Topic Title: 13.8 beta2 - hdmi audio bug still here
Topic Summary: amd just didn't care to REALLY fix the hdmi audio dropout bug
Created On: 08/31/2013 06:34 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/31/2013 06:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
arty
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/10/2010

I have been using ccc 13.6 for a long time - then saw 13.8 b1 and updated ...

huge mistake:

-net framework 4.5 (another MS crap to the system which needs 100+mb updates every month)

-driver crashes (driver stopped messages) -> this is solved in 13.8 b2

-and the old and famous hdmi audio bug ... even on the desktop I hear the small clicks constantly, ~ every 3rd/4th second ...

-tried to revert back to 13.6/13.4/13.1's hdmi driver but no luck. did a fresh install of the driver (cleaned all amd related stuff and installed with/without the hdmi driver ... very same bug, the clicking sound ... )

-> it is clearly not the bug in the hdmi driver but in some other component

 

Nice work AMD, you fixed it some months ago and now here it is again!



-------------------------

Gigabyte 280x -> Samsung LE-46B550 -> headphone + AMD A6-3620 -> Harman/Kardon AVR360 -> Samsung SP-A600

 08/31/2013 06:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

Is there any particular reason to use HDMI audio? I can't even think of a motherboard these days that doesn't have an integrated sound card. Also TVs don't usually have the best speakers.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 08/31/2013 06:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
arty
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/10/2010

no need for another cable

and to the tv I have a headphone connected which I usually use (family...) - of course with that the problem is even more annoying

the integrated soundcards on the motherboards have even cheaper D/As, often can hear the HDDs working sound through the earphone, etc - terrible!

+ would need another analog cable to the tv/earphone ... don't see the reason



-------------------------

Gigabyte 280x -> Samsung LE-46B550 -> headphone + AMD A6-3620 -> Harman/Kardon AVR360 -> Samsung SP-A600

 08/31/2013 07:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

I see. Have you tried the Realtek HDMI audio driver? That surely does not change when Catalyst drivers do.

Also how about just sticking to the HDMI audio driver from 13.6 and using display drivers from the newer package? Custom install is there for a reason, you can select components you want to install.

I know, neither one is a fix for the driver problam, but good workarounds that can last until an actual fix comes.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 08/31/2013 07:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
arty
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/10/2010

Tried that, see my initial post:

"-tried to revert back to 13.6/13.4/13.1's hdmi driver but no luck. did a fresh install of the driver (cleaned all amd related stuff and installed with/without the hdmi driver ... very same bug, the clicking sound ...  "

 

I would be happy if there would be a workaround ... this is a beta, I can accept that. But the small pops drives me crazy



-------------------------

Gigabyte 280x -> Samsung LE-46B550 -> headphone + AMD A6-3620 -> Harman/Kardon AVR360 -> Samsung SP-A600

 08/31/2013 07:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

Well, this is strange indeed. Keep using the issue reportng form and provide as much details as you can.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 08/31/2013 07:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
arty
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/10/2010

done that already - I just hope someone here might know a workaround ...



-------------------------

Gigabyte 280x -> Samsung LE-46B550 -> headphone + AMD A6-3620 -> Harman/Kardon AVR360 -> Samsung SP-A600

 08/31/2013 08:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

The workaround is using the drivers that work for you. Not that any driver release in the last few years made any significant difference. We usually upgrade for the sake of upgrading rather than to achieve anything. Have you ever noticed any difference after a driver update? I haven't, apart for UI changes in CCC every now and then.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 08/31/2013 08:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
arty
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/10/2010

I wanted to benefit from speed improvements ... is that a bad thing?



-------------------------

Gigabyte 280x -> Samsung LE-46B550 -> headphone + AMD A6-3620 -> Harman/Kardon AVR360 -> Samsung SP-A600

 08/31/2013 08:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: arty I wanted to benefit from speed improvements ... is that a bad thing?

 

Nope. The real question is: Is there any speed benefit there at all? Did you experience anything being noticably faster after upgrading?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 08/31/2013 08:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CobraSA
Peon

Posts: 31
Joined: 06/22/2009

this is AMD's way to tell you : go for nvidia noob

no they can not keep up anymore, the issues are going to stockpile as time goes on, I do not see how they can reverse the tendency at this point

I have seen such tendency in a few companies before and it did not end well for them



-------------------------

MS Windows 7 Professional 6.01.7601 SP1 (64bits)
DirectX Version 11.00
MSI Z77A-G43 (MS-7758)
Intel Ivy Bridge
Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3400 MHz
16384  Mo (2 x 8192 DDR3-SDRAM )
Sapphire HD 7870 XT w/ boost 2GB

 08/31/2013 08:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: CobraSA this is AMD's way to tell you : go for nvidia noob

 

no they can not keep up anymore, the issues are going to stockpile as time goes on, I do not see how they can reverse the tendency at this point

 

I have seen such tendency in a few companies before and it did not end well for them

 

Remember Fermi? Remember Geforce FX? There are downhills and uphills in the life of all companies. It doesn't mean one is better than the other. Actually there's only one thing nvidia is better at: linux drivers.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 08/31/2013 09:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
arty
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/10/2010

my hatred against nvidia's physix-philosophy is bigger than against amd's current driver issues

to be honest, with 13.6 I had no issues at all with any of the games I play. I thought I can get some speddup here&there only.



