - WD black 1.5TB

Additional Details
- AVG ran, malware antibytes ran, spybot ran all Clean and updated.

- Nothing has given me problems except after trying to install new beta driver package 13.8

 

I have had my 7k series card for a couple months now.  Recently after trying to update to the new beta drivers it seems to refuse to install any driver for my card period.  I have removed everything using the CCC uninstall.  I have tried atiman, and driverfusion.  Even trying to manually install the driver through device manager it refuses to install the display driver.  I have tried all the way from the newest beta driver to the 12.x series drivers.  Windows even refuses to install a basic Vga driver for my card now.  Everything installs just fine using the CCC install program except for the display driver.  Trying to manually install any display driver I get the timeout remark from windows.  I have also tried switching my sapphire card to both bios 1 and bios 2 and installing with no luck.   I'm fairly certain the only way around this is going to be reinstalling windows which I would prefer not to do at this time.  Any ideas? Thanks.

 

Dini



Edited: 08/27/2013 at 12:36 AM by blankman69
 08/26/2013 11:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

If you read the Sticky "Read Before Posting" so you can supply a little bit more information people will give you a hand. A little hard to give advice with out the proper information.

 



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 08/27/2013 04:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

 

Originally posted by: blankman69 I'm fairly certain the only way around this is going to be reinstalling windows which I would prefer not to do at this time.  Any ideas?

 

I'd first make a temp OS install into a separate partition (while all others are hidden and deactivated) so you can test a clean system while keeping the current one intact.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
88846 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.