-------------------------

Gigabyte 280x -> Samsung LE-46B550 -> headphone + AMD A6-3620 -> Harman/Kardon AVR360 -> Samsung SP-A600

 08/31/2013 01:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CobraSA
Peon

Posts: 31
Joined: 06/22/2009

granted nvidia isn't any better and may be in fact worse, yet I feel like I will have to "punish" AMD when the time to change my gfx card will come, just like I punished several software companies for making worse and worse products

I will never be a simple minded fanboy and even after using a brand for a decade, if the product becomes bad, the punishment will be issued, got to do what you got to do for the companies to update their profitability algorithms



-------------------------

MS Windows 7 Professional 6.01.7601 SP1 (64bits)
DirectX Version 11.00
MSI Z77A-G43 (MS-7758)
Intel Ivy Bridge
Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3400 MHz
16384  Mo (2 x 8192 DDR3-SDRAM )
Sapphire HD 7870 XT w/ boost 2GB

 08/31/2013 02:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
arty
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/10/2010

I bought nvidia after my 4850 (dx10/hdmi issues: black border, 24hz, etc), as amd didn't give a sh*t

but after some months I bought a 6850 as nv had serious driver issues too ( (for hdmi audio I had to reg-hack after every driver update - nonsense!)

had no issues with 6850, then 6870, then 6950@6970 and with the 7950 I had the hdmi sound issues some months ago with a driver ... 13.4/13.6 solved it, but with 13.8 it is back ((



-------------------------

Gigabyte 280x -> Samsung LE-46B550 -> headphone + AMD A6-3620 -> Harman/Kardon AVR360 -> Samsung SP-A600

 08/31/2013 05:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: arty I bought nvidia after my 4850 (dx10/hdmi issues: black border, 24hz, etc), as amd didn't give a sh*t

 

but after some months I bought a 6850 as nv had serious driver issues too ( (for hdmi audio I had to reg-hack after every driver update - nonsense!)

 

had no issues with 6850, then 6870, then 6950@6970 and with the 7950 I had the hdmi sound issues some months ago with a driver ... 13.4/13.6 solved it, but with 13.8 it is back ((

 

Conclusion: You buy too many video cards.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 09/01/2013 04:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
arty
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/10/2010

true

(I even forgot my MSI 7850 TwinFrozr which was my favourite after the noisy 6950@6970! unfortunatelly under crysis3 it suffered ... I thought 7950 will solve that - but it didn't. that game eats every gpu except sli/cf config of the top cards. OK, now I am totally offtopic, so ...)

 

AMD please make a perfect, WHQL driver for god's sake!



-------------------------

Gigabyte 280x -> Samsung LE-46B550 -> headphone + AMD A6-3620 -> Harman/Kardon AVR360 -> Samsung SP-A600

 04/26/2014 05:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
arty
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/10/2010

here I am again!

 

after the 7950 I bought a R9 290 -> HDMI bugs all over 13.11/13.12/14.x betas

a month ago replaced it with a 280x (reference 290 cards are shame for AMD) and what I have found? 

 

YES! SINCE SUMMER OF 2013 AMD STILL CAN'T FIX THE HDMI AUDIO BUG !!!!

INSTALLED WIN8.1 - NO LUCK, BUG IS THERE TOO!

JUST INSTALLED 14.4 RC (wow, no whql driver since 13.12 - another win for amd... pff ) and HDMI BUG IS STILL WITH ME!

WELL DONE!

(I chose the 280x instead of the 770 because of 3gb vram ... thought I would keep this card for a year so it might be handy on the long run ... what a mistake at least this isn't a hairdryer as the 290 was)

I guess we will celebrate the 1 year birthday of the bug soon ...

Shame on you amd. I don't recommend your products to anyone anymore. I hated nvidia more in recent years but now you are my "favourite"

 

(and before anyone asks: yes, I do report the bug via the web-form EVERY day I try a new beta... bit as you can see that form is for nothing, nobody cares)



-------------------------

Gigabyte 280x -> Samsung LE-46B550 -> headphone + AMD A6-3620 -> Harman/Kardon AVR360 -> Samsung SP-A600

 05/31/2014 03:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
arty
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 12/10/2010

14.6 beta and the bug is still with us!

only 2 month to have a driver bug for a year!

 

YOU CAN DO IT AMD!



-------------------------

Gigabyte 280x -> Samsung LE-46B550 -> headphone + AMD A6-3620 -> Harman/Kardon AVR360 -> Samsung SP-A600

 05/31/2014 04:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ksus
Peon

Posts: 38
Joined: 05/30/2014

Are you sure its not your monitor or cable connector fault?

If you are could you give me your dxdiag log attached;

Its kinda hard to belive that this persists through all gpu's, drivers and systems.

Sometimes this isn't enabled and might fix stuttering if you are experiencing any. But it easily could be anything from a dodgy mobo DMA's channels, monitor to hdmi cable.



-------------------------

The force is strong with this one.


 


 

Statistics
84290 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